9/30 Nelli AMPS 128 +2 94 +4 81 +6 61 +6.5 76 +10 138 PMPS 141

@Bronx's dad Lol... I typed 5.74?! Too funny, typo will correct. Thanks ;)
Yes love seeing :D!
LOVE seeing Nelli feeling better :bighug:. Visually to me Nelli is feeling better.
MINUS the dental issue :nailbiting: I feel uneasy, have not been feeling comfortable that her appointment isn’t until a week from tomorrow. I take her to a specialist, Dental vet who is accredited by AVDC which there are only six of in FL :(. So, we wait and pray something doesn’t get worse o_O
 
@Bobbie And Bubba I read the article you tagged me on in @Sue and Luci thread. Thanks :):cat:.
Please don’t take what I am getting ready to say as argumentative, it’s not intended to be-. I am trying to understand and I have questions.
OK, here goes!
Nelli has been surfing last couple of days yesterday in particular. This morning she is going down slowly, keyword slowly? I will be testing +6 in 20 minutes.
Missed a +5 :banghead: which is where she usually nadir. I was not going to give her any slow down snack (LC?) until I got the +6, then I’d see? ECID, or am I being foolish... feeding the sharks at Nelli’s expense? I really, really don’t want to manipulate the surf but at same time I don’t want her to plunge.
 
When kitties are surfing in :D like Nelli do I poke in 1, 3 or, 4 hours from +6? Her poor little ears are all bumped up and shes started letting me know... sore :confused:
Thanks for your response, “if she was my cat”...

*Historically she is not a bouncer :).
 
@Bobbie And Bubba said (to me, I think?): “keep the surf on and have it be a nice gentle cycle especially since she hasn't hit onset or nadir yet.”
Nelli has hit onset and hit nadir?

I see that Nelli has hit 61...slowly creeping down...this is where (just saying if it was me, I'd test in half an hour and if she's still sliding down, I'd bring out the MC food...just me though...if you've already been feeding her LC at the other two tests (I don't know if you did or didn't - notes?) Just saying what I would do...when Luci is in the greens - I get up on my toes and test her hourly...and if she doesn't seem to be coming up (well, maybe not slipping down is what I should say) my trigger finger is itching on the MC food...I get nervous when she's in the greens...that's all I can say...my goal is to keep her away from the sharks - as is all our objectives here...keep 'em safe...but more to mind for us is trying to keep her safe AND keep her dose correct - last month she was responding so much better to her dose than this month - and I think I reduced her dose too soon - at least in hindsight that's what I think.
 
@Sue and Luci thanks. Nelli got her usual snack after +2, has not had any food since. She is on a 0 carb diet (Rad Cat) which is what she gets for a snack-
I will test her again in 15 minutes, as it’s been 15 already.
Now dang, what if this stupid reliOn meter is off a few? Probably should have tested her back to back to see how close the second one was to 61. Oh well hindsight is what it is, right?!
 
@Sue and Luci thanks. Nelli got her usual snack after +2, has not had any food since. She is on a 0 carb diet (Rad Cat) which is what she gets for a snack-
I will test her again in 15 minutes, as it’s been 15 already.
Now dang, what if this stupid reliOn meter is off a few? Probably should have tested her back to back to see how close the second one was to 61. Oh well hindsight is what it is, right?!

Ah yes...good old hindsight...I think it's probably ok (the meter that is)...since it was a nice gradual decline - I try not to get too excited about the meter unless it's a really wonky number - like if Luci was at 200 and is now at 30!:eek: I'd want to test again for certain! Or the other way round...if she shot up from 70 to 280 - I'd be looking for candy wrappers (knowing Luci!!!:eek::eek:) and I'd test again...but with the gradual visit like Nelli is doing - I'd be nervous (that's just me freaking out because she's actually SURFING! which is exactly what we want them to do)...and I'd be testing every half hour - because I'm a nut and a helicopter mom...hovering around her:rolleyes: Congratulations on getting Nelli to SURF! She's looking fine on the lagoon!!!:D:D It looks like she's been doing a bit of surfing lately!! Tell her to holler over to Luci and get her to come surfing too! Luci is getting lazy and hasn't been in a while...needs to get back in practice...

Can't you just see those little girls riding the waves on their little boards? So cute!!!:cool::cool::cool::cool::cool:
 
Tell her to holler over to Luci and get her to come surfing too!
Nelli is in a bad mood, trying to sleep and wishing she could (still) run fast away from when I come call with lancet....
So, this was a really good time for me to have Nelli yell at Luci! In a bad mood and not feeling like being very gentle with her demand... LUCI, GET WITH THE PROGRAM! Come surfing with me- no more red tide and the waves are up!
 
I see that Nelli has hit 61...slowly creeping down...this is where (just saying if it was me, I'd test in half an hour and if she's still sliding down, I'd bring out the MC food...
At this point in the cycle, mid way, I would give LC not MC as the insulin is usually starting to lose some of it's potency by that time and the numbers start to go gradually upwards from there. And that would only be if the next test prove to be inching downwards still. And that said, that is what happens in a "ACTIVE" Lantus cycle.

This is taken from The Basics Stickie

Example of an ACTIVE, but NOT necessarily typical Lantus/Basaglar cycle:
NOTE: Until kitty is pretty well regulated, the description below is NOT not what you'd consider a "typical" Lantus/Basaglar cycle. It takes time and patience for kitty to achieve a "typical" cycle! The example below is what you're working towards (a nice shallow curve). A relatively flat cycle is the ultimate goal.

+0 - PreShot number.
+1 - Usually higher than PreShot number because of the last shot wearing off. May see a food spike in this number.
+2 - Often similar to the PreShot number. Onset begins around +2 for most cats. You'll probably see an active cycle if the +2 is the same/similar OR lower than the preshot number. Continue testing!
+3 - Often lower than the PreShot number.
+4 - Lower.
+5 - Lower.
+6 - Nadir/Peak (the lowest number of cycle. NOTE: ECID. Not every cat has a mid-cycle nadir. Adjust the hours on this example to fit your cat.)
+7 - Surf (hang around the nadir number).
+8 - Slight rise.
+9 - Slight rise.
+10 - Rising.
+11 - Rising (one of the quirks of Lantus/Basaglar/Levemir: some cat's blood glucose numbers dip around +10 or +11... not to be confused with nadir).
+12 - PreShot number.
 
Last edited:
@Sue and Luci how do I record a 6.5 in SS when “6” has filled its box and... “7” is not correct o_O. I should fish thru STICKYs for answer, I suppose :bookworm:
Just write the total BG number in the box and then record 6.5 on the Post in the title - OR you can write the BG number like this:
89@
6.5+Use the alt/enter key to space down inside the box in Excel
Then use the paint can icon to select the green or blue color that closest matches your 'set of numbers - under 100 in the dark greens, in the blue's - then a dark blue...

Hope that helps...let me know...I can add a pic if you like.
 
Just write the total BG number in the box and then record 6.5 on the Post in the title - OR you can write the BG number like this:
89@
6.5+Use the alt/enter key to space down inside the box in Excel
Then use the paint can icon to select the green or blue color that closest matches your 'set of numbers - under 100 in the dark greens, in the blue's - then a dark blue...

Hope that helps...let me know...I can add a pic if you like.
I have been using my iPad for FDMB… I will get onto my chrome book which will allow me to do alt enter. Thanks I will let you know if I have a problem with that. As much as I know nothing about Excel (formulas, how to). I do know how to do alt/enter and will put a smile on my face if I can widen the box myself!
 
I have been using my iPad for FDMB… I will get onto my chrome book which will allow me to do alt enter. Thanks I will let you know if I have a problem with that. As much as I know nothing about Excel (formulas, how to). I do know how to do alt/enter and will put a smile on my face if I can widen the box myself!
I usually just type a slash \ in the same box with two numbers - felt like it ate up too much real estate in the box to type the number.
Like the ones in greens...she was having a good day and I was hovering :)

upload_2018-9-30_15-22-55.png
 
Back
Top