9/30 Michael amps 303 +6.25 182 Math Advice pmps 328+2.5 292

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 9/30 Michael amps 303 +2.25 182

Any time you see a considerable drop at +2 or so its going to be an active cycle, which calls for more testing
 
Re: 9/30 Michael amps 303 +6.25 182

Thanks, Darin for catching that.
The vet wants me to do a curve at home and wants me to use the aphatrak meter.
I can't afford the alphatrak, so I am going to use the relion meter that I have. Since the human meter is 30%-40% lower do I add the difference to the numbers I get with the Human meter :?:
I'm afraid to tell her I used the Human meter for fear she will say the curve is inaccurate.
She was very specific about me using the alphatrak. That's why I want to add the % difference to #'s for the curve.
Any thoughts would be appreceiated.
Paula :smile:
 
Re: 9/30 Michael amps 303 +6.25 182

Paula said:
Thanks, Darin for catching that.
The vet wants me to do a curve at home and wants me to use the aphatrak meter.
I can't afford the alphatrak, so I am going to use the relion meter that I have. Since the human meter is 30%-40% lower do I add the difference to the numbers I get with the Human meter :?:
I'm afraid to tell her I used the Human meter for fear she will say the curve is inaccurate.
She was very specific about me using the alphatrak. That's why I want to add the % difference to #'s for the curve.
Any thoughts would be appreceiated.
Paula :smile:
 
Re: 9/30 Michael amps 303 +6.25 182 Math Advice

Yes, multiply the test by 20% to 30% and add that to the test result from the human meter. (Or many just add 30 points.) I know many vets are wedded to the AT meter, but here's a link to the Queensland protocol that we follow here, you can print it and take a copy to her. It is the only major study done using Lantus for cats and it was done using human meters!

On the first page:
It is very important to note that blood glucose concentrations measured using a whole blood glucose meter calibrated for human blood may measure 30-40% lower in the low end of the range than glucose concentrations measured using a serum chemistry analyser or a plasma-equivalent meter calibrated for feline use. Therefore, if using a meter calibrated for feline use (eg. AlphaTRAK, Abbott Laboratories, CA, USA), or a serum chemistry analyzer, add approximately 30mg/dL (1.7 mmol/L) to the target glucose concentrations (see Table 3B). For example, a target > 50 mg/dL (2.8 mmol/L) becomes > 80 mg/dL (4.4 mmo/L) when using a meter calibrated for feline use.
 
Re: 9/30 Michael amps 303 +6.25 182 Math Advice

Ann I use the same vet as Paula does and I gave her links to the protocol and other info from this forum that we use, so the vet should be well aware. Unless she did not look at the links.
 
Re: 9/30 Michael amps 303 +6.25 182 Math Advice

:roll: That's why I suggested printing it out! Too often they can't be bothered to go and check out things clients suggest.
 
Re: 9/30 Michael amps 303 +6.25 182 Math Advice

There is an updated (2013) version of the protocol in a PDF document contained in the Tight Regulation Protocol Sticky. It is about 5 paragraphs down and called Management of Diabetic Cats. This is what is says about human/pet meters:
The type of meter used, feline or human and whole blood or plasma, will determine the exact cut points used to adjust insulin dose. If a serum chemistry analyzer or plasma-equivalent meter calibrated for feline blood is used (eg, AlphaTRAK, Abbott Animal Health, Abbott Laboratories, Abott Park, Illinois), the measurements at the low end of the range need to be adjusted and are 30% to 40% higher than for a whole-blood meter calibrated for human blood. The doses, when using such measuring devices, should be changed as follows: the lower limit of the range should be adjusted accordingly by adding approximately 18 mg/dL (1 mmol/L) to the value listed in the protocol in Table 2. For example, a target value of more than 54 mg/dL (>3 mmol/L) becomes more than 72 mg/dL (>4 mmol/L) when using a serum chemistry analyzer or a meter calibrated for feline use. Alternatively, use the normal range for feline blood glucose concentrations as a target when using a meter calibrated for feline blood.
In other words, below 100, it's best to add 18 to the numbers you get on your Relion meter, above that you can add 30-40%. Note that this article does say pet meters are better, but still uses numbers from human meters in the protocol itself.

I would give the vet both numbers. Tell her the human numbers and what it converts to on the AlphaTrak and tell the vet you cannot afford the AlphaTrak strips. It's much safer for Michael for you to test more often with strips you can afford than to test a lot less because you can't afford the pet meter strips.
 
Re: 9/30 Michael amps 303 +6.25 182 Math Advice

Thanks, Guys, this helps a whole lot.
Darin,
When I emailed her and told her I wanted to treat M for neuropathy (because he is showing early signs of it)
she said there is two things we can do. Vitiman B-12 shots and regulating the "D" by following her instructions to a T. At the last appt. 9/24 she said to give M 1u bid regardless what his #'s were. (Evidently she is going by what she learned at the conference she went to.) I didn't follow, because I was already giving him 1.75u. and I didn't want to set him back. (also the insulin was getting old and I was afraid it might be losing its potency)
 
Re: 9/30 Michael amps 303 +6.25 182 Math Advice pmps 328

My understanding from people here doing side by side comparisons with AT/human glucometers is that the 2 are closer together in the lower blood sugar numbers and the percentage they differ increases as the BG range increases.

So in other words, a 50 human glucometer is equivalent to 68 AT. But a 300 human is equivalent to 400ish AT. It's not a neat formula - the distance between the 2 meters seems to increase in the higher ranges.

Good luck with the vet issue. I'm not sure how to solve this one.
 
Re: 9/30 Michael amps 303 +6.25 182 Math Advice pmps 328+2.5

Thanks, Julie.
I think when I do the curve, I will add 35% to his #'s if over 100. That's in between the 30 & 40%
I bought insulin today, so I will use it tomorrow am. I think the old insulin is losing its potency. His #'s have been rather irradic today. This am when I gave the shot I don't think I got all the insulin in.(When I checked afterwards some squirted out.) His #'s went from Pink to blue @ amps 6.25. (I thought this odd for not getting enough insulin.) @pmps 328 & @ pmps + 2.5 292.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top