9/30 Luci AMPS 268,1+225,2+204,5+198,7+207, PMPS 202 ,2+210,4+193,6+211

Sue and Luci

Member Since 2017
Yesterday - another sleeper for Luci - No threats, just action! Increased today.

Ok, so without much adieu - no threats, no warnings and no fooling around - increased her by .25 this morning. Worked on my calipers issues a bit and fortunately happened to have a set of Harbor Freight calipers on hand (don't even ask - but we have a house full of calipers!!)...anyway, I compared what I was doing with my original set of calipers to the other set from Harbor Freight - did some math - added an increment equal to .25 and away we went.

Let's see if Luci responds appropriately - and yes thank you@Jill & Alex (GA) for the manipulating the curve article to refresh my memory! :) Fortunately for me Luci never (rarely) refuses fuds...she loves to eat!! Sometimes I 'miss' and don't catch her in time and she drops below 40 - and I feel that's my fault - because I should have been testing her more - not hourly or two hourly - but sometimes she just gets away from me - she's a bit of a drama queen and loves to dive. When she drops by more than 100 points that's usually my clue (about the only one she gives me)...and it's common for her to drop from the high 200's into a high 100 - so what do I do at that point? Start MC? Let it ride a little longer to see if it keeps up? Sometimes I call it, sometimes not. I've started her on MC food only to have her miss out on any greens at all - darn it:banghead:...then sometimes when I don't give her a little MC she plunges from a high green to a low green - darn it. :banghead:

Although I feel like I 'know' my cat...she still has secrets she's keeping from me...who knows if she'll ever really be truly predictable.:facepalm: But at those times, if I could better predict that she'd go from a high green to a low green (which at this point she loses her dose and gets a reduction - which at that time may not be a true 'earned reduction' but a knee-jerk response on my part for not catching her quickly enough...with all her other numbers being relative - I wish at that time I could 'average' - is she indeed trending lower and is this low green a 'one-off'? Or is it that she's got a functioning pancreas and has truly earned a reduction?

We continue to work through it ... perhaps there are others who are experiencing the same kind of thing? - I often feel like by giving her a reduction I'm only delaying the inevitable (remission)...she needs the insulin apparently to kick that little pancreas of hers into gear. In the meantime, she feels great, she looks great, firing on all cylinders (all the P's).

We're going to celebrate her birthday and 'gotcha' date soon...I think she was born around this time of year - we got her in late October at 6 weeks...our little wild cat...running up the drapes and having a high old time! More to come on that note...:cat::cat::cat:
 
I think you have it figured out perfectly. She's keeping you quessing :woot:. I have seen the same in Titan, that 100 point drop from 200's to 100's, I do not give MC/HC at that point till he's threating lime greens but I do monitor closely. Usually he flattens out after the big fast drop. Good luck !
 
Good luck with the increase. I think when she is in 200's and drops quickly into the 100's I would just start with LC, a teaspoon just to keep her surfing and hopefully slowed down since the 100's are still nice and safe. Then the next test, if she is plummeting quickly and it's early in the cycle say +3 +4, then you might try the MC. It is all a big experiment as EVID.

I put the carb count into the cell with the numbers so I could look back easily to see what that carb % did to that number at that point in the cycle. Did it just hold the number? Did it bump it up by how many points? By trail and error you find what helps her to keep her from falling too fast but not send her to the moon.


Glad you got a pair of FH calipers and good luck with them.
 
I've started her on MC food only to have her miss out on any greens at all - darn it:banghead:...then sometimes when I don't give her a little MC she plunges from a high green to a low green - darn it. :banghead:
This is exactly where my mind is wallowing! Nelli is in green +2 and +4. My mind says why would I want to interfere with these greens and feed some MC? Of course if she gets close to 50 I will definitely throw her a tablespoon HC.
I just don’t want to interfere with what might be a healthy surf; her greens. Logic?
 
This is exactly where my mind is wallowing! Nelli is in green +2 and +4. My mind says why would I want to interfere with these greens and feed some MC? Of course if she gets close to 50 I will definitely throw her a tablespoon HC.
I just don’t want to interfere with what might be a healthy surf; her greens. Logic?
That is where some LC food would be a good idea, to keep the surf on and have it be a nice gentle cycle especially since she hasn't hit onset or nadir yet. Sometimes early in the cycle when they are already low the cycle can quickly go south fast making it really hard to keep their heads above water. That is why it is good to have all three, LC, MC, and high carb food on hand so that you can manipulate the curve. @Krystina & Nelli , I am going to link that read here in case you didn't see Jill's post on Sue's thread last night. Using Food to Manipulate the Curve
 
Glad you got a pair of FH calipers and good luck with them.

FH? You do mean Harbor Freight - right? I don't have any from F.H.??? or maybe I do...would have to check again...

:) Already had them...and probably 20 more in the house...no kidding...we're a family of measuring fools :) :) no joke - I have 4 calipers, DH probably has twice as many...
 
FH? You do mean Harbor Freight - right?
Oh boy, my bad, what a complete transpose, eh??? glad you knew what I meant . Once, I was stenciling our house address onto a big rock to put at the end of our driveway by the mailbox. Our address has a 4 in it. I stenciled it backwards. And after I did that, I remarked to myself, "wow, I never noticed before that a 4 looks like a sailboat" :eek: And it still did not register with me that I had done it backwards. DH came home and I ask him how he liked the rock I stenciled and he said, "yeah, nice but it would have been nicer if the 4 was pointing in the right direction". :rolleyes:
 
Oh boy, my bad, what a complete transpose, eh??? glad you knew what I meant . Once, I was stenciling our house address onto a big rock to put at the end of our driveway by the mailbox. Our address has a 4 in it. I stenciled it backwards. And after I did that, I remarked to myself, "wow, I never noticed before that a 4 looks like a sailboat" :eek: And it still did not register with me that I had done it backwards. DH came home and I ask him how he liked the rock I stenciled and he said, "yeah, nice but it would have been nicer if the 4 was pointing in the right direction". :rolleyes:

hahahahahaha....oh that's so cute!!!:) A bit of dyslexia there perhaps?:oops: I know I have a touch...and now and then OMG I drive myself crazy! A few weeks ago during the big garage sale I was trying to match lids to bins - OMG you have no idea how I struggle with that one!:confused: Happens to all of us now and again :woot: We are after all, only hooman :bighug:
 
probably 20 more in the house...no kidding...we're a family of measuring fools :) :) no joke - I have 4 calipers, DH probably has twice as many...
K you Caliper queening :p. I am looking to buy calipers which one should I buy :)? At my business I use an angle cube- iGaging. How do you like their calipers? Back to my original question though…
 
Know thy cat!! Just when I think I know what Ravan will do , he does the opposite! And now he's so used to getting up at certain times I can't change it.
If i set the alarm for 5:30 (to get an extra hour of sleep) He's yowling at the usual time of 4:30.:banghead:

This roller coaster ride goes up & down ,plus left & right ! :rolleyes:

giphy.gif
 
K you Caliper queening :p. I am looking to buy calipers which one should I buy :)? At my business I use an angle cube- iGaging. How do you like their calipers? Back to my original question though…

Harbor Freight has the least expensive digital calipers - that's about all I can say. When we were in Florida we didn't have any calipers so DH went across the street (we call that monster 41 'the street' ha! ) and picked up a calipers for about $15. I didn't like them because I felt like they were a little 'jerky' when I tried to move them up and down - so then we got a calipers from Amazon - seemed to me the wheel made it easier to hit the correct number.

However with that said, I have trouble with the syringes - they're round so where do you lay the calipers? Answer: No where :( Just have to eyeball it on your syringe - lock it in your steel trap minds eye - then pull the insulin out of the vial - set it down - put calipers back on syringe and hold it at eye level with calipers and where the insulin is supposed to be - flick out air bubbles - squeeze the plunger just a bit to squeeze out excess insulin - watch the drop form on the end of the needle - measure again - squeeze some more if needed - measure again - are we having fun yet? Measure again - if it's right - the lower lip of the caliper will align perfectly with that black syringe head inside the syringe cutting it right in half - not much showing above the lower lip of the caliper...Only once did I squeeze too hard and shot all the insulin right out :( :( :( stinky stuff that Lantus. I watched Marje's video - I believe her technique for getting to the exact right spot is to turn the syringe head just a tad while you're squeezing gently...and it seems to push that extra drop or two to the end of the needle...wipe away and then you're ready to shoot...

Rinse and repeat 12 hours later.
 
Back
Top