9/30 Loudogg AMPS 317 - Something's wrong... now what is it?!

Amanda and a Loudogg

Member Since 2017
September 28, 2018 Condo

Good morning all!
Happy Sunday! For those of you who aren't at work, unlike myself. :( I'm more and more convinced that something is going on with Lou. On the surface, he's perfectly alert and healthy, but he's starving, all the time. After vomiting 4 mornings in a row (only right after AMPS meal), I tried feeding him half a meal 1 hour apart, and there was no vomiting. This morning I halved his meal be fed 40 minutes apart (it was supposed to be 30 mins, whoops). We'll see if he threw up. Caleb even fed him at +10 this morning, and Lou still acted like it had been hours since his last meal instead of just 2. As a matter of fact, he was still "starving" when I fed him the rest of his food 40 mins later. It's possible he's lost weight. I don't have a scale to check. And he has been much more vocal. I made a vet appointment last week for this Tuesday morning. I figure it couldn't hurt anything except the pocketbook at this point.

What's ultimately the most frustrating is I just don't know what the problem is. He had earned a reduction, but now his insulin dose has gone up. Despite one cycle in greens, he's spending all his time in pinks, longer than his normal bounce cycle. With increasing insulin needs, is it the IAA cycling back? He's been sitting with his mouth open wider (when he's relaxing, his mouth hangs open), does he need a dental? With him starving, has he developed a thyroid condition? What do I do when he's that hungry? Do I feed him more and hope that curbs it? I'm tired of cleaning vomit out of our new carpet. I'm just flummoxed and rather worried. I'm terrified we'll go to the vet and they'll have a lot of nothing to say... wouldn't be the first time. I'm not convinced we can afford a dental, but considering it's something we've been concerned about for the last year (even though the vet says he doesn't need one), I'm tempted to just get one. However, with all the sick kitties on the FDMB lately, I find myself more afraid and worried than I would be normally. :arghh:

I hope you all have a wonderful day and your kitties surf safely. Sending vines of comfort, love, and healing to all those kitties and beans in need! :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Hey Amanda, I can sure appreciate your concern. My first impression is a hypo thyroid issue. The symptoms can be vomiting, ( my civvie is hyper T and he vomits only after the first AM meal unless I space it out over a 30 minute period.) And before he was on the meds he was starving allllll the time and lost some weight despite eating a lot of food. I would say if you think he has lost some weight and he is hungry to give a bit more food for now.

Glad that you have an appointment coming up. Unless the vet sees something different, I would ask for thyroid screening. 12 years old is the average age that kitties develop hyper T. Looks like Lou is about 11? If he does have hyper T it would make sense that he is harder to stay more regulated right now.

As far as the IAA I don't think it cycles back again; it was my understanding that when it breaks it's gone. Maybe @Sandy and Black Kitty can help you with that question.

The mouth open could be dental, but with him eating so well I don't know if it could be. It could be something else worth mentioning to the vet.

Sending hugs and please keep us posted after the vetty appt. :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Hey Amanda, I can sure appreciate your concern. My first impression is a hypo thyroid issue. The symptoms can be vomiting, ( my civvie is hyper T and he vomits only after the first AM meal unless I space it out over a 30 minute period.) And before he was on the meds he was starving allllll the time and lost some weight despite eating a lot of food. I would say if you think he has lost some weight and he is hungry to give a bit more food for now.

Glad that you have an appointment coming up. Unless the vet sees something different, I would ask for thyroid screening. 12 years old is the average age that kitties develop hyper T. Looks like Lou is about 11? If he does have hyper T it would make sense that he is harder to stay more regulated right now.

As far as the IAA I don't think it cycles back again; it was my understanding that when it breaks it's gone. Maybe @Sandy and Black Kitty can help you with that question.

The mouth open could be dental, but with him eating so well I don't know if it could be. It could be something else worth mentioning to the vet.

Sending hugs and please keep us posted after the vetty appt. :bighug::bighug::bighug:
Thanks for replying Bobbie. He is about 11 now (I updated my signature). I am also leaning towards a thyroid issue, so I was definitely planning on asking for a thyroid panel on Tuesday. I think I'm just trying to think if it's not a thyroid problem (which I'd obviously like it not to be), what else could I be missing? My racing mind is obviously not helping since I can only speculate at the moment, but I can't help it. I wasn't really thinking it was the IAA, but Lou's IAA experience has been much different than anyone else's, so it's hard to rule it out for sure. *Sigh* My brain hurts, haha.
 
I'm sorry that Lou seems to be loving the pink these days. :bighug: A vet visit is a good idea, as is having a scale around. You can buy pet or baby scales fairly cheaply, maybe even look at the local used ones. It would be good to know if he was losing weight, and at what pace. There are a few things that can cause weight loss in spite of eating well. One is unregulated diabetes, it's not that in spite of his bounciness. HyperT is another, as is some type of GI inflammation that means he's not absorbing his food properly. Vomiting can also be a sign of the latter.
 
I'm glad you have a vet appointment on Tuesday. I hope you get some answers and it's something simple to treat. Sending prayers.
 
I'm sorry Lou is having a rough time...I hope your vet visit can give you the answers you need and that you can get him on his way to feeling better. Sending prayers, vines and :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug: to both of you.
 
Hi there :cool:

The extra hunger may be due in part to the recent high numbers - not enough insulin means energy from food is not making into his cells.
Based on his age checking his thyroid is a good idea. BK developed hyperT around 2012

Regarding the IAA, to my knowledge once it resolves it does not return however so little is known about IAA that you never know.
To my eye the amount of green he has seen at doses no higher that 3.5u tells me that it's not IAA that is driving the numbers up.

Bad teeth and/or gums can significantly raise BG.
BK is an example of what a difference addressing dental issues can make. Have a look at his ss

12/08/2008 was dental #1 - dose was 13uL with R as needed.
12/12/2008 decreased to 12u. free-fall down the dosing ladder begins
3/19/2009 - down to 3u
4/17/2009 - increased to 3.25u
4/20/2009 - red is back on the scene ...WTF?
4/25/2009 - increased to 3.5u
4/30/2009 - increased to 3.75u
5/05/2009 - increased to 4.0u
5/09/2009 - increased to 4.5u
5/16/2009 - increased to 5.0u
5/25/2009 - increased to 5.25
5/29/2009 - second dental
6/03/2009 - decreased to 4.75u free-fall #2 begins
10/9/2009 - trial starts
10/23/2009 - :otj: the cat that no one ever imagined would go to the falls did just that

BK remained in remission the rest of his life (6.5 years)
 
Back
Top