9/30 - Leo 94 @+6 - Should I change the dose again

Susan Shropshire

Member Since 2021
I am so excited! We have NEVER had a 94! The lowest we have ever gotten was 152. I have given him Cerenia yesterday and this morning. He seemed like he didn't feel himself yesterday morning so I gave him a 1/2 a 16mg tab. That is what the vet had given me if he ever vomitted. They said it was safe and to give it to him for 3 days. I have also watched a little more about when and how much he is eating. I don't really see a difference in the amount, if anything he ate a little more because I kept prodding him before I put the food up. Normally I would just leave the food out for a bit and then just discard what he didn't eat.

I don't know if it's the change of dose, the cerenia or maybe he hasn't been eating enough? I just know that we have never seen "GREEN"!!! Has anyone ever seen their cat's number higher due to not eating enough? The reason I think that is I have a friend that is diabetic and she does intermittent fasting. She wore a freestyle libre and found duing the day her numbers went up even though she wasn't eating. She was told that was her body pulling the glucose storage from her liver.

A couple of questions.
Should I now hold that dose for a day or so to see where what numbers I get?
I wonder if the jump to 416 last night was a rebound? It was at 293 at +4
Now that I have seen a 94 does that mean that it's less likely to have another condition like Acromegaly or IAA?
 
You hold the dose unless his bg drops under 90. It’s my understanding that the only way to know about those conditions definitively is to test for them. It’s possible there was glucose toxicity and you needed to get to the right dose. Nice to see green. If he were my cat I would switch to TR. I’d hate for his dose to be dropped after you see a high green.
 
You hold the dose unless his bg drops under 90. It’s my understanding that the only way to know about those conditions definitively is to test for them. It’s possible there was glucose toxicity and you needed to get to the right dose. Nice to see green. If he were my cat I would switch to TR. I’d hate for his dose to be dropped after you see a high green.
Thank you! So with TR I would increase tomorrow to 5.25 units and hold that for 3-5 days.
 
So since you saw green, especially for the first time, the recommendation is to hold this dose for 10 cycles from today (and the increase would be to 5.5U...above 5U is 0.5U increases).

Yes that red last night was likely a bounce, don't be surprised if it happens again tonight or tomorrow morning.

Today was a bounce breaking cycle, cats often do go lower on these cycles. So hopefully he ends up in blues/yellows here (or green!)
 
No increase now. See what happens when the bounce clears and if it was a one and done but usually we hold for 5 days after a green.
 
So since you saw green, especially for the first time, the recommendation is to hold this dose for 10 cycles from today (and the increase would be to 5.5U...above 5U is 0.5U increases).

Yes that red last night was likely a bounce, don't be surprised if it happens again tonight or tomorrow morning.

Today was a bounce breaking cycle, cats often do go lower on these cycles. So hopefully he ends up in blues/yellows here (or green!)
Thank you so much for all the info. I’m hoping we keep seeing good results.
 
Back
Top