9/30 Josie AMPS 327 +6 81 PMPS 223 A.T

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 9/30 Josie AMPS 327 A.T (did not shoot last night)

here's your condo from yesterday. i'm not familiar with that protocol, but hopefully josie will get back on track with some lower numbers before long.
 
Re: 9/30 Josie AMPS 327 A.T (did not shoot last night)

It is so frustrating and confusing. I shoot, and she goes too low to shoot again, so I dont shoot, and she goes really high again!
How is any single person with a life supposed to be able to handle this? All the testing and schedualing and staying up to test and setting your alarm. It is driving me bonkers! I am hoping things get easier once i get a meter with cheaper strips and can test more often without going broke.
 
Re: 9/30 Josie AMPS 327 +6 81 A.T

She is at 81 on my alpha trak meter right now, at +6. That is the lowest she has ever been. What should I do? Is she in danger?
 
Re: 9/30 Josie AMPS 327 +6 81 A.T (why so low???)

You've got to edit your first post and add the 911 so that it shows up in the subject line...

I don't think that 81 on the AT is bad- it is actually a nice number but I don't think you want her to go much lower (It is like 50 on a human meter I think). Maybe try giving her some food- you're still feeding the dry EVO? That should boost her numbers, though because it is the dry food it might take a while- but you aren't in the danger zone so that may be OK.

You might also consider reducing her dose again if you're not able to test frequently (maybe down to 1.75 or 1.5U). That way, you would always be able to give insulin at the same dose. From what I understand, it may be better to shoot consistently then to go low and not be able to shoot. It sounds like, in your situation, keeping Josie's numbers as low as people do in the Lantus Forum will not work for you and Josie at this time.

I understand that this is frustrating for you. Once you find a dose that works for BOTH you and Josie it should get easier- financially, logistically and emotionally. Hang in there!

NOTE: I'm not an expert at dosing... Smokey and I have only been on this journey for about 2 months. You need to make the decisions that are best for both you and Josie. Finding the balance is hard...
 
Re: 9/30 Josie AMPS 327 +6 81 A.T (why so low???)

how long ago was the 81? About 1/2 hour? If so, please test again and let us know what the number is.
 
Re: 9/30 Josie AMPS 327 +6 81 A.T (why so low???)

I was just studying your sheet some more... I think that part of the issue may be that Josie started on a higher dose of Lantus (as per your vet's recommendation as I remember) and you are working your way down (and this direction is more apt to be problematic as you are in the position of giving too much insulin as opposed to not enough) to find a good dose. Seems that folks who work their way up have more time to learn/acclimate to the sugar dance before they have to deal with controlling low numbers- you got dropped in the deep end and are working your way back... You'll find a dose that works... it just might be lower than 2U.
Diabetes in cats (and in people) is not a simple thing. The balance between hormones (not just insulin but several others as well), diet and exercise is VERY tricky (trust me- I'm a research Endocrinologist- hormonal balance (which is what is wrong in diabetes) has multiple layers that just cannot be easily controlled). You are not alone and you are doing your best for lovely Josie- she's a lucky kitty.
 
Re: 9/30 Josie AMPS 327 +6 81 A.T (why so low???)

SmokeyD said:
I was just studying your sheet some more... I think that part of the issue may be that Josie started on a higher dose of Lantus (as per your vet's recommendation as I remember) and you are working your way down (and this direction is more apt to be problematic as you are in the position of giving too much insulin as opposed to not enough) to find a good dose.
I do think this is the root of why this is so hard for you. You WANT to follow "Start Low Go Slow," but you didn't start low. I believe people following that approach usually start at 1 unit or lower. It might help you to reduce her dose so she will run consistently a little higher, but you'll get numbers you are comfortable shooting twice a day. Then you can follow the Start Low Go Slow approach to work toward a dose you like. Just a thought.

First we need to deal with today's numbers, though. Please update when you can. Did you feed the 81?
 
Re: 9/30 Josie AMPS 327 +6 81 A.T (why so low???)

the 81 was about an hour ago now, but i fed her in the meantime.
the vet put her on 3 to start with, then 2 weeks later after an in office curve, put her up to 4. then i started hometesting and it wasnt working well and people here recommended we go lower, and that since i cant be home to test as often as needed that we shoudl do the SLGS thing.
I guess depending on what her numbers are tonight I should drop her even lower?
 
Re: 9/30 Josie AMPS 327 +6 81 A.T (why so low???)

I know you're trying to conserve strips, but you really need to test again to be sure she isn't still dropping. 81 is low enough.
 
Re: 9/30 Josie AMPS 327 +6 81 A.T (why so low???)

I hate to do this to you but you are going to need to get extra tests in. That 103 is likely a food spike and as the food wears off, it's possible that numbers will drop again. An 80 on the AT is equivalent to a 50 on a human glucometer. You don't want Josie to drop below 80 without your knowing it. It's not that the 80 is dangerous -- you'll just need to bump up the numbers with food. Numbers in this range require monitoring for safety. If you take a look at Gabby's spreadsheet, you'll get a sense of how I monitor. Alternatively, please look at this post on handling low numbers.
 
Her PMPS is 223, which seems like a good number for her. Wondering if I should keep her dose the same or go lower. Or wait til next week when I will have more strips and can try to test more often some days.
 
I am not a dosing expert, but if you are trying to conserve strips for now, then dropping the dose would make sense, as there would be less chance of Josie going too low and requiring more frequent testing....just a thought.
 
Remember, it is going to take 3-5 days for you to really see what 1.5u is going to do. Plus, the shed that Josie has built up has to empty... You might not see much different numbers tomorrow but give it a few days.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top