9/30 Eleanor AMPS 248 +3.5 256

Status
Not open for further replies.

Julie and Eleanor (GA)

Member Since 2012
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/9-27-eleanor-pmps-248-happy-birthday.165714/

I don't want to wait 7 days to bring her dose back up so think I will increase PM today.
This is all just ridiculous with her numbers.

I went ahead and took her back to her current vet for the recheck on her WBC. He had said to see if her WBC came down with the extended antibiotic treatment, to decide about switching her to ProZinc (so I can have better control over her BG since I don't want to shoot low).

Her WBC is now in the normal range. But he says he won't change her insulin until I have
an ultrasound done to see if she has an abscess or something on her pancreas.
I don't have the money for an ultrasound. He also is now saying he won't switch her to
ProZinc anyway, if anything it would be Humulin N.
She is so scared of vets, I really don't want to make her go to a new one, I've also been told
that there is often an hour long wait at the clinic that has been recommended to me,
which means Eleanor will be a complete wreck. Was also told when I called there that full
blood work will be done before any change in insulin will be "considered". I was hoping
the blood work she had done in September would do. $$
Oh well.
 
I wonder if you explain to the new vet you want to go to that you have a medically fragile cat whose condition is exacerbated by stress and who gets extreamly worked up confined in a Carrier if they couldn't somehow manage the situation where you don't have a long wait on arrival..? Is she ok in the car when it's turned off? I've waited in the car when it's going to be a long time..but if it's hot where you are that's a no go...

And do they know how recently she had labs? Maybe it's a liability requirement they redo them..I had to get a TB test for work and they insisted on doing it even tho I had had a chest X-ray at my other job.,yes what they make you do for a positive TB test to rule it out, just two weeks earlier! Protocol...
The old job just chest X rayed everybody at once with a mobile unit..
 
I hope you see more blue but stays safe on the increase. Have you googled vets that make house calls? So frustrating about the inuslin and frankly ridiculous....been there done that myself. I ended up getting Levemir on the "black market".....not recommending that but we were desperate. An ultrasound doesn't make sense either for insulin purposes...so angry for you Julie :bighug::bighug::bighug: I'm glad her WBC is back in normal range! Always vines and prayers for you both.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top