9/30 Cleo PMBG 187; +5 246 Start insulin? Very worried

Status
Not open for further replies.

Cleo & Jane (GA)

Member Since 2013
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=105213 Last Condo

AMBG 211

PMBG 187
+2.5 191
+5 246

Cleo is due for her dental this Wed, and she started an AB (Clavamox) this am. I was actually hoping the AB might help with her numbers, if her teeth are infected, but this has been her highest day yet.

She has been extremely hungry. Could this be from the high BG? Should I start her on some insulin tomorrow am? .5 Unit? If so, do I hold it on the morning of dental, since she will be fasting? Other than the high numbers, she is acting fine. Sorry for all the questions, but I just want to do what is best for her.


Thanks for any advice.

Jane
 
Well, drat on those yellows. I would ask Sienne what she thinks but I would probably hold off until after the dental since teeth problems can cause higher BGs. That dental can't come soon enough. (((Jane)))
Liz
 
poor cleo. it's very possible an infection has brought her back out of remission. i see you asked this question last week - sorry you didn't get an answer. i'll see if i can get an answer for you. if it were me, i'd probably start back up the insulin, but with the dental on thursday i'm not sure about the timing of it.

if you are giving her insulin, your vet will give you advice how they want insulin handled the morning of the dental. many vets have you give 1/2 dose, but it varies from vet to vet.

ABs can take 48 hrs or so to really kick in.
 
Thanks for the replies. I will check back in the morning before I give any insulin. Cleo's dental is on Wed, and the vet tech started to tell me that I should give Cleo 1/2 of her dose, but then saw she was not on insulin any more. I will double check with them when they call with my instructions tomorrow. I am happy she is not acting sick, but I am a bundle of nerves about the anesthesia nailbite_smile nailbite_smile Just wish it was over.

Jane
 
Jane --

My inclination is to suggest you re-start Cleo on a small dose - like 0.1u. However, I've asked a few people to provide some input since the dental is so close at hand. (It's scheduled for Wed?)

Typically, you skip the shot the AM of a dental procedure.
 
I heard back from Jill. I agree with her in that you're the best judge of what Cleo may need. Is her appetite OK? Is she acting normally? If she's not acting like her usual self, that may be the best indication that she needs some insulin.

The dental is 2 cycles from now. There would be minimal depot built up after 2 shots and then you'd be skipping on Wed. AM. It can take the AB at least a day, more likely 2 days to have an effect. These factors would support holding off.

I also agree with Jill that whether to re-start insulin is a judgement call. Her thought was that if you do re-start, she'd suggest a dose of 0.5u but again, there really isn't a right or a wrong answer here. My post is at least partially based on my sensing how worried you are.
 
Thanks for the reply Sienne,

I am worried, but I also was thinking about the depot, and if it would be any good to start and stop the insulin, or just wait till after the dental. Cleo is acting fine, just an increased appy. I worry every time I test her - but two more days of high numbers should not do any damage, right? I guess I will see what happens on Wed, and what kind of readings I get after that.

Thanks for the reassurance. :-D
 
If you have some left, a drop or 2 of Lantus may help keep it from going too high.

Or you could use a drop or two of an N insulin to keep her from getting too high - no depot to manage. Its fairly inexpensive too.
 
Hi Jane,
So sorry to hear the AB's aren't helping her Bg. I know when I noticed Hoots numbers getting to high I had to wait a week to get in for the dental and decided not to start the insulin until after his dental, in hopes he wouldn't need it, and his Bg's were in the mid 200's. He was feeling good and acting fine, but was told to keep checking his Ketones. He seemed to do just fine, but remember ECID.
Sending Cleo Great dental vines and you calming vines :YMHUG: Good luck tomorrow!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top