9/30 Atlas, +11 LO, Pmps 214, +3 283

Status
Not open for further replies.

Beth & Atlas

Member Since 2010
Yesterday's Condo: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=26225

No pancakes for breakfast this morning...all good ole high protein!

Hoping this major bounce clears by this evening. Attie seems OK this morning. Still a bit playful even with the high numbers. He was prowling around looking for the MudCat to see if she wanted to have a chase.


Litter box present? No liqui-poo...looks like a normal ...???? Months of liqui-ewww.... I "smelled" him there, but no...ewww....

Maybe somebody else used the box? Would be great though to know the "change" is indeed working. Duck and montmorillonite clay :?:

Well if the digestive system is starting to stabilize...then a drop in insulin needs makes sense. Since Attie is such a hard bouncer I wonder if I review the last few days condos from when we started the new regime...if I should have suspected needing a lower dose sooner and avoided the hypo/bounce syndrome? Was there tell-tale indicators? I can think of a few off the top of my head...but they'd be anecdotal verses the forum standard regarding Nadirs and Dose Changes.

Going back to the night I said he was "feeling so very good" is one place.
The first urine test strips indicating we're not over renal threshold. (not anecdotal)
The 9/26 and 9/27...117-147(nadir) to a rainy day mild "bounce?"
 
Re: 9/30 Atlas, AMps 444

Good morning, Blue! First time visit into Atlas's condo here....read his humble beginnings and read the past few days condo's. Got to say thanks for taking care of Mr. Atlas and helping him get healthy and happy. I have to admit, tho that I haven't looked through his ss and only went through a few days worth of condos so I don't know what happened from the time Atlas went to vets on March until a few days ago...but looks like he's got some tummy problems/allergies? Pancakes and syrup? Wow, what a spoiled kitty you got there! Nice to see that he is playing and the other P's are in place. He sounds like a happy cat. Anyway, I hope the bounce clears quickly!
 
Re: 9/30 Atlas, AMps 444, +5 200

Well,,,

That bounce passed fairly nicely. Like seeing these numbers now. Blue this afternoon looks like. :smile:
 
Re: 9/30 Atlas, AMps 444, HELP, +11 LO, stressed recheck 51

I would go ahead and give a shot of Karo, followed by some HC gravy. Check again in 15 minutes.
 
Re: 9/30 Atlas, AMps 444, HELP, +11 LO, stressed recheck 51

of course I don't mean to actually give him a shot... syringe into his mouth or rub onto his gums.
 
Re: 9/30 Atlas, AMps 444, HELP, +11 LO, stressed recheck 51

OMG!!!

Done Libby....

He was fine all afternoon long... or seemed such...playing etc....
 
Re: 9/30 Atlas, AMps 444, HELP, +11 LO, stressed recheck 51

Libby and Lucy said:
of course I don't mean to actually give him a shot... syringe into his mouth or rub onto his gums.


He's totally AWAKE...eating it up right now!
 
Re: 9/30 Atlas, AMps 444, HELP, +11 LO, stressed recheck 51

it's funny how they often feel *better* when they are low. A little disconcerting for the bean, though.
 
Re: 9/30 Atlas, AMps 444, HELP, +11 LO, stressed recheck 51

Libby,

He was "window hunting birds," chasing Muddy, even snuggles with Krueger!

I am shocked!!!! Even more than the 38 low the yesterday, but then that was on the meter yet.

Shot time is in 50 minutes!!!! Thinking really no shot...

I have no damn idea!

Thank God I was home!!
 
Re: 9/30 Atlas, AMps 444, HELP, +11 LO, stressed recheck 51

ya did good. anytime you get a lo reading, you should always recheck and you did that. :thumbup
 
Re: 9/30 Atlas, +11 LO, sr51, 15 minute 92

there's a chance the LO wasn't real since the retest was 51. Of course there's also a chance the LO *was* the real number and the 51 wasn't.

Is it about +11.5 now? Did he have gravy and karo, just gravy, just karo, or both? Thinking about tonight's shot.
 
Re: 9/30 Atlas, +11 LO, sr51, 15 minute 92

You did good. The low must have been awfully scary, but look how quickly you were able to manipulate the numbers! No problem - you're a pro now (and don't allow Blue to hang out with Wheezer any more - that's one of his favorite tricks).
 
Re: 9/30 Atlas, +11 LO, sr51, 15 minute 92

Libby,

He got real, real upset with my attempts to recheck...

It was like the sweet spot wouldn't bleed...like lack of circulation.... nailbite_smile

I started trying to test about 10 minutes before I got a number. He was not, NOT cooperative.

No to HC...allergic reaction...which is what we're "treating for."

The 15 I posted is 15 from the food and karo.
 
Re: 9/30 Atlas, +11 LO, sr51, 15 minute 92

let's wait and see if he's shootable before feeding. Don't want to skew the numbers any more than we already did. :mrgreen: He's going to bounce, so IMHO you want to shoot at some point. Otherwise he'll end up in the 500's again. He might not be ready for a shot at +12, though. Let's see where the numbers go.
 
Re: 9/30 Atlas, +11 LO, sr51, 15 minute 92

Libby,

I am crying as I type this...


Thank you for being here....

Thank you... wings_cat
 
Re: 9/30 Atlas, +11 LO, sr51, 15 minute 92

Wow.
They do pick up on your stress levels, so that probably contributed to his attitude problem. Even Donovan, who normally doesn't care at all when he gets poked, would get annoyed with multiple tests and "assisted" feeding when he dipped too low. He just wanted me to leave him the heck alone and let him sleep!
He'll forgive you. :cool:

MJ&Donovan
 
Re: 9/30 Atlas, +11 LO, sr51, 15 minute 92

you're the one doing all the work, I'm just less stressed at the moment so I can remind you of the things you already know.

I forgot that Blue doesn't get HC. Thanks for the reminder.
 
Re: 9/30 Atlas, +11 LO, sr51, 15 minute 92

Might not want to feed him a lot in case you need him to eat to bring number up later. Karo will not have a lasting impact.
 
Re: 9/30 Atlas, +11 LO, sr51, 15 minute 92

Nice job......Blue is not the only one that gets annoyed with pokes. When Putty is low he gets very annoyed with me and sometimes tries to bite me which he never does.
 
Re: 9/30 Atlas, +11 LO, sr51, .25 92, .5 172

looks like the bounce is starting. I doubt that is all Karo. What do you think, wait for one more test to be sure he's going up? By the way, this is a dose reduction for sure. 1.5 units is the next dose.
 
Re: 9/30 Atlas, +11 LO, sr51, 15 minute 92

Libby and Lucy said:
let's wait and see if he's shootable before feeding. Don't want to skew the numbers any more than we already did. :mrgreen: He's going to bounce, so IMHO you want to shoot at some point. Otherwise he'll end up in the 500's again. He might not be ready for a shot at +12, though. Let's see where the numbers go.


Sorry, just now calming...down...a bit...

He was well into the 500's yesterday with a conservative BCS... of 1.5u. Then he should have been at 1.75u...?

I am thinking of going back to 1u or looking over the SS 1.25u?

But I am thinking nothing tonight at all...
 
Re: 9/30 Atlas, +11 LO, sr51, .25 92, .5 172

if you reduce the dose too far, you risk losing momentum. Lucy did it, and it's a miserable feeling to start seeing some real progress with good numbers and reductions, then to suddenly find yourself in pink/yellow again. That's why we usually do 0.25 decreases. Up to you, though, of course.

Regarding skipping tonight, that is also up to you. He is bound to bounce, and if he was really LO then the bounce will probably be really high. It looks like the last bounce cleared after just one cycle, so this one might too. If you empty the shed by skipping, then it will take longer to overcome the bounce, but he should still be able to get there.

What is your schedule like, do you have time to stall (when do you have to be out of the house tomorrow?).
 
Re: 9/30 Atlas, +11 LO, sr51, .25 92, .5 172

Libby and Lucy said:
What is your schedule like, do you have time to stall (when do you have to be out of the house tomorrow?).

Well, honestly I have nowhere to be tomorrow. Check on my bank promo, drop a check at the shelter for my vendor slot...

If I shoot ...I have to go get test strips.... i blew my backup yesterday...!
 
Re: 9/30 Atlas, +11 LO, sr51, .25 92, .5 172

Libby and Lucy said:
if you reduce the dose too far, you risk losing momentum. Lucy did it, and it's a miserable feeling to start seeing some real progress with good numbers and reductions, then to suddenly find yourself in pink/yellow again. That's why we usually do 0.25 decreases. Up to you, though, of course.


I'm going down to 1.25u...
 
Re: 9/30 Atlas, +11 LO, sr51, .25 92, .5 172, +13 214

Sienne and Gabby said:
It looks like the bounce is starting.


Which if you look at the SS...it didn't start so soon yesterday...took a while to kick...then whooosh...then plummet.
 
Re: 9/30 Atlas, +11 LO, sr51, .25 92, .5 172, +13 214

We shot 1.25u...

Atlas objected with a hiss....

He never,,,ever....complains... :YMSIGH:


Stepping out for strips ...thank goodness for 24 hour Walmarts...

Thank you ALL for your insight and support....

Here is something I hesitated sharing, but after the second day of hypo...

Hi Beth,

I have worked with this material for many years and as matter of fact I will send to you an article I wrote in PET AGE magazine in November of 1985. (the article is in word format)

To answer your questions, TERRAMIN for humans and NUTRAMIN for animals are the same montmorillonite.

This montmorillonite contains, among other micronutrients, high levels of chelated kaolin which is very soothing to the gut while also possessing an antibacterial and antitoxin properties.

By reducing the inflammation in the gut, the associated pancreas will become less inflamed and will produce more insulin allowing you to administer less insulin.

Also, these micronutrients, contain a negative ion that will actually take glucose into the cell itself, and reduce the amount of circulating blood glucose.

Cats are famous for having food sensitivities, which will in fact impact the pancreas, and if the food is changed to a hypoallergenic diet, and the cells in the pancreas are not permanently damaged, insulin production will return.

You can also check my website for nutritional suggestions at www.drplechner.com.

I hope this helps.

Sincerely,

Dr. Al Plechner
 
Re: 9/30 Atlas, +11 LO, sr51, .25 92, .5 172, +13 214

didnt want to get in the way earlier but was watching...
whew! nice work, you two...
 
Re: 9/30 Atlas, +11 LO, sr51, .25 92, .5 172, +13 214

mybuddybinks said:
didnt want to get in the way earlier but was watching...
whew! nice work, you two...


Thanks...it has been a wild two days...

I think the clay...is working...

I know crazy, but it is even in the Nature's Variety food...
 
Re: 9/30 Atlas, +11 LO, sr51, .25 92, .5 172, +13 214

Blue said:
Also, these micronutrients, contain a negative ion that will actually take glucose into the cell itself, and reduce the amount of circulating blood glucose.

:? um.... admittedly, my research involves plant tissues and not animals, but AFAIK sugars do not enter cells unless the appropriate membrane transporter is present.

Hoping for a gentle bounce for Atlas.

MJ&Donovan
 
I agree it all sounds a bit hocus pocus to me ...but searching around for a better technical explanation I found this:



Ion channels and insulin secretion.
http://care.diabetesjournals.org/conten ... 0.abstract



Seems we're learning something new all the time, even about stuff we thought we had a decent handle on. As I spoke with Dr. Plechner last night he explained much of his observations and research over the last 45 years has been dismissed. He is not "researcher," but is a practicing vet. Reviewing his articles he indicates that these micronutrients are not the "cure," but can significantly help correct and support treatments.

Yes, he actually called me. I didn't expect that at all.

If you've been following me and Attie for a while ...you know all the trouble we've been having with his bowel issues. We've gone through at least a dozen different therapies, antibiotics, probiotics, immodiums, and wormings....

I read a few vet articles on edible clay and thought...what the heck we've tried everything else. Then when I checked the food labels for a few of the recommended cat foods for IBD...low and behold ...they have this clay in them too.

I never expected it to also affect Attie's BG. Perhaps some, but not like this? I started the clay unrelated to Attie's diabetes.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top