9/30/11 restesting Milo #'s off should I shoot?

Status
Not open for further replies.

milo

Member Since 2011
I re tested again at 7 relion 162 PMPS and alphatrak 216 PMPS not sure if I shoud shoot, was gonna shoot reduced dose like 2 units, not sure what to do any advice?
 
Re: 9/30/11 MILO +5 238 or 121 < bought relion micro

The alpha trak gives higher readings I believe.

I am glad you got the relion; you will save a bundle on strips now. Personally, I like the lower numbers so that you keep milo safer.
 
Re: 9/30/11 MILO +5 238 or 121 < bought relion micro

Its weird because the Alphatrak gave me a reading of 121 and the relion was 238
 
Re: 9/30/11 MILO +5 238 or 121 < bought relion micro

That is bizarre. Did you retest? Maybe you got a bad strip on the relion?
 
Re: 9/30/11 MILO +5 238 or 121 < bought relion micro

No but I will, there was really no setting it up, it just said to make sure the number that came up matched what was on the bottle and it did, so Im a little confused now ugh
 
Re: 9/30/11 MILO +5 238 or 121 < bought relion micro

Did it have a test soln? Sounds like it might just be coding....still, sometimes you can get an off strip.
 
Re: 9/30/11 MILO +5 238 or 121 < bought relion micro

OK So Now on the Alphatrak the reading was 269 which seems like a big jump form the 121 less than an hour ago....and the relion micro reading just now was 236 which seems more consistant with the earlier reading of 238... now Im really confused as to what to do and which one to go by! That 121 reading with the alphatrak at +5 had to be wrong somehow
 
Re: 9/30/11 MILO +5 238 or 121 < bought relion micro

I too started with the AlphaTrak and switched to Relion due to cost of strips. I never had a problem with the Relion. It DOES NOT require a test solution. I also never received a large difference in the AlphaTrak and Relion readings. Less than 10%. Perhaps the AlphaTrak needs to be recalibrated. It is to be recalibrated everytime you start new strips. Good luck. ReliOn carries a high rating with Consumer.
 
Re: 9/30/11 MILO +5 238 or 121 < bought relion micro

It sounds like you just had a bad strip with the first Alpha Trak test. It happens. The Relion is very reliable.
 
Re: 9/30/11 MILO +5 238 or 121 < bought relion micro

Also if the drop was a little too small or if it sat a while and started to coagulate the reading could be off.
 
Re: 9/30/11 MILO +5 238 or 121 < bought relion micro

Actually, Relion does recommend that you use a test solution for their meters. In the literature, it gives you a phone number to call. They send it to you free of charge.

I'd definitely say the 121 was a faulty reading on the AT. It does happen. If you see a number that doesn't quite jive for some reason, it is always a good idea to retest (even if that d#$! retest costs you $1+ because it is an AT!!)
 
Re: 9/30/11 MILO +5 238 or 121 < bought relion micro

so true. actually every meter out there can throw an off number for one reason or another, too big a drop, too little a drop, bad strip, whatever. when in doubt, just retest
 
Re: 9/30/11 MILO +5 238 or 121 < bought relion micro

[quote+"Milo"]I have been rechecking Milos nu,bers on both meters (I bought a new relion micro today) and the nubers are still a little off but again not sure if I should shoot or do a lower dosage? I reset the Alphatrak to make sure it was ok, and it checked out, so Im not sure what to do, and suggestions?? I was thinking of doing a reduced dose like 2 units, any help??[/quote]

Personally, I'd take the Micro back and get a new one. It could be a wonky meter. The difference is too large to be reliable. I'd go with your AT numbers and that 216 is fine to shoot.
 
I was wondering why it was so off, I will return it adn get another one tomorrow, so I can shoot a full dose tonight and not worry??
 
the AlphaTrak tends to run higher than the human meters. Most of us are just used to mentally adjusting to the difference. Our protocol even has different dosing specifications for those using feline meters. The difference is usually around 30 points in low numbers, but it can be more at higher numbers. It's easiest just to pick one meter and go with it. :smile:
 
If you account for both 20% margin of error and the general 30ish point difference between the AT and human meters, even that last test where they seemed far apart is actually within acceptable ranges.

Because heavens knows they can't make this EASY for us!!! :lol: :lol: :lol:
 
Personally, I would take the Relion back and get another one. You never know. It might have been dropped at some point in transit, or whatever! It isn't worth it to try to rationalize these big differences.

Good luck. I have a Relion Micro and I test it frequently against a FreeStyle Lite and the two are always very close.

Ella & Rusty
 
I'm taking it back tomorrow, the box was a bit jacked up come to think of it, all of them were on the shelf, but I didn't think anything of it.....will take care of it for sure! Thanks everyone
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top