9/3 Xander AMPS 169 +2 82+3 76 +4 76 +6 95 PMPS 126 +2 127 +3 112

That is a big drop (but not too low). Remember: those big drops can signal an active cycle, so keep an eye on him. He likes those big drops, but then does a nice, flat surf. Let's hope he does the same today.
 
That is a big drop (but not too low). Remember: those big drops can signal an active cycle, so keep an eye on him. He likes those big drops, but then does a nice, flat surf. Let's hope he does the same today.

Looks like he's falling into his usual ways, it slowed down a bit with the +3 just dropping just a little more
 
Albert, I mentioned this to Jud and Corv today, who is also on a smaller dose like Xander: are you doing the +9 LC snack? For cats on a smaller dose like Xander, a +9 LC snack (and nothing after it until the preshot) can sometimes lower preshot numbers.
 
Albert, I mentioned this to Jud and Corv today, who is also on a smaller dose like Xander: are you doing the +9 LC snack? For cats on a smaller dose like Xander, a +9 LC snack (and nothing after it until the preshot) can sometimes lower preshot numbers.
Yes, I give him around 15g of his normal LC food around+9
 
Do you think it has had an effect on his AM/PM preshots? It didn't work for Jude, but his dose is much larger than Xander's.
 
I believe so. I've been doing to for a while now so I would have to experiment with not giving the +9 snack to see. I don't do this in the morning +9, so maybe thats why his morning PS is a bit higher.

Before having his beginning meal times synced up with his shot times, I noticed that when I fed him at +10 in the morning his AMPS would be quite a bit lower than it was at +10.
 
Interesting! Can you do a +9 on the pm (early morning) cycle? I know that's probably really early in the a.m for you. Some people use automatic feeders for this. I just purchased two, one for Jude and one for Hazel, to try some food experiments of my own with Jude (to eliminate any eating after +6).
 
Interesting! Can you do a +9 on the pm (early morning) cycle? I know that's probably really early in the a.m for you. Some people use automatic feeders for this. I just purchased two, one for Jude and one for Hazel, to try some food experiments of my own with Jude (to eliminate any eating after +6).
Definitely something I can consider. Its hard having a cat that requires you remind him to eat and another who lives for food.

Also thinking of other smaller wet food options for those snacks to avoid opening a new can of food. He seems to be very particular about how freshly opened it is 🙄 I tried the Sheba perfect portions pate to waste less and he seems to eat it at +9 but doesn't like it as much. I am also not a fan of the smell of that one haha.
 
Definitely something I can consider. Its hard having a cat that requires you remind him to eat and another who lives for food.

Also thinking of other smaller wet food options for those snacks to avoid opening a new can of food. He seems to be very particular about how freshly opened it is 🙄 I tried the Sheba perfect portions pate to waste less and he seems to eat it at +9 but doesn't like it as much. I am also not a fan of the smell of that one haha.
Do you cover and refrigerate? My last couple cats were super picky about opened food too ( but thankfully not diabetics). Once opened, if not consumed within an hour, no matter how I tried to preserve it, they were having nothing to do with it. Weruva and tiki have some good low carb options in the 3.5 tins. I wonder how he’d like the weruvas in the packets—some of those are low carb and maybe they might taste better to him since you could just fold up the packet.
 
I do my best to guess how big of a portion he will eat and cover the rest with a plastic lid, I don't currently refrigerate. In the mornings this typically works well and he finishes it within 3 hours. At night when he's less hungry is where the challenge comes in, as he becomes pickier about freshness and sometimes even changes what flavor he's interested in. I'm still trying to figure out his brain 😑

On the bright side he has been maintaining his weight over the past month, maybe even gaining an oz or 2. He varies from day to day, but eating about 220 calories a day.

1756953109990.png

Can you tell i'm a data nerd? 😆
 
Back
Top