9/3 Tink AMPS 540 - didn't steer fast enough

Status
Not open for further replies.

JenM

Member Since 2013
Yesterday: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=124605

Well, I tried to steer his curve last night, but I think it was too late. I should have given food at +2. I did add an extra meal at +5 as he was clear down to 114. Pretty much knew at that point we'd definitely see a bounce.

Came in late to work today so I could get that +2. Of course, since I did... looks like a nice flat (but crazy high) cycle this morning. Hopefully he'll have a decent PMPS for me and we can work on this "curve steering" again.

I may just have to start getting up at 5am for shots so that I can get a +2 before work and know how I should load the auto feeder. I REALLY dont want to do this (6am is bad enough... 5am is for crazy people!!) - but I gotta do what I gotta do. I guess once we're more regulated I can bring it back to 6am. To do that... I can go 15min earlier for each dose until I get there, right?

WCR= normal. Pretty sure he thought Christmas came early when he got that extra meal last night. :lol:
 
Oh Tink, black is for the outside of cats. :roll: On the plus side, nice nadir last night and he did clear that bounce quickly. After tonight it'll be 10 cycles on this dose and if you don't see any more green I'd be thinking about an increase soon. A little more juice can help bring down the height of those bounces.

I think you are right about switching that extra meal to +2. I just gave a bit less at PS time and the rest at the mini meal. For changing the times, you can move 15 minutes a cycle, or 30 minutes once a day. On a sky high morning like today there wouldn't be a problem going 1/2 hour early. And yes, here's hoping those early mornings are a short term investment.
 
I was all ready to reset the times on the autofeeder this morning - and then he decides to stay nice and flat. :roll:

I'll plan to increase the dose again for Friday's PM cycle. Friday PM through Sunday is the only time I can really monitor closely, so I hate to raise the dose any other time - espcially since we are seeing nadirs in the low 100s on the current dose, which we had NOT seen at just .25u lower dose. My biggest fear with FD is him going hypo when I'm at work. At least getting a +2 will give me some peace of mind. It seems to be a pretty reliable indicator (anti-jinx!) on an otherwise completely unpredictable roller coaster ride.
 
Hi there :cool:

Ouch!!

the following message is for the organs contributing counter-regulatory hormones:

Enough with the black already - it was just a couple blue numbers for cryin out loud - simmer down!

JenM said:
I was all ready to reset the times on the autofeeder this morning - and then he decides to stay nice and flat.
Tip- program the timer for any extra meals (like the +2meal you mention) and on the days you feel like it is not needed just throw a chunk of kitty crack (or zucchini in Tinks case) in that time slot. That way you don't have to fool with resetting and he is not tortured by the feeder turning with nothing there for him. When I realized I had no clue if BK was eating his +8 meal all at once or eating it later - like after +10, I programmed a +10 and stuck a chunk of kitty crack in it. That way I was sure PSs were not food influnced.

FWIW, I was consistent with setting BKs feeder (still am) regardless of what his BGs were doing. I was fortunate BK is my 'shop cat' and I did not have to leave him (unless on travel) So any steering was in addition to the normal feedings
Back then ( FDMB class of 2008-2009) the food manipulation techniques used these days were not yet developed. Folks were experimenting with 'mini-meals' in between shot time meals - which is what I did. It seemed to agree with him.

Glad you will be increasing
JenM said:
I may just have to start getting up at 5am for shots so that I can get a +2 before work and know how I should load the auto feeder.
the peace of mind will be worth it :cool:
 
HAHAHA... Kitty crack. LOVE IT. :lol:

That's a great idea to put zucchini in unneeded slots. That'll save me some headache - setting the feeder is not the easiest thing in the world (though that's likely because I rarely change it, so can never remember what I need to do). No worries here about him not eating food when he's supposed to. Anything edible (the definition of which is highly debatable) is GONE within 5 seconds of hitting the floor around here. He has his own version of the 5-second rule. :roll: I can't turn around to stir a pot on the stove without him scarfing down half my chopped up veggies on the counter. And he does it with such stealth!! (why is there no ninja-cat emoticons?? lol)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top