9/3 Tigger AMPS 394 +4=333 +6=276 PMPS 299

Status
Not open for further replies.

hnkstr

Member Since 2011
Tiggers appetite is tapering off I think, bouts of starving but this morning some was left in the bowl and he hasn't eaten everything I've put out this morning.
I think its a good sign of something, even though his numbers are still up there.
Do increase last night to 13u
 
Re: 9/3 Tigger AMPS 394 +4=333

morning brent!

this is what sienne is talking about: New Dose Wonkiness

punkin's dancing around 14 units - went up to 14.25 a couple of days ago and back down to 14 last night.

tigger must be very glad to have you home. perhaps he's leaving a little snackie behind for you so you won't have to leave again to go out mastadon-hunting for food!

have a good weekend!
 
Re: 9/3 Tigger AMPS 394 +4=333

Could be that. But he's been a piggy as we've flown up the dosing charts and never once left food in his bowl. Now two days out of three he's been filling up.
Maybe the dose is getting high enough to get that wonkiness?
 
Re: 9/3 Tigger AMPS 394 +4=333

No, I didn't shoot R this morning. I knew I needed to get back to bed and couldn't do the hourly checks. :lol: :lol:

Nice drop I guess for straight Lantus, but I am seeing better drops as the hunger subsides, i guess less food = less BG spikes, right?
But he's Acro and IAA so i don't know how much the food plays in this when he's up to 13units.

But logic tells me more food = higher numbers (if on the same dose of insulin) but this stuff doesn't follow my logic! :lol:
 
Re: 9/3 Tigger AMPS 394 +4=333

I just took a look at Tiggers ss to see about nadir...Silly me...
I think IAA kitties in the thick of it don't' have a nadir. Not sure about acro in that respect.

A technique I used for quite a while with BK was to shoot R at +6, in hopes of setting him up with a nice PMPS.
If you are going to be available to monitor between +6 and PMPS, have strips and HC, it may be a good time to try it.
By the looks of your ss, the 2 occasions you used .25u R at PS time, not a whole lot happened. Based on that, if you decided to try .25u at +6 today, getting a +1 and a +3 (following the R, which would be a +7 and +9 from AMPS) would probably be enough to see if it has any effect.
 
Re: 9/3 Tigger AMPS 394 +4=333

Hmmm, that's possible as I will be around from +6 to PMPS
And as for his NADIR, i have NO clue where the heck that is! I'm never available from +6 to +10 and when I am he's flat lined like last night. lol
Oh well, he's +5 right now, if he's still mid 300s I may try the .25u R again, but a bit concerned since I won't be around after his PMPS and not sure how well that would set up that Lantus shot?
 
Re: 9/3 Tigger AMPS 394 +4=333

hnkstr said:
Oh well, he's +5 right now, if he's still mid 300s I may try the .25u R again, but a bit concerned since I won't be around after his PMPS and not sure how well that would set up that Lantus shot?
This is one big dilemma of the IAA cat, there's no way to know what the effect of R may or may not be. There is only one way to find out. You've got to carefully feel your way through it methodically, step by step.
If you are not comfortable trying this today put it in the back of your mind for another day.

Treating an IAA kitty takes BOS - no two ways about it.
 
Re: 9/3 Tigger AMPS 394 +4=333

just regarding your wondering on the nadir on an acro kitty - punkin always has a distinct nadir unless he's bouncing or has New Dose Wonkiness . . .
 
Re: 9/3 Tigger AMPS 394 +4=333

Ok, think I will wait on the R as I really don't have enough data on it.

Did Punkin alwyas have a distinct Nadir or did it take a bit to get on top of it?
 
Re: 9/3 Tigger AMPS 394 +4=333

you can look at his spreadsheet - i had to to answer your question! looks like a nadir from the beginning of hometesting, as i said, though, with the exception of bounces and NDW. tigger has stayed much longer in higher numbers than punkin did, however, and i know cats get accustomed to whatever number range they're hanging in.

punkin's been in the 100's the past day or two and i always notice that when he's become accustomed to the 200's, he acts very lethargic at first in the 100's. just seems to feel tired & "off."

tigger's also got the iaa/acro combo which *might* affect his curve.
 
Re: 9/3 Tigger AMPS 394 +4=333 +6=276

You guys smell that? It sorta smells like a YELLOW!!
:lol:

And of course now he's starving which will drive that back into the 300's. Damn its a no win here.. But I will take that 276! :-D
 
Re: 9/3 Tigger AMPS 394 +4=333 +6=276

Food left in the bowl? Yellow on the ss? Who are you and what have you done with Tigger? :lol: Perhaps he is finally settling down for you Brent. You have done such a great job with him, especially for a single dad. Hope he keeps it up...errr...down. :lol:
 
Re: 9/3 Tigger AMPS 394 +4=333 +6=276

:lol: :lol: I don't know!

Ahhh, looking down at my right arm and I see a nice bloody scratch mark, is it odd if I said I miss that?
:lol:
Been awhile since Tigger has gotten rough during play time! I used to bleed all the time, but not much in the last 2 years.
If you saw the vids of him as a kitten, now imagine spouts of that as a 13lb grown cat! No wonder he brings me home 10lb rabbits.
 
Re: 9/3 Tigger AMPS 394 +4=333 +6=276

I thought so, but forgot how rough he plays!
lol

He's so damn strong and quick. On the bright side, I can easily test my self now for Diabetes. Got the meter and a fresh blood source!
:lol: :lol:
 
Re: 9/3 Tigger AMPS 394 +4=333 +6=276

Brent --

What are you using as a snack for Tigger? Maybe cooking some chicken breast or thighs and using that as a way to keep the "Feed Me" monster at bay would work and it shouldn't have a big impact on Tigger's numbers.
 
Re: 9/3 Tigger AMPS 394 +4=333 +6=276

Just found another kitten pic of Tigger. Who'd be afraid of this little guy?
:lol:
Me! This is about the time he knocked me off the speaker! Looks are deceiving!
 

Attachments

  • Tigger 052.jpg
    Tigger 052.jpg
    141.1 KB · Views: 560
Re: 9/3 Tigger AMPS 394 +4=333 +6=276

I do use chicken, but it doesn't make a difference really. So far it looks like food is food is food with his numbers.
I've seen a couple chicken chunks jump him 50+ points.

I have used it twice today during tests.
 
Re: 9/3 Tigger AMPS 394 +4=333 +6=276

Today hasn't been too bad for the hunger, but when he is full force starving, I can't give him enough food. I try chicken and 0 carb FF and it doesn't do anything to fill him and still jumps his numbers it seems.

I guess that is the Acro?
 
Re: 9/3 Tigger AMPS 394 +4=333 +6=276

either the acro or the high numbers alone would make him hungry like this. food that doesn't have carbs shouldn't make his numbers go up. might be a coincidence, although even as i say that it sounds lame. i don't know. but you have to feed him, so i think your best bet is to give the lowest/no carbs for treats, but still give him regular low carbs for meals, it's all you can do.

you're working towards the real goal, which is more insulin, you just have to do it safely. that's what's going to make a difference in his numbers.

it's a marathon, not a sprint!
 
Hey a Yellow for PMPS! I tested and dosed before heading to my dads for canning of homemade spaghetti sauce tonight.

That's the lowest PMPS in a while, and the first since getting aggressive with the dosing.
Fed him 2 cans of FF and left a frozen puck and he didn't wolf it down. Hoping for Yellow in the morning when I get home.

He's getting less food tonight then usual with me not home, that might help.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top