9/3 Tibbs amps 477 +3 340 pmps 325 +2 349

Status
Not open for further replies.

tibbs5

Member Since 2014
wow his amps have been very high. he seems to drop through to his pm shot.
another 2 am bedtime for me! i do love my little boy. he is so patient with me poking his ears all the time. he's such a sweetheart.
 
I'm not sure why you dropped back from 2 units to 1.5 on the morning of 8/31

The one thing I can see is that you need to try to get more tests in on the PM cycle if at all possible, but he's been back at 1.5 for 8 cycles now with no signs of blue so I think I'd take him up to 1.75 tomorrow

Now I am thinking that maybe someone thought he was going lower at night and then bouncing high again by AMPS, but getting some more tests in during that cycle will let us know that.

If you can get a +2 at night and then, depending on what that test says, you may need to get quite a few more tests (which means setting the dreaded alarm clock) or maybe just one more "before bed" test.

Tonight, since his +2 is higher than his Pre-shot, I think you'd be fine to go to bed but if at ALL possible, I'd grab a +4 ....just adds to the data that helps us to help advise you.

Good luck! Let us know what we can do to help
 
To chime in with what Chris said it was suggested that I get more night tests and that is when I found out that Max often gets his lowest nadir at night. If I didn't know that I would have given him too much juice. To make sleep something on my wish list he often doesn't go that low until +6.5 or even +7.
 
Nadine, I had asked you earlier in this condo but you haven't answered yet

Why did you reduce from 2 units to 1.5 the other night? While it IS possible that Tibbs might be going lower at night and then "bouncing' back up, instead of reducing, I think it would have been better to just start getting more of those PM tests.

It's great that you got an extra couple of tests in last night! If you can keep getting at least the +2 in, that'll help. I don't mean to ONLY get a +2, but that test can give you a pretty good idea of where Tibbs might be going later on in the cycle.

You also say on 8/27 that he's "Almost" off the dry....is he getting ANY dry now?

Just compare the +2 to his Pre-shot...If the number is lower than the Pre-shot (by more than just a couple points), that's a good "early warning system" that he might be going even lower later in the cycle and those are the nights you'll want to make sure to get more tests in

If the +2 is about the same as the Pre-shot, usually that means a more normal cycle with the number gradually going lower and then gradually going back up. On those nights, grabbing one last test right before you go to bed will probably be enough

I'm glad you're testing for ketones, especially with him running as high as he is. If you catch them early, you can sometimes handle them at home (but we all hope he never had them!)

We don't want him to continue staying in these higher numbers any longer than necessary so we lessen the chances of glucose toxicity setting in, so if you can get a couple of tests in tonight, if he doesn't come down into blues, I think I'd increase him back up to 1.75 and see how he does for the next 6 cycles.
 
Nadine, sometimes you just gotta go with your gut when you need to answer a question that has been nagging you. and sometimes you just need to try things to see if they work or not. I know you'd been wondering about the dose maybe being too high.

The "good?" :roll: thing about FD (LOL) is that the chance often seems to keep coming around to try something different. :lol: It gives people a chance to try something different another time.

I hope you're having a good Thursday! Personally, I'm already counting down to the weekend! :-D
 
Hi Folks
Being new i am getting lots of different information. It was thought by some folks that he might have been getting too much insulin and that is why i tried a reduction to 1.5 . Also he is not completely off dry but he is having just small bits of the zero carb young again dry food. The reason he is still getting that is because he eats so little of the wet food and he had a history of DKA so i am so worried if he doesn't eat enough that will happen again. I test for ketones all the time, in fact just last night i tested and he is still negative. i just started this zero carb young again dry . I am still only giving him little bits and he does lick up some of the wet food so we are making progress. I am thinking that if in 1 or 2 days with this zero carb if his numbers are still high then i will again increase to 1.75 and keep increasing as per the protocol that you folks told me about. Thank you so much for the info and that info about the plus 2 being higher or same etc is very helpful. I will def get that plus 2 number and i am trying to get additional numbers to fill in the blanks too.
Thanks so much for all of your help. I will post again and hopefully with better numbers.
Paws crossed. :-D
 
the conflicting information isn't uncommon. Just because people are giving advice doesn't mean that they have the experience to look at your cat, your spreadsheet, and give good advice. It takes a while to gain enough experience to give sound advice. sometimes people also take what worked for their cat, or one other cat, and apply it broadly to all cats without their being a basis for that. Cats are very different, and there are different strategies needed at different times for each cat.

One good strategy for sifting through the info is to ask for background information - why are they suggesting this tactic? what is it based upon?

The TR protocol on this board is the only protocol that's been published in a professional veterinary journal for dosing diabetic cats. People should be able to quote the protocol and what in it is referring to what they are advising. In other words, they should be able to point you to the protocol and show you where it backs up what they are suggesting. Advice in a vacuum doesn't have much weight to me. Back it up so i can learn to figure it out myself! That's what I want, at least.
 
No dosing advice from me - I just wanted to make a suggestion about linking to some of your other posts. Since you're also posting on the Relaxed forum, it might be helpful for you to provide a link to those posts in your posts on this (TR) board. That way, people here will be able to easily find/see all of the advice you're being given. For example, here's one of your posts from the Relaxed forum where decreasing the dose was mentioned: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=32&t=124473.

To link to another one of your posts, go to that post and copy the web address for it. In your new post, click on the little URL tab at the top. Then paste the web address in between the little url brackets.

Hope Tibbs's numbers come down for you!
Shelly
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top