9/3 Skooter 9/3 PMPS 246 +2 215 +3 120 +4 123 +6 133

Status
Not open for further replies.

MollynSkooter

Member Since 2014
The Blood Work Results Are In Condo (09/02)

Sorry for the uber late condo....after t/f/s went back to bed and woke up about 5 mintues before I was supposed to be at work, so that is how my day started :)

Welpers, I am utterly and completely CORNfused. I cannot figure out what has caused this sudden change in his numbers. I am starting to wonder if I am not getting insulin into him.

His calcium score is now within the normal range 10.4, still on the high side of that, but at least in normal range. Will definitely keep my eye on that one.

His urinalysis was normal :sad: Now I know this should make me happy, but I just have no idea where this sudden change came from. His blood work is normal, his urinalysis is normal. I don't know what to do next. Get new insulin? Do a dental? Pull my hair out? have a heart to heart with him to see what is up? Could it just be that he was moving down the scale too fast and it caught up with him and he needed a break? I just don't know what is up with him. He doesn't seem 100% himself, but again, that could be because of the increased numbers.

It was a different vet who called and left a message with the results, so I will call tomorrow to talk to his regular vet to see if she has any insight.

I am guessing I should increase, but I would prefer to do that tomorrow night (already shot tonight) and I won't be home until like +8 tomorrow to check on him. I wasn't able to come home today during lunch, but his +1.75 looked promising.

I would really welcome any thoughts or suggestions.....I just wish I could figure this one out. He was doing so amazingly well......
 
Re: 9/3 Skooter 9/3 AMPS 176 +1.75 155 PMPS 246 CORNfused, h

Drat on that yellow! :-x :-x How long have you had the insulin?
Liz

ETA: Have you changed food? Sometimes stuff that is "LC" will cause BGs to zoom.
 
Re: 9/3 Skooter 9/3 AMPS 176 +1.75 155 PMPS 246 CORNfused, h

I have had the insulin since May.

I got a new bag of Nature's Variety raw, but other than that, nope. He has been on the Nature's Variety wet chicken since he went to wet food in July.

Part of me is thinking get a new pen and pay up the nose for the one pen, but I just don't know what to do. I wish I knew someone who was on Lantus and I could just try some of theirs to see what happened to see if it is the vial. But wouldn't it be more of a gradual increase if it is the vial going bad?

This just seems like such a sudden change. I know it has only been a couple cycles and maybe the skipped shot and the possible fur shot and the quick tumble down of doses has caught up with him and he is like, DUDE, I am so gonna slow my roll.....

I just don't know.....
 
Re: 9/3 Skooter 9/3 AMPS 176 +1.75 155 PMPS 246 CORNfused, h

This is a tough one. I'm going through much the same thing with Neko. She had a couple instances of pukus, lost her appy, then her numbers started rising a few cycles later. Because of her other symptoms, I'm guessing something is off so I raised her dose to compensate. I'm still waiting for urinalysis results.

We've had people have vials last 5 or 6 months. As long as you keep it in the fridge (not in the door) and it looks clear with no floaty bits, I'd think it's still fine. If you do decide to try a pen, there is a coupon on the manufacturers website.

Skooter did get down to the 70's a couple days ago, and after a huge drop. On the off chance this is some weird bounce which can last 6 cycles, I'd wait until tomorrow night for any increase, which sounds like the only time you can monitor anyway.

Great news on the new bloodwork results!
 
Re: 9/3 Skooter 9/3 AMPS 176 +1.75 155 PMPS 246 CORNfused, h

I just posted this on yesterday's condo by accident, so I thought I would repost here.


Does a urinalysis tell you if he has a UTI? I thought a urine culture was needed for that, but maybe I'm wrong.

I wish I knew the answer to what is going on. I am probably almost as upset as you are about his numbers. nailbite_smile

Did you see my reply on yesterday's condo about the Care Credit card?
 
Re: 9/3 Skooter 9/3 PMPS 246 +2 215 CORNfused, help!

Maybe someone else will have more technical insight, but I swear, sometimes it just seems like their pancreases just poop out for a while. Trix would be perfectly regulated for months on end, then BAM outta nowhere, I'd lose control. At one point, I even had to take her up to 5.00U to finally hit a breakthrough! But as suddenly as control was lost, it would return. Check out her SSs to see how she made me crazy over the years! FD is just so darned unpredictable at times.

Hopefully Skooter just has some sort of weird delayed bounce going on that will settle shortly....
 
Re: 9/3 Skooter 9/3 PMPS 246 +2 215 CORNfused, help!

I kinda agree with Amy. Gabby will have a great run of numbers and then it seems like her pancreas gets tired!

The other possibility is that tonights numbers are a high before a break.
 
Re: 9/3 Skooter 9/3 PMPS 246 +2 215 CORNfused, help!

My first vial was good for at least 6 months. During the 7th I started to think it might be toast and opened the one I was given. I'm not sure if the first was diluted or not. There weren't any particles. I tossed it though.

I hope this is the high before the bounce clears. Max does that sometimes. I think his pancreas also gets tired sometimes. At least that was suggested to me before. Poor absorption? Too many possibilities for my very tired brain.
 
Re: 9/3 Skooter 9/3 PMPS 246 +2 215 +3 120 CORNfused, help!

Well.....totally thrown by that +3....

I am guessing I will need a +4?
 
Re: 9/3 Skooter 9/3 PMPS 246 +2 215 +3 120 CORNfused, help!

Yep, looks like Skooter read up on this condo and now we've got some bounce-breaking action going on! A +4 is definitely a very good idea. Let's surf it, Skooter!!
 
Re: 9/3 Skooter 9/3 PMPS 246 +2 215 +3 120 CORNfused, help!

He normally eats at like +4.25 to +4.5

Would it be worth it to give him a little bit of LC now to try and get him to surf, or just wait til his +4ish and see where he is at?
 
Re: 9/3 Skooter 9/3 PMPS 246 +2 215 +3 120 +4 123

Well he seems to be surfing nicely....I am hoping he can behave himself tomorrow so I don't have to worry.....

I am exhausted so I am gonna set the alarm for a +6 since he is surfing at this number and he will be getting some fuds :)
 
Re: 9/3 Skooter 9/3 PMPS 246 +2 215 +3 120 +4 123

He's looking nice-n-flat so far. Enjoy the little snooze, and surf safe for MamaBean till +6, Skooter!!
 
Re: 9/3 Skooter 9/3 PMPS 246 +2 215 +3 120 +4 123

A message to Skooter from BK-

Look into my eyes. . .
Green is where you want to be. . .Green is where you want to be. .
 

Attachments

  • BK 12-19-2008 (279x400).jpg
    BK 12-19-2008 (279x400).jpg
    104.3 KB · Views: 217
Ha ha, I love it, Sandy!

I will take the blues for right now, I don't want to be too greedy lol

I am off to bed for the night since he is still surfing in this lower blue range.....


Please send better number vines....let's hope this is just a hiccup in the plan.....
 
Okay, sending better number vines. But it isn't so bad to surf low blues - those are still healthy numbers, and maybe he just needs a break from all the drama. You can use one, too! I told Cinco not to invite Skooter to the PJ party tonight 'cause you need some sleep. ;-) Maybe next time.
 
Oh I am happy with the 120s.....the vines are more for generally to keep those numbers and not have a preshot in the 200s because I dont know where they are coming from...should've clarified that better....but it was pretty late when I wrote it..I need to keep him in the low 100s today for my sanity lol..as long as he staysat least blue. ...I am happy
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top