? 9/3 Phoenix AMPS 135 Question about respiratory problems

Scdal

Member Since 2020
I need some help regarding a respiratory problem Phoenix is having. He has done this since he was diagnosed with pancreatititis and then developed pneumonia over a year and a half ago. Please don't suggest an xray because he has to be sedated and due to breathing problems, the vet does not want to do that.

When Phoenix had his only asthma attack or gasping problem two months ago , the vet seems to think it is probably allergy related. He listened to his lungs with a stethoscope and he said they sounded clear.

But here is what Phoenix does: Phoenix will crouch down when I go to prick his ear to test his BG. He will make a humph sound in his throat kind of like a cough. He will do this also when he gets a drink of water. He does this about 50 % of the time.

But the main problem is this: Phoenix will goes days without coughing or sneezing. Then like yesterday, he sneezed and coughed at least 8 times throughout the day. This morning, he sneezed 6 times at 8 a.m. and 4 more sneezes thirty minutes later. Since then, he hasn't sneezed or coughed for since. Most of the time, he will go days without coughing or sneezing and then he will sneeze or cough again.

I called the vet and he believes it is probably allergy and said to give him a zyrtec and start his breathing treatments with gentamicin again. I hate to start the breathing treatments because the medication gave him diarrhea and seemed to raise his blood sugar. I had to increase by one unit.

Does anyone else have a cat that does this? I just don't know what to do. He eats great and seems fine except for this. His eyes and nose are clear. Any suggestions or advice would really be appreciated.
 
Max was doing that sporadically and otherwise fine. Later he ended up with congestive heart failure. I don’t want to scare you as that might not be Phoenix’s problem. I would get an X-ray if you haven’t ever done that as asthma would show up in one.
 
Max was doing that sporadically and otherwise fine. Later he ended up with congestive heart failure. I don’t want to scare you as that might not be Phoenix’s problem. I would get an X-ray if you haven’t ever done that as asthma would show up in one.
I can't get an x-ray and yes you are scaring me !!
 
Wonderful Web Site with a very helpful owner and staff is PranaPets.com I am not sure how you feel about Holistic Healing all I know is that with their help and products Amethyst and JoJo are doing much better. Unfortunately you do have to get an X-ray to diagnose Asthma but I understand why you do not want to That is why I put JoJo on PranaPets Respiratory System Support because he would not have been able to tolerate the Vet and Xray it would have made him worse Good Luck:bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
If it’s asthma it can be easily treated. Why can’t you get an X-ray? It would diagnose it.
Max was doing that sporadically and otherwise fine. Later he ended up with congestive heart failure. I don’t want to scare you as that might not be Phoenix’s problem. I would get an X-ray if you haven’t ever done that as asthma would show up in one.
I have answered the question about not being able to get an X-ray at least 20 times. I need to start copy and pasting it. When I first took him to a new vet, the sedated him for x-rays, blood work etc. They damaged his throat with the intubation tube and then he developed pneumonia. Phoenix was sedated twice since then and his oxygen levels would start to fall and the had to stop procedures and wake him up. Both times after he was very ill and I almost lost him. For this reason, the vet does not want to sedate him.
Phoenix hasn't sneezed again since that episode this morning. It has been 6 hours without a sneeze. I was just wondering if anyone else's cat does this. The vet is pretty sure it is allergies and we are not going to risk his life when he is doing well.
 
I agree with you Susan We are all just trying to help each other here My JoJo would not have been able to have an Xray taken either That is why I suggested you read up on PranaPets.com web site for Holistic Remedies. Good Luck!:) @carfurby
 
Sorry. I was just trying to help. I can’t remember every person’s issues with their cats and won’t even try.
I am very sorry. I have had another issue that has been stressing me out the last few days. I honestly do appreciate your help and I really hope you will keep offering your help with Phoenix. I really wish this covid mess was over. I need to get out and see my friends and communicate with other people.
 
I am very sorry. I have had another issue that has been stressing me out the last few days. I honestly do appreciate your help and I really hope you will keep offering your help with Phoenix. I really wish this covid mess was over. I need to get out and see my friends and communicate with other people.
I tagged @carfurby She has had some of the same issues with her babies Maybe she will have some more suggestions
 
I tagged @carfurby She has had some of the same issues with her babies Maybe she will have some more suggestions
Thank you, Phoenix hasn't sneezed or coughed the rest of today. It has been 7 hours since he last sneezed. I hate to give him medication if he doesn't need it. Then, the next time he starts sneezing, I start worrying again.
 
My cats seem to have allergies and sneeze sometimes. They've never been officially diagnosed. It is different than what you describe, but I'll tell you what I give them in case it may help Phoenix. I started giving 1/4 of a tablet of Zyrtec twice a day. I've since found this homeopathic medicine that works. I give it twice a day if the sneezing is bad and once a day if it is not too bad. I hope you find something that helps Phoenix. Sending prayers.

https://www.onlynaturalpet.com/products/petalive-respo-k?variant=29444907892800
 
I need some help regarding a respiratory problem Phoenix is having. He has done this since he was diagnosed with pancreatititis and then developed pneumonia over a year and a half ago. Please don't suggest an xray because he has to be sedated and due to breathing problems, the vet does not want to do that.

When Phoenix had his only asthma attack or gasping problem two months ago , the vet seems to think it is probably allergy related. He listened to his lungs with a stethoscope and he said they sounded clear.

But here is what Phoenix does: Phoenix will crouch down when I go to prick his ear to test his BG. He will make a humph sound in his throat kind of like a cough. He will do this also when he gets a drink of water. He does this about 50 % of the time.

But the main problem is this: Phoenix will goes days without coughing or sneezing. Then like yesterday, he sneezed and coughed at least 8 times throughout the day. This morning, he sneezed 6 times at 8 a.m. and 4 more sneezes thirty minutes later. Since then, he hasn't sneezed or coughed for since. Most of the time, he will go days without coughing or sneezing and then he will sneeze or cough again.

I called the vet and he believes it is probably allergy and said to give him a zyrtec and start his breathing treatments with gentamicin again. I hate to start the breathing treatments because the medication gave him diarrhea and seemed to raise his blood sugar. I had to increase by one unit.

Does anyone else have a cat that does this? I just don't know what to do. He eats great and seems fine except for this. His eyes and nose are clear. Any suggestions or advice would really be appreciated.

Hi Susan! My Pearl has a lot of respiratory issues, so I wanted to stop by and offer my two cents to this. First, I do understand Pheonix cannot be sedated. Have you ever tried doping him up on some Gabapentin about 2 hours before taking him in? That has worked well in my world. Because, for breathing issue kitties, at some point you can't avoid x rays and ultrasounds. And just the bloodwork - I use the Gabapentin for everything and it helps! You can get it as a liquid or compounded into small pills if you have never tried this before, I highly enourage this experiment! We have done this successfully. Another option - if Phoenix needs a sedative at the vet, they give a small injection. I don't know why an intubation tube (full sedation) was used on your boy, but rest assured this is not the only way. Just some suggestions, I mention them because I need to make sure you know this you never know what a vet does and does not suggest.

(PS this next paragraph refers to pneumonia - I know you said he had it long ago, but this information is worth reading for any future events, and my brain just won't organize well this morning) -
Ok, now I can move on to the breathing. If your cat had pneumonia and was diagnosed without x ray it is not really possible to know whether it's pneumonia or asthma or maybe both. And the key to knowing whether ot come off the antibiotics is a clear x ray. In all my years with Pearl and her advanced asthma and pneumonia that wouldn't go away for mooooonths, she always sounded clear with the stethoscope. So that isn't a great way to make decisions on medications. With pneumonia, can you tell me what medication Phoenix was on and for how long? It should have been for 4 weeks absolute minimum (and Pearl has made it to 8 weeks with those stubborn pneumonias that won't go away).


Gasping in Pearl's world has never meant allergies. Allergies do pair with asthma and make it worse, but gasping has always been asthma to me (or heart issues). If you can video what you're seeing and show doctor that may help. If you are going to do allergy meds and the Zyrtec isn't making a difference, I would suggest Cyphroheptadine. It's an antihistamine that works great in asthmatic cats to help calm down the lung airways (but along with asthma meds too).

If your doctor isn't goign to get x rays etc on Phoenix, he needs to come up with a treatment plan and treat prophylactically (based on hypothesis). If the allergy meds aren't doing much, that is a signal that more treatment plan is needed. You could try the inhalers. You could try oral Pred to see if the Pred reduces these episodes. You could go back on the pneumonia meds to see if you get improvement there. In any case, the vet cannot just let this be because Pheonix has to breathe, and breathing issues in cats I have found rarely stay static - they always progress. And I know you want your boy to be healthy. If none of these work, I would honestly suggest a cardio consult down the way on your list.

I hope these thoughts have helped. I don't feel too organized this morning, I am happy to talk more about any of this! Hugs to you and Pheonix!
 
Last edited:
Hi Susan! My Pearl has a lot of respiratory issues, so I wanted to stop by and offer my two cents to this. First, I do understand Pheonix cannot be sedated. Have you ever tried doping him up on some Gabapentin about 2 hours before taking him in? That has worked well in my world. Because, for breathing issue kitties, at some point you can't avoid x rays and ultrasounds. And just the bloodwork - I use the Gabapentin for everything and it helps! You can get it as a liquid or compounded into small pills if you have never tried this before, I highly enourage this experiment! We have done this successfully. Another option - if Phoenix needs a sedative at the vet, they give a small injection. I don't know why an intubation tube (full sedation) was used on your boy, but rest assured this is not the only way. Just some suggestions, I mention them because I need to make sure you know this you never know what a vet does and does not suggest.

(PS this next paragraph refers to pneumonia - I know you said he had it long ago, but this information is worth reading for any future events, and my brain just won't organize well this morning) -
Ok, now I can move on to the breathing. If your cat had pneumonia and was diagnosed without x ray it is not really possible to know whether it's pneumonia or asthma or maybe both. And the key to knowing whether ot come off the antibiotics is a clear x ray. In all my years with Pearl and her advanced asthma and pneumonia that wouldn't go away for mooooonths, she always sounded clear with the stethoscope. So that isn't a great way to make decisions on medications. With pneumonia, can you tell me what medication Phoenix was on and for how long? It should have been for 4 weeks absolute minimum (and Pearl has made it to 8 weeks with those stubborn pneumonias that won't go away).


Gasping in Pearl's world has never meant allergies. Allergies do pair with asthma and make it worse, but gasping has always been asthma to me (or heart issues). If you can video what you're seeing and show doctor that may help. If you are going to do allergy meds and the Zyrtec isn't making a difference, I would suggest Cyphroheptadine. It's an antihistamine that works great in asthmatic cats to help calm down the lung airways (but along with asthma meds too).

If your doctor isn't goign to get x rays etc on Phoenix, he needs to come up with a treatment plan and treat prophylactically (based on hypothesis). If the allergy meds aren't doing much, that is a signal that more treatment plan is needed. You could try the inhalers. You could try oral Pred to see if the Pred reduces these episodes. You could go back on the pneumonia meds to see if you get improvement there. In any case, the vet cannot just let this be because Pheonix has to breathe, and breathing issues in cats I have found rarely stay static - they always progress. And I know you want your boy to be healthy. If none of these work, I would honestly suggest a cardio consult down the way on your list.

I hope these thoughts have helped. I don't feel too organized this morning, I am happy to talk more about any of this! Hugs to you and Pheonix!
I am sorry it has taken me so long to respond. I just gave Phoenix his first Zyrtec this morning. The reason I haven't given it till now is because the vet has Phoenix on breathing treatments. These are antibiotics.

Phoenix has only had that one asthma attack. Since then, he coughs sometimes a lot one day and then hardly at all other days. I think my vet is on the right track with allergies. I gave him the Zyrtec today because he sounded very congested and coughed several times when we got up this morning. He eats very well and was playing with my shoe this morning. The last couple of days, he seems to have trouble walking up the deck stairs. It is not a lot but he will stop halfway up like he is out of breath.

I had allergic asthma about 30 years ago and also couldn't walk up stairs. How long do you think I should give the Zyrtec to work before I should see some improvement? Another thing Phoenix has started doing is that he has always squatted down when I went to prick his ear. Now, he doesn't want to squat. He sits upright. When he does squat, he will start coughing.

Any advice you can offer me would be very helpful and much appreciated. Thank you
 
Back
Top