9/3 Mr.Cat AMBG 72,PMBG 103 +3 84 Day1 OTJ Trial YIPPEE!

Status
Not open for further replies.

Jess and MrCat

Member Since 2013
This morning Mr. Cat had his lowest pre-shot number ever - 72! To celebrate his new "OTJ Trial" status, I changed his photo. Here we go, MR.Cat!! :smile:
 
Re: 9/3 Mr.Cat AMBG 72 Day 1 OTJ Trial YIPPEE!

OTJ trial has begun,
Mr. Cat still having fun,
not so many treats,
but no shots can't be beat!
 

Attachments

  • OTJ day 1 pinata.png
    OTJ day 1 pinata.png
    10.7 KB · Views: 232
Re: 9/3 Mr.Cat AMBG 72,PMBG 103 +3 84 Day1 OTJ Trial YIPPEE

Deb, you are hilarious! Thanks for the poem. Mr.Cat loves all the attention!!

Also, I was a little worried when Mr.Cat's PMBG (103) was 30 points higher than his AMBG (72), but I fed him dinner and waited three hours just to see if his pancreas would kick in.... and it did!! He went down to 84 three hours after eating. We're having fun here at OTJ Trial Central!!!
 
Re: 9/3 Mr.Cat AMBG 72,PMBG 103 +3 84 Day1 OTJ Trial YIPPEE

Not sure if anyone has given you the "Official instructions" on doing an OTJ trial, so here they are. Please forgive me if you already have these.

Here are the instructions for an OTJ trial:
  • Test at your normal AMPS and PMPS times. Feed multiple small meals throughout the day as much as possible (small meals are less likely to overwhelm a newly functioning pancreas). The morning test is now called the AMBG. The evening test is now called the PMBG.
  • If your cat is green (0-99 human meter) at your normal test times, no need to test further until the next "PS" time, just feed small meals and go about your day. If the numbers are blue (100-199 human meter), feed a small meal and test again after about 3 hours. Food raises BG's. So if the number is lower 3-4 hours after a meal, then the pancreas is working!
  • After 2 weeks, if everything is looking good, we have a party! And boy, do we party hearty. :cool:

Sometimes, the trial doesn't work the first time and we have to give a little more support by starting the cat with a tiny dose of insulin again. I had to do that with Wink. We simply start the cat back on a tiny dose of insulin to support the pancreas with healing for a bit longer. Our goal is a strong remission and it's better to be safe now then sorry later that you rushed it. With just a little more time we will probably get that strong remission we are looking for.

Housekeeping note: If you link in your previous days condo, it's easier for us to look back at the history.
 
Re: 9/3 Mr.Cat AMBG 72,PMBG 103 +3 84 Day1 OTJ Trial YIPPEE

Hurray for MrCat - Elian is so glad to have a pawtner to go thru trial with him!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top