9/3 Michael AMPS 393 +3.5 222 PMPS 63 Stalling Advise Please

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 9/3 Michael AMPS 393

Hi guys ... boo michael, this color doesn't look good on you at all! How about putting on some blue trunks today? Have a great day guys!
 
Re: 9/3 Michael AMPS 393 +3.5 222

Michael is back in the yellow. Another big drop. (AMPS 399.AMPS +3 222) is this good :?: I guess yellow is better than pink. maybe he'll decide on blue later :smile: .
 
Re: 9/3 Michael AMPS 393 +3.5 222 PMPS 63 Stalling Advise Pl

Michalel's PMPS 63 I will test again i 15 mins. When I do shoot, do I still stay with same dose of 1.25u :?:
I haven't fed him. according to the sticky "How to deal with low preshot #'s if above 50 don't feed the # will bump up on its own. I'm stalling I hope someone is online to help.
Paula :smile:
 
Re: 9/3 Michael AMPS 393 +3.5 222 PMPS 63 Stalling Advise Pl

Hi there :cool:

good job stalling and not feeding.
How long has it been?
How far off schedule can you comfortably get?
 
Re: 9/3 Michael AMPS 393 +3.5 222 PMPS 63 Stalling Advise Pl

I just tested again (after waiting 30 min) bg 64. He only came up 1point in 30 mins. I can wait another 15mins. to test again. Then I will be off schedule by 1/2hr.
Paula :smile:
 
Re: 9/3 Michael AMPS 393 +3.5 222 PMPS 63 Stalling Advise Pl

hi paula!

looks like michael has plans for tonight. I think if you shoot, you have to be able to monitor him for the next several hours. Knowing that is very difficult for you, and that you're not going for remission, it might be best to skip his shot tonight.

With only coming up 1 point, we'd consider that basically flat.

if you shoot anything at this number range, you'd really have to stay up and monitor.

what would you like to do?
 
Re: 9/3 Michael AMPS 393 +3.5 222 PMPS 63 Stalling Advise Pl

I just tested again and his bg went from 64 to 48. I thought he was supposed to be going up if I didn't feed?
I fed him his lc dinner with a drop o k surup. I still need to know if i do shoot, what dose should I shoot. I have been giving him 1.25u.
 
Re: 9/3 Michael AMPS 393 +3.5 222 PMPS 63 Stalling Advise Pl

he's clearing a bounce, and sometimes they can come down very quickly. See how his numbers have gone straight down today from the 393 this morning? 393-222-63-48.

You did just the right thing by giving him his dinner and a drop of karo syrup.

Would you test again in 20 minutes, please, and repost his blood sugar number then? You may have to give him more carbs at that point.

I'd encourage you to skip his shot tonight. Let me look at his spreadsheet for whether or not we should reduce him in the morning. I'll be right back.
 
Re: 9/3 Michael AMPS 393 +3.5 222 PMPS 63 Stalling Advise Pl

Julie,
I'm not going to shoot. I just fed him, and tested and he only came up 1point. (from 48-49). I don't understand why he is so low. I thought it was because it was time for him to eat. I guess that isn't the case. I don't know how to record these #'s on the SS. How do I do that?
Paula :YMSIGH:
 
Re: 9/3 Michael AMPS 393 +3.5 222 PMPS 63 Stalling Advise Pl

I think that's a good choice.

Right now, give him another drop of karo syrup - we want him to come up over 50 and stay there. I'll write another post on the rest of your questions.
 
Re: 9/3 Michael AMPS 393 +3.5 222 PMPS 63 Stalling Advise Pl

Charlie did the same thing, on 8/28 am cycle he was starting to clear his bounce. Then when I tested at pmps he was 53. I had asked if it was a double dip, can't remember who replied, but they told me it was clearing a bounce and a slide.
It was very good of you to skip. With your heath the last thing you need is to be put in a situation where it will require you to be up till at least pm +6.
Be prepared for a bounce, either tomorrows am cycle or pm cycle.
 
Re: 9/3 Michael AMPS 393 +3.5 222 PMPS 63 Stalling Advise Pl

Paula said:
I don't know how to record these #'s on the SS. How do I do that?
Below is one method, which I used (click on them to enlarge):


since you count hours from the last shot if you skip or stall your 'plus' hours extend beyond 12
 

Attachments

  • skips.jpg
    skips.jpg
    21.6 KB · Views: 364
  • stall.jpg
    stall.jpg
    18.1 KB · Views: 374
Re: 9/3 Michael AMPS 393 +3.5 222 PMPS 63 Stalling Advise Pl

You're going to want to retest in about 20 minutes after the last time you gave him karo.

I think what's going on is that Michael's pancreas may be healing and beginning to put out some insulin of his own. So it is supplementing what you are injecting. That is the reason he is needing less insulin now that he did before. Does that make sense?

Your goal may not be remission, but he may have other plans. When we see a cat going down the dosing scale like Michael is doing, that's what it looks like.

Sandy, Wendy and I all think you should reduce his dose to 1.0u. So 1.0u is his new dose now. But you have a choice about when.

Plan A: He may be high in the morning because of the skipped shot tonight. If he is high (say over 300), you could give him ONE more shot at 1.25u in the morning. That's to help bring down the high numbers after the skipped shot. Then tomorrow (Thursday) night, you would go to 1.0u no matter what how high BGs are. The reason you'd reduce to 1.0u tomorrow night is that we now know, from his 40's today, that 1.25u is too high of a dose. So he needs to go to 1.0u now. The higher dose in the morning is only a one-time-shot of today's dose.

The advantage of Plan A is that giving him one more shot at 1.25u may help with the high numbers from skipping tonight's shot. The disadvantage is that, if his pancreas is helping out, he could go back into lower numbers tomorrow during the day. We don't know if that will happen or not.

Plan B: You can go ahead and move to his new 1.0u dose first thing in the morning. We're in agreement that today's 40's say he needs a reduction to 1.0. The advantage of going right away to 1.0u is that he is less likely to go into low numbers right away. The last time you skipped a shot (8/24 pmps 74), it took him a week before he needed another reduction. The disadvantage of going to 1.0u first thing in the morning is that he might be high a little longer from the skipped shot than otherwise.

So the choice is yours.

The only difference is that in plan A, tomorrow morning's shot is 1.25 and in plan B, tomorrow morning's shot is 1.0.

So no matter what, tomorrow night he's going to get 1.0u.

Does that make sense? Do you have any questions?
 
Re: 9/3 Michael AMPS 393 +3.5 222 PMPS 63 Stalling Advise Pl

Thanks,
I Just tested at PMPS +2 bg 125. so he has started to climb. Plan A is good. But I hate to interfere with his pancreas healing. Judging by this last test, he could be really high in the am. If he is, then I guess I will go with Plan A. However if he is not too high (ex 200's) I will go with Plan B.
I'm so new at this. Does that seem logical :?:
Paula :YMSIGH:
 
Re: 9/3 Michael AMPS 393 +3.5 222 PMPS 63 Stalling Advise Pl

Good plan for tomorrow. Michael is doing really well. It'll be interesting to see where he is in the morning.
 
Re: 9/3 Michael AMPS 393 +3.5 222 PMPS 63 Stalling Advise Pl

Thanks, Darin
If the pancreas is healing and beginning to put out its own insulin, does that mean they are starting to regulate and that they can go into remission on their own? (ex. No more adjusting doses, better yet, OTJ!)
Paula :smile:
 
Re: 9/3 Michael AMPS 393 +3.5 222 PMPS 63 Stalling Advise Pl

Thanks, Wendy
I wish i felt he was doing well. With all this bouncing and his #'s going from one extreme to the other,it seems like he will never be regulated or OTJ. Michael is feeling fine and for that I am thankful.
Paula :YMSIGH:
 
Re: 9/3 Michael AMPS 393 +3.5 222 PMPS 63 Stalling Advise Pl

Thanks, Sandy
The samples of posting the bg"s on the SS Helps.
Paula :smile:
 
Re: 9/3 Michael AMPS 393 +3.5 222 PMPS 63 Stalling Advise Pl

Paula said:
Michael is feeling fine and for that I am thankful.
That is one of the most important factors. :-D Michael is spending more time in normal numbers which is helping his body get used to them. The bouncing will stop at his own pace.
 
Re: 9/3 Michael AMPS 393 +3.5 222 PMPS 63 Stalling Advise Pl

Paula said:
If the pancreas is healing and beginning to put out its own insulin, does that mean they are starting to regulate and that they can go into remission on their own? (ex. No more adjusting doses, better yet, OTJ!)
Paula :smile:
Actually, as the pancreas heal and start to once again produce insulin, dose adjustments can be more frequent.
It becomes a balancing act of bringing the pancreas back into full service as gradually as possible, so as not to overwhelm.
Using just enough insulin to keep your kitty in the "healing numbers" (50-120) is key and offers the best chances for regulation or OTJ, if it is in the cards.
Of course there are those kitties who decide they are done with insulin - their pancreas are ready to take over and there is nothing gradual about it. ECID
The numbers will always be your guide.

Michael being newly diagnosed (<1yr) has an advantage when it comes to healing.
If you are considering OTJ as a possible goal, a good strategy at this point would be to get as 'data ready' as you possibly can.
That way down the road when you face a PS of 64 again, you will face it with confidence built on the foundation of data you collect.

Although no one knows if a kitty will go OTJ, I believe it's worth the effort and I believe you have what it takes.
After all, you managed to find the very best place a sugar kitty can be :cool:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top