9/3 Hexie First Day on Lantus AMPS 381

Charia & Hexie

Member Since 2023
Today is Hexie's first day on Glargine. She was on 4 units of Vetuslin and I am conservatively starting her on 3 units. Of course the vet wanted to start her all over at 1 unit.

Hers AMPS this morning was 381 and I will test her at +2. Are there particular times I should be testing at for her first few days? I will be home so can monitor closely. I have a hypo kit ready, hopefully not needed.
 
Welcome to LLB. Lantus often kicks in so a +2 is a good time to test. Then if lower I’d do a curve testing every 2 hours and if not every three hours. Have you had a chance to look at our dosing methods? Since you are feeding wet food you could follow either one. The reduction and bg for an increase are different It will take 5-7 days to see if 3 units is a good starting dose.

All the stickies are great but there’s a lot to learn so keep asking questions. Start with the methods.
 
Thank you. I have an alarm set for 2 hours from shot, about half an hour from now. Should I almost be doing a BG Curve today or more of a spot check?

I have chosen SLGS as I am not as comfortable with lower numbers. Also I am chronically ill/disabled so there will be some days I can only do minimum. Which I consider both PS and a +2 bedtime reading.
 
We just that when you first start Lantus, testing every 3 hours is a good place to start. But if you see bigger drops at that +2 or +3, then testing more often is a good idea. What you'll see first day varies a lot. Lantus is a depot style insulin, so it could be you see not much of anything until the depot builds. But some cats also like to show an early reaction to a different insulin. That next test after AMPS will guide you as to how often you need to test today.
 
Got thru to a +10 BG and will do her PMPS next in 2 hrs. Looks like a was a bit too conservative with the starting dose. But better safe than sorry. I hold this dose for a week unless reductions are earned correct?
 
Actually, for a first cycle of Lantus, you saw a decent response. It should get better over the next few cycles as the depot builds. Since you are following SLGS, you will hold the dose for a week, unless Hexie goes under 90. One caveat, I'd be testing regularly for ketones. If they show up, then an increase could come sooner.
 
Great thank you. I grabbed some of the ketone test strips when getting the BG supplies. I will read up on it.

Getting ready to do PMPS and her dinner. I don’t have to wait to test after eating like Vetsulin right?

Also I am very interested in changing her Prescription DM canned to the suggested Fancy Feast Classics. I picked some up as well. Should I wait to change her over and does it need to be done slowly?
 
We usually test, feed, and shoot. In that order, and about 10-15 minutes from beginning to end.

DM is low carb, so shouldn't make a huge difference. You can do a slow transition if you want to minimize the effects, if any. I never fed Fancy Feast - there are lots of other low carb options out there.
 
Can you update your spreadsheet for today, and start a new post? We ask that people start a new post each day that they post, with a link to the previous one. With the number of cats we have on this forum, that helps us keep track of kitties better.
POSTING GUIDELINES PLEASE READ

Once we see the updated spreadsheet, we can give better guidance on next tests.
 
Back
Top