9/3 Bj PmPs(449), +2(392), +6(187)

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 9/3 Bj AmPs(208)

Finally some progress for Bj! Looks like the meds are taking hold and maybe this dose is right for Bj after all. I can't give dosing advice, just wonder if it would make sense to wait another day to see how he does?
Thanks for the red panda, very nice! :smile:
 
Re: 9/3 Bj AmPs(208)

Jane said:
Quick question: When BJ was seen by the vet, can you just remind me what tests were done? Blood work? Sample of nasal mucous taken? I'm wondering on what basis the vet prescribed the ABs (which ones is BJ on now?). You mentioned that the vet expects improvement by tomorrow, otherwise he will add more meds - did he say which ones?

I hear your concerns. Ironically, the inappetance is an argument both against *and* for a fattened/increased dose: No food + High BGs = Greater risk of DKA. While BJ luckily has no DKA-history, this is still a factor that keeps popping up in my mind. (Have you got ketosticks, just in case? Could you get a urine test?)

Jane,
The vet didn't do any blood work or anything, just checked him out. He was pretty confident about what's going on. Said to touch base with him on Tuesday and should expect improvement by then and if not to bring him back in. I can't remember what he said he would give him if he got worse.

But guess who's feeling a lot better today and is all bouncy and energetic? The infection smell has gone away pretty much as well. He's on Amoxycillin I think. Will correct if that's wrong.

Judging by the AmPs(208) I'm not really feeling like upping the dose quite yet. I want your opinion on the matter though and will do as advised. Let's see how his +6 and PmPs looks and can correct the dose for PM if needed? But I haven't seen Bj this happy and energetic in months. I'm very optimistic. Improvement in breathing and sneezing is apparent but he still sneezes a bit.

Ketones: On initial visit the vet said no ketones. While I did buy the strips way back I never used them. He pees really low in the box and I couldn't get one in there.
 
Re: 9/3 Bj AmPs(208)

Hi Mike

Sending healing vines for BJ and his URI. Poor boy!!

I've read back through your condos since 8/27 and also looked at BJ's SS. One thing that would be really helpful for us in offering dosing advice is if you could put on the SS when you started the A/B, what it's for, which one, and when you give it each day. Sometimes we can see effects from different meds on the BG when we know exactly when they are given.

I know you got discouraged when you took him down to .1u and he kind of fizzled....although he didn't look too bad for a bit and I wonder if the URI contributed to his numbers going up. Sometimes we have to drain the shed a bit to stay ahead of it. And then we might have to go back up. While I felt the 48 on the a.m. cycle of 8/27 might still be .5u shed, it's better to play it safe. I've let the shed get ahead of me once with Gracie and it wasn't pretty and you never know when a kitty is on a mission and is going to keep rolling down the dosing scale.

I'd see how today plays out since his AMPS is much better. If he pops back up high, I agree with Jane (from yesterday's condo) that you might want to fatten his dose. It will be really important to keep an eye on his numbers because they could come down quickly as the A/B starts to make him feel better. But I always worry about DKA when a kitty has an infection.

Thanks for all your well wishes the last few days. :-D :-D
 
Re: 9/3 Bj AmPs(208)

Hi Mike and Bj :razz:

Such Good News from your condo today! dancing_cat

I`m very glad Bj responded quickly to the anti biotic and is feeling so much better, what a relief for both of you!

Thanks for the cute Red panda; Reuben and civvie Zack dressed him up like a cat and took him lizard hunting this morning :lol:

Hope you guys are having a great day!

Alexa & Reuben
 
Re: 9/3 Bj AmPs(208)

Hi everybody.

Marjorie, I updated the SS with the prescription information.

Draining the shed and dropping his dose was a great idea. And based on his numbers today I'm going to continue with the .25u unless further advised. He's come way down on that dose. Not prefect but good today. Eating very well. I'll be back around midnight Pacific.

+2 (101)
+4 (102)
 
Re: 9/3 Bj AmPs(208), +2(101), +4(102)

Very nice BJ! Yup..I'd hold that dose for now...he must be feeling better. :-D
 
Re: 9/3 Bj AmPs(208), +2(101), +4(102)

yep, would hold that dose dear.
as the infection clears you may be decreasing again
sleep tight
 
Re: 9/3 Bj AmPs(208), +2(101), +4(102)

He's BACK! :mrgreen:

Queen Marje has spoken. Resistance is futile. (I agree, stick with 0.25 and revel in BJ-worthy numbers!)

Hooray!! Sooo happy to see this.
Hugs
Jane
 
Re: 9/3 Bj AmPs(208), +2(101), +4(102), +7(275), PmPs(449)

Ouch!
Is he still acting like earlier today when you thought he might be feeling better? Maybe the infection is still fighting the AB's? I suppose there might be a low that caused another bounce, but it must have snuck in pretty quick.
I think I'd stick with the dose and see if the meds help some more.
Carl
 
Re: 9/3 Bj AmPs(208), +2(101), +4(102), +7(275), PmPs(449)

I don't really know what else to do.

He's had a few sneezing fits but he's not drowning in snot and having to mouth breath anymore. Doesn't have the energy he did this afternoon but seems alright.
 
Re: 9/3 Bj AmPs(208), +2(101), +4(102), +7(275), PmPs(449)

+2 (392)

Have to turn in early tonight. Night everybody and thanks.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top