9/3 Asher amps 256, +4 216, opinions wanted

Status
Not open for further replies.

donnahc

Member Since 2011
Morning everyone: ~O) ~O) ~O)
Happy Labor Day!

Our thread yesterday complete with spam: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=78319&p=846372#p846372

(thanks for removing that, whoever did :-D )

We have been shooting 3.25 and hanging out in the mid 200s for the last two days, with a slight downward trend. Very slight. I am sure Asher will wait to make a move lower until tomorrow when Tom has to take me to the airport and is stuck in Philly traffic coming home :roll:

I will be in Nevada shooting a medical conference for the next week, but Asher will be in Tom’s capable hands. I have printed out the protocol on raising and lowering the dose for him and I will have my laptop with internet if I need to do a third party check in here :-D

If the numbers stay as they have been, I would guess we are due for another increase to 3.5 soon. Today is our 6th cycle on 3.25. Does anyone have any thoughts on this? It is possible Asher needs a steady dose longer before he shows decent numbers with it.

Our spreadsheet is current if anyone wants to have a look see. Thanks as always!

Good day and good numbers to all! And may all the beans have a relaxing day along with the kitties! Peace!
 
Re: 9/3 Asher amps 256, +4 216

looked at your ss and it baffles me.
You had those lows on the 26th and then gone. No repeats.
If I were you, I would send one of the advisors a pm and ask directly or put opinions wanted in the subject title.

And as you said, tomorrow most likely with all the disappearances will be Asher's day to get attention. :roll:
 
Hi Donna -

Don't you love it when they don't have that much of a pattern? But Asher's SS looks so much better now than it used to. If you decide to do an increase, to try to get the greens to show up a little more, be sure Tom is up for the night checks too. Looks like his PSs are a little lower at night, and he tends to find :mrgreen: when you would/should be otherwise sleeping.

Good luck & have a nice trip!
 
Maybe Asher can go to the airport with Tom. J.D. went to Philadelphia Airport with me a few weeks ago :)
If you raise the dose, will Tom be available to monitor?

I'm signing off for the day, but will be back later tonight. I'm sure others will be along.
 
Yes Tom will be here everyday while I am gone to monitor. He is very good about checking and keeping records.

We haven’t left the house together for more than 12 hours at a time since Asher’s DX :sad:
 
If he's going to around to monitor, then my opinion is you have room to raise the dose. Let's see what others have to say.

Have a good trip. You're lucky to have Tom to help you.
 
Hi Donna,

No dosing advice from me, just moral support and curious to hear what the wise ones will counsel! A glance at your SS looks to my newbie eyes like he`s going blue mid cycles though.

Good luck with the airport trip, too! :razz:

Alexa & Reuben
 
+6.5 is 279. Makes me wonder if this insulin is working :sad:
We’re not quite halfway thru this pen. It looks fine, no floaties or anything.....
 
What I suspect is that you're running into glucose toxicity. If you hold a dose for too long, your cat begins to react to the BG levels that are not in the desired range, as though they are the new "normal." It can make it harder to bring the numbers down. I'd encourage you to hold doses where the nadir is over 200 for no more than 2 days and if numbers are under 200 for no more than 5 days.

That said, if your DH is as diligent as you are with testing, I'd raise the dose.
 
So we will raise the dose asap, tomorrow at the latest since Tom will be gone a few hours taking me to the airport.
Tom is definitely on board with raising the dose.


With the glucose toxicity, do the regular reduction rules apply, like if he dips to 40 at some point, we reduce again?
 
No dosing advice, just want to wish you good luck whatever you decide and hope Asher likes his dose. These cats like to keep us guessing so if Asher does the unexpected and Tom needs help, we are here. Not sure about the insulin, I think folks here have used pens for 2 months or more depending how its stored and how old it was when you got it. I dont know of an actual test to detemine if it is still full potency. The experienced folks here may know more ways to check.
 
donnahc said:
With the glucose toxicity, do the regular reduction rules apply, like if he dips to 40 at some point, we reduce again?

Absolutely. Or if he goes three times below 50....whichever comes first, k?

Have a great trip and good luck with the dose increase, Donna.
 
Great, thanks for the info everyone. I appreciate you all taking the time to look over our crazy spreadsheet :-D

I’ll probably pop in next week to let you know how we’re doing, although I prob won’t we able to update the spreadsheet on the road. Tom usually texts me most preshoot numbers. I know, we are over the edge ohmygod_smile :shock:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top