9/3/10-Blaze AMPS 358, +7 333, PMPS 325, +2 211, +3 154, +4 122, +5 133

Not bad, considering that he had his lowest numbers so far yesterday!
Yay! I know, I thought I would see a 400 number. I’m going to try to make it home at lunch to grab a test but I have to see how my schedule is when I get to work. I left snacks in the timed feeder for +4 and +6.
 
I think that looks great! he's gone down since this morning! he is probably using up the rest of that depot :)

Awesome! Glad to see him come down a bit from this morning and not waking up this morning to a SUPER high pre-shot number. Can't wait to get him back on track after the skipped shot:D
 
He's actually holding it pretty well - considering where he was at before Lantus! Looks like the depot might have been helping him along...Hope you'll get a comfortable number tonight for his shot :)
 
He's actually holding it pretty well - considering where he was at before Lantus! Looks like the depot might have been helping him along...Hope you'll get a comfortable number tonight for his shot :)
Me too! I can stay up a little longer tonight too so I’ll be able to shoot if it’s a similar pre-shot number as last night, but I doubt he’ll be that low tonight with us skipping the shot last night:rolleyes:
 
Last edited:
+2 is 211 tonight. Should I test again at +3 or +4?

ETA: I will be doing AMPS/feed/shot tomorrow morning but DH will be in charge of PMPS tomorrow night and Thursday morning, I will be out of town until Thursday evening.
 
How late are you going to be able to stay up tonight, again?
Well I have to be up at 5 am to test/feed/shoot Blaze but I’m off work Wednesday and Thursday because I’m going out of town for a dental convention. I can stay up but would rather not be up extremely late because I have to drive an hour and a half to San Francisco tomorrow morning. I can stay up later than last night though.

Should I test every hour right now? Or test again in 30 minutes?
 
Urrrgggghhhhh..... Well, OK, first off, he's still in very very safe numbers, just scraping the top end of normal in fact. So, that's good. And he's slowing down from his previous rate of descent, so that's also good! But, there are still a lot of hours to go in this cycle and you have to go to sleep soon.

If it were me, I think I would chicken out and abort the cycle with some HC food. It's an overkill move, since he's slowing down, but, I'm thinking, you might not be able to stay up long enough to steer him through the surf and make sure he starts to come back up.

If you can stay up for a couple more hours, you can try steering a bit more subtly with some LC or MC. Again, he's perfectly safe and isn't obviously headed for any danger right now, so that'd be the "normal" course of action. He's most likely going to have a completely uneventful surf from here. I'm just basing my "chicken out" move on the fact that you have to get some sleep tonight-- plus, I'm not going to be able to stay up with you if you are going to do more steering and monitoring tonight. I've been watching to see if any West Coast folks are around, but it's really light on the boards tonight for some reason, and I'm not sure who will be around if you need support later :(.
 
Urrrgggghhhhh..... Well, OK, first off, he's still in very very safe numbers, just scraping the top end of normal in fact. So, that's good. And he's slowing down from his previous rate of descent, so that's also good! But, there are still a lot of hours to go in this cycle and you have to go to sleep soon.

If it were me, I think I would chicken out and abort the cycle with some HC food. It's an overkill move, since he's slowing down, but, I'm thinking, you might not be able to stay up long enough to steer him through the surf and make sure he starts to come back up.

If you can stay up for a couple more hours, you can try steering a bit more subtly with some LC or MC. Again, he's perfectly safe and isn't obviously headed for any danger right now, so that'd be the "normal" course of action. He's most likely going to have a completely uneventful surf from here. I'm just basing my "chicken out" move on the fact that you have to get some sleep tonight-- plus, I'm not going to be able to stay up with you if you are going to do more steering and monitoring tonight. I've been watching to see if any West Coast folks are around, but it's really light on the boards tonight for some reason, and I'm not sure who will be around if you need support later :(.
Okay, I think I will just give him some HC food, only because I can probably only stay up for another hour or two at most and because you need to need to get outta here too!

I think I will wait to feed him until his +5 test and if it’s lower, I will definitely feed him HC food. Any other tips for tonight if I go with this plan?
 
Hi Sarah, read through just now. I'm not as experienced as Nan, but I'm online..I'm here.
Thanks Lou! I’m going to test Blaze at +5 (about 12 more minutes) and most likely give him some HC food. I can probably only stay up for another hour so don’t want him dropping too low. I will post his +5 test and get your input\
 
@Idjit's mom
Okay, +5 is 133 so maybe he's going back up. He's eating his LC snack right now because it opened right after I tested him. Should I give him some MC food or HC food? I might be able to stay awake for one more test at +6.
 
Yes, looks like he's rising now. As I told you, I am not expert, but I am not worried. I think he's going to rise now and probably doesn't need any boosting up with HC. If you would feel better, you could leave some MC in his timed feeder. How do you feel about this?
 
I feel good with that, I don't think he's in danger with these numbers and seems to be rising, and leaving some MC food out will help too. Do you think I need to test again before I go to bed?
 
I read that you have to be up at 5AM I think. And you could mix some LC and MC and leave that. we don't want to bump him up too high artificially with food, those blues are such a good thing for him and he might bounce a little again in the morning from the blues tonight, Just like last night and this AM.
 
Sorry,my typing is off..I have a scratch on the eye I HAD good vision in, and everything is pretty blurry on both sides. Thank goodness for big fonts.
 
He's responding well to Lantus, isn't he? So proud of Blazey Boy!
Yes! I can't believe how well he's doing with only being on Lantus for 4 days! This is so much better and smoother for him. I hope he behaves while DH is in charge of PMPS tomorrow and AMPS Thursday!

I do have to be up at 5AM tomorrow and am driving an hour and a half to San Francisco so need to be alert (lots of traffic there). I just gave him some LC and MC mixed together, I will leave some more LC and MC mixed together in the auto feeder to be available for him in an hour, does that sound okay?

Oh no! How did you get a scratch on the eye!? That's such an irritating feeling! Hope you heal up soon:joyful:
 
Yes! I can't believe how well he's doing with only being on Lantus for 4 days! This is so much better and smoother for him. I hope he behaves while DH is in charge of PMPS tomorrow and AMPS Thursday!
He will be a good boy, how could he be otherwise?
I will leave some more LC and MC mixed together in the auto feeder to be available for him in an hour, does that sound okay?
Yes, it sounds ok to me, and I think you will rest better, which you need to do.
Oh no! How did you get a scratch on the eye!? That's such an irritating feeling! Hope you heal up soon
I don't know how it happened for sure, but it's already better, thank you!

Sweet dreams, I think Blaze is going to be fine. And he' s pry ready for bed too.
 
He will be a good boy, how could he be otherwise?

Yes, it sounds ok to me, and I think you will rest better, which you need to do.

I don't know how it happened for sure, but it's already better, thank you!

Sweet dreams, I think Blaze is going to be fine. And he' s pry ready for bed too.
You’re right, Blaze is always a good boy! DH says he already feels more bonded to Blaze since he’s started helping test and shoot. I know Blaze is in good hands :joyful:

Thanks so much for your help Lou, I appreciate it. Blaze says, thank you Auntie Lou! He definitely seems ready for bed after his last little snack.

Talk to you tomorrow, sweet dreams Lou! Give Idjit scritches for me!:cat:
 
Back
Top