9/29 Zeus AMPS 290 PMPS 192

Status
Not open for further replies.

knolet

Member Since 2012
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=80015

Where are those blue numbers that we were starting to see? Wondering if I should increase a little? Maybe a fat 2u? 2.25? I'm a little scared to go up too much since we did get some good numbers days ago.

So I started off this morning by stepping into a piece of poo in the living room, UGH hate that!!! Then I found more just outside if the litter box. I think it was Smokey, she has been having problems in that area for a while now. Sometimes it gets stuck in her fur, sometimes I am not sure that she feels it. I have been giving her lactulose to help in that area, plus putting extra water in her FF.

Zeus ate really well for his snack last night at PM+3 and is eating really well this AM too. There is only a spoonful or two left in the bowl.... And now he is off to finish Smokey's bowl 'cause you know she gets something better. ;-) It's the same FF, same flavor. I think that is so funny.

Kathie
 
Kathie

Because Zeus is newly diagnosed, I wouldn't be fattening and shaving his doses yet. When you increase him, I'd give him the .25u increase and unless he fails reductions, I wouldn't shave. I see a couple places where you gave reductions he didn't earn which is ok at this point.

I'd like to see if you can take him up and down according to the protocol:

Increasing the dose:
Hold the dose for 3 - 5 days (6 - 10 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are less than 200 before increasing the dose by 0.25 unit.
After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 200, but less than 300 increase the dose by 0.25 unit.
After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 300 increase the dose by 0.5 unit.

Reducing the dose:
If kitty drops below 40 (long term diabetic) or 50 (newly diagnosed diabetic) reduce the dose by 0.25 unit. If kitty has a history of not holding reductions well or if reductions are close together... sneak the dose down by shaving the dose rather than reducing by a full quarter unit. Alternatively, at each newly reduced dose... try to make sure kitty maintains numbers in the normal range for seven days before reducing the dose further.
If an attempted reduction fails, go right back up to the last good dose.
Try to go from 0.25u to 0.1u before stopping insulin completely.

Any time you get a number you are nervous about shooting, don't feed him, post and let us walk you through it. The sooner you learn to gradually shoot lower and lower, the better he will do :-D :-D :-D This is a great insulin and can work wonders for kitties so we can help you take advantage of it.

Lets see how he does but if he doesn't come down much tonight, I'd probably give him the full increase he should have had instead of just a little fat.
 
Thanks Marje... Boy when you said newly diagnosed I had to stop and think about it.... It seems like I have been doing this forever, but yet haven't learned a darn thing :o You're right, it has only been 5 months... I honestly did not think it would take long to get to regulation, I mean, Zeus gets the same food at the same time every day. Shots and tests at the same time. I didn't take into account all the other things that can affect BG. I just want Zeus to be regulated already.... Would love to get OTJ, but would settle for blues and greens at this point.

Everything that you said makes sense. I gave him the .25 increase this morning.

Thanks again for the advice.
Kathie
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top