9/29 Sooty AMPS 329 +4 254 PMPS 267

Status
Not open for further replies.

Perry and Sooty

Member Since 2010
PMPSYesterday's Condo...

I was wondering if anyone has any idea why Sooty's BGs actually go UP after PMPS (typified by last night, as you can see on his SS), this has us rather baffled, since he eats well during the day but we see falling BGs; yet he is quite inactive overnight and hardly eats anything (we often find the food left out at bedtime untouched, the next morning).
If food tends to cause BGs to rise, you'd (well, I would....!) think this would be the other way around (ie his BGs would tend to fall overnight, much more so than during the day?)
Any ideas? :?
 
Re: 9/29 Sooty AMPS 329 - Dose Increase!

Good morning Perry and Sooty! It will be interesting to see when Sooty reacts to the increase...some react in the first cycle but others need a few cycles, even 6 sometimes to register an increase in insulin. All data is important ~ any tests that you can get would be helpful Good luck....
 
Re: 9/29 Sooty AMPS 329 - Dosecrease ^2.0

For future reference, it's best to hold the dose for at least 6 cycles (3 days). The reason is to make sure the shed has had time to fill and any new dose wonkiness (which can occur after an increase) to clear. Lantus takes patience and doses need to settle.
 
Re: 9/29 Sooty AMPS 329 - Dosecrease!

Iorwen & Tray said:
Good luck with the increase, I hope Sooty responds quickly.
Thanks, today should be interesting as this is (2.0u BID) is the dose that we started at, back at in the very beginning...
Sienne & Pat, I guess I am thinking 3 days vs 6 cycles...
 
Re: 9/29 Sooty AMPS 329 - Dosecrease ^2.0

Yeah, no...it's the cycles that we count. I know you are impatient Perry....we would all like to see perfect numbers within two weeks of course. But it just doesn't work that way. Lantus likes consistency so dose hopping is not the best plan. And increasing too soon is not ideal either. But, you already went ahead and upped it, so we will see what happens.....
Some kitties react during the 6th cycle of an increase as I said before. Some react right away in the first cycle. It's best to test frequently during the first cycle of an increase too.

It is difficult to be patient. I have hard many people say "We have been on Lantus for 2 weeks and we see no changes" and I blame our way of life for that impatience. We are all used to quick fixes. This FD dance will force you to be patient even though you do not feel patient. You can either learn to be patient or not, but either way, it is the kitty who rules the game. The Protocol works but we have to follow it for it to be successful, right?
 
Re: 9/29 Sooty AMPS 329 - Dosecrease ^2.0

Pat+Raja+Shadow said:
Yeah, no...it's the cycles that we count. I know you are impatient Perry....we would all like to see perfect numbers within two weeks of course. But it just doesn't work that way. Lantus likes consistency so dose hopping is not the best plan. And increasing too soon is not ideal either. But, you already went ahead and upped it, so we will see what happens.....
Some kitties react during the 6th cycle of an increase as I said before. Some react right away in the first cycle. It's best to test frequently during the first cycle of an increase too.

It is difficult to be patient. I have hard many people say "We have been on Lantus for 2 weeks and we see no changes" and I blame our way of life for that impatience. We are all used to quick fixes. This FD dance will force you to be patient even though you do not feel patient. You can either learn to be patient or not, but either way, it is the kitty who rules the game. The Protocol works but we have to follow it for it to be successful, right?
Pat, thanks for your tact - must be hard to resist just yelling at me. There is a nice job awaiting you in the Diplomatic Corps... ;)
Will wait 6 in future...!
 
Re: 9/29 Sooty AMPS 329 - Dosecrease ^2.0

I can confirm that some kitties do take their sweet time responding to changes.
My Oliver sometimes takes longer than the 6 shots(cycles) and I have gone even 8 or more, hoping the next one will reflect the change, but Ollie does what he likes and nothing is ever quick with that boy. My Shadoe responds quicker; she is quite sensitive to any change, the little prissy puss.

So until you have a good chunk of past, historical numbers, where you can see what ol' Sooty is up to, it's best to stick with the protocol of 6 shots before deciding, unless something really extreme changes/drops show in the numbers.

Good luck with the change.
 
Re: 9/29 Sooty AMPS 329 - Dosecrease ^2.0

Gayle and Shadoe said:
I can confirm that some kitties do take their sweet time responding to changes.
My Oliver sometimes takes longer than the 6 shots(cycles) and I have gone even 8 or more, hoping the next one will reflect the change, but Ollie does what he likes and nothing is ever quick with that boy. My Shadoe responds quicker; she is quite sensitive to any change, the little prissy puss.

So until you have a good chunk of past, historical numbers, where you can see what ol' Sooty is up to, it's best to stick with the protocol of 6 shots before deciding, unless something really extreme changes/drops show in the numbers.

Good luck with the change.
:cool: - thanks!
 
Re: 9/29 Sooty AMPS 329 +4 254

Won't be able to update the SS until I get home from TBP this evening (can't access Google Docs from here), but I will update the condo as and when I can...
 
Re: 9/29 Sooty AMPS 329 +4 254 PMPS 267 *Question*

good luck with the dosecrease!

Don't worry about the cycle that went up. With Lantus, because of the overlap and shed, you have to learn to look not at each cycle individually, but at several days at a time. Overall Sooty's numbers are pretty flat. Flat is good, it's easy to work with, you just have to gradually move it so he is flat in lower numbers.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top