9/29 Obie +6 33 Relion. +6 Alpha 64, +8 66 on Relion.

Status
Not open for further replies.

Obie

Member Since 2014
Obie has earned another dose decrease. He was 269 on the Alphatrak at amps
He is eating well and I am going to test him in another hour since he ate a ton and a bit of gravy food.
He is showing no sign of Hypoglycemia and is acting normal. I will watch him like a hawk and monitor him until he skyrockets to 400+ later.
 
Re: 9/29 Obie +6 33 Relion. +6 Alpha 64, +7 66 on Relion.

He is now at 66 on the Relion. I will check him again in an hour.
 
you want him to spend as much time as possible in the 50-100 range on the Relion (68-130 AT), so try to just give him enough carbs to help him surf along. Most of the carbs are in the gravy (or karo) so you want to just give a teaspoon of the gravy (or a couple of drops of karo/honey) and get him above 50 relion and keep checking every 20-30 minutes to see he stays there.

Good job handling it all! Ya feeling like a pro at this already?

Looks like you went to 1.25u tonight - well done!

If you need it for next time:
Shooting & Handling Low Numbers
DON'T PANIC! or HOW TO HANDLE LOW NUMBERS

First, try to not panic. Post to the Lantus Insulin Support Group or on the Health Board. Make sure your subject line indicates you are concerned about a possible hypo and/or add the 911 icon to the first post in your condo. People who are experienced in dealing with low numbers will be there to help. After posting, remember to refresh your browser periodically to see if people have replied.

It’s important to recognize that just because your cat may be experiencing low BG numbers doesn’t mean that your kitty is critically hypoglycemic. Many cats will have low numbers and never have symptoms. It’s important, though, to bring those numbers up into a safe range. ALWAYS make sure you have a stock of test strips, high carb (HC) canned food that contains gravy and is over 15% carb such as Fancy Feast grilled, marinated, or Gravy Lovers varieties (see Dr. Lisa's Cat Food Nutritional Composition List for a full list of options), and/or a simple sugar solution such as Karo/corn syrup, honey, maple syrup, etc.

If your cat is experiencing symptoms, especially if those symptoms are severe, you need to rub Karo syrup, honey, or maple syrup on the gums or, if symptoms are very severe, administer rectally and get your cat to the nearest 24-hour emergency facility. Take the bottle of syrup with you to administer on the way if necessary. (Note that it is rare that we see episodes of symptomatic hypoglycemia with Lantus and even rarer to see severe symptoms. But, you need to know what to do should they occur.)

The symptoms to be concerned about include but are not limited to:
staggering, uncoordinated movements, 'drunken' walk, wobbling, balance problems
ataxia - usually lack of muscular coordination, but maybe changes in head and neck movements
disorientation (yowling, walking in circles, etc.)
twitching
stupor
convulsions or seizures
coma
If your cat is testing in low numbers and you are not getting a quick response to your post, there are several things you need to do. (Low numbers are under 50mg/dL or 2.8 mmol/L.)

Depending on how carbohydrate sensitive your cat is, feed approximately a teaspoon or less of gravy from high carb food or high carb food only.
(If you have a cat with GI issues, using a couple of drops of syrup plus low carb food is an alternative.)
Test again in 15 – 20 min. Depending on the numbers, give more HC food.
Repeat the above steps every 15 – 20 min. until your cat tests in the 50 mg/dL (2.8 mmol/L) or above range for 2 consecutive tests. Continue to feed in small amounts to keep numbers in a safe range.
Test in 30 - 40 min. and repeat the test and feed process until there are 2 consecutive tests where numbers are stable or rising.
Test in an hour and follow the same steps.
DO NOT become complacent. If number have risen after one or two tests, it’s important to continue testing. Numbers may bobble up and down as the HC food and/or Karo wear off. DO NOT get one test where your cat has risen from low numbers into the 50s and go to sleep or leave the house. You are putting your cat in a risky situation. When in doubt, leave HC food out.

In the case of an accidental overdose or should there be symptoms of hypoglycemia, even if you have caught this in the early stages, you may need to monitor for literally 16 or more hours. Lantus and Levemir are long acting types of insulin. This means if your cat is over dose, you will need to stay alert for hours in order to closely monitor and to keep your cat safe.

Please post your numbers. Those people who are helping you will not abandon you. In fact, they are staying up with you. The experienced people will even work in shifts to make sure your cat is safe and you have the support you need. Remember to refresh your browser to see new posts and keep posting so we know all is well.

~ written by Sienne and Gabby





*** Suggestions made are intended for use with the Tight Regulation Protocol with Lantus or Levemir for Diabetic Cats ***



Be prepared:
SYMPTOMS OF & HOW TO TREAT HYPOGLYCEMIA - what to do if your kitty experiences a hypoglycemic event
Jojo's HYPO TOOLBOX - what to have on hand in case of an emergency
Last edited by Libby and Lucy on Mon Nov 18, 2013 4:33 pm, edited 26 times in total.
Reason: update and clarify "Data Ready" section
Jill & Alex (GA)
 
I shoot him in about 70 minutes. I just put that there early.
But thats what he has earned.
"Ya feeling like a pro at this already? "
Almost! I can see by his charts that he is trending down.
I can see him drifting lower over the next few weeks and I would not be shocked if he earned another dose decrease.
The surf thing is what I am trying to do. :smile:
It's hard not to panic, and it's hard to get a ear poke without his head in a bowl of something.
I try to give him as less as possible highly watered down when I test him.

Also,I can say that both meters read accurately at that low number. The Pet Meter read 64 and the Human meter read 33.
They were both 6-7points under the danger zones for each chart(40 human, 70 pet).
 
i remember the first time punkin got a 32 - i gave him about 1/2 can of high carb and then posted and asked for advice. Adrenaline gets going on the 30's!

:mrgreen:

Obie is looking very good.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top