9/29 Nellie AMPS 55 + 2.5 55 +4 48 +5 55 +6 85 +8.5 43 +9 59 PMPS +72

Skyynett

Member Since 2022
@Bandit's Mom @tiffmaxee @Wendy&Neko

Today has been a day. Started in the AM with her throwing up bile so having to wait to give her the shot. She's not super hungry today, but did get some of her favorite broth. Mid day, she earns a reduction and she gets HC, which she has been eating. I was very surprised when on a whim I test her at 8.5 and she is at 43. She ate HC again with no problem.

She's been having diarrhea, which always makes her appetite decrease. The Churu tends to cause it, but I have to give it to her to get her to eat. So it gets to be a vicious circle. I am hoping it will pass soon, as it usually does, but will be asking her vet for an appetite stimulant. She is not hiding or lethargic, she is acting normal despite the difficulty getting her to eat her LC regular food.

In the meantime, I don't know if I should give her her new reduced (3.25) shot tonight. I'm especially worried since I have to keep feeding her now to get her over 50 and she therefore might not be hungry by then. I'm leaning towards skipping or giving a token dose of 2 units. Figured I'd post now to give it some time.
 
I would try an anti nausea medication first, specifically ondansetron. You don't want to give an appetite stimulant to a cat that is nauseous. Address nausea first. Often that'll get them eating by itself.

Have you tried other creamy treat brands besides Churu? Maybe something in it makes gives her diarrhea?

Did she eat overnight? Sometimes bile can be caused by too long between food, though the results is more likely foamy vomit.

Maybe get a +11 and post again. It's hard to guess where she'll go between now and PMPS.
 
Ok sounds good I will ask for Ondansetron. I've been reading on here about nausea and it does seem like that is the cause.

Unfortunately, so many of the creamy treat brands have chicken in them. I do need to do some more research to see if I can find other ones. The Churu definitely gives her the diarrhea, or makes it worse if she already has it. I was so excited when I first found them since she will always eat it and it doesn't contain chicken :(

She got a snack at +4 last night but didn't finish it. I do think I need to set up the feeder to give her at least a pm snack at +5 - she seems particularly sensitive to too long in between food. Also, she is prone to hairballs which never helps.

Ok I will post at +11. She is back up to 59 at +9. I hope I can take a break from testing since shes gotten so many pricks today :/ but will keep an eye on her.
 
If she can do fish, some of the lickable treats (Tiki Stix one example) have no chicken. Tiki also has one that is duck, but chicken is still the 3rd ingredient. Sometimes just lowering the amount helps. And most of the brands are coming out with some type of purree/creamy treat sticks, so it pays to look around.
 
@Wendy&Neko her +11 is 70. I’m very doubtful that she will eat at shot time. I’m wondering if I just wait an hour or two and be off schedule. Or if she eats just enough to be able to give her a token dose…
 
I feel for you! Simon was also allergic to chicken and it was in absolutely everything! I did end up relying on both ondansetron and Cerenia to help him with nausea. I hope you find something that works for you :bighug:
 
Thankful to know other folks know the pain of chicken allergies!! Hoping I can get my vet on board with anti nausea meds.

ended up 30 min late (so 1hr past her ideal time) but she ate enough to give her the new reduced dose. Have a feeling tonight might require close attention.
 
Back
Top