9/29 Neko PMPS 316 +3 162 +5.5 60 +6.5 115

Status
Not open for further replies.

Wendy&Neko

Member Since 2012
Moderator
Yesterday Neko started with a red grr_red then broke that bounce in a rather spectacular fashion to a our lowest ever PS, then doing some deep sea diving in the wee hours, just as Marje predicted. :o Thanks to Jane for providing companionship in the otherwise quiet house. :-D

9/28 Recap:
AMPS 425 +4 263 +6 171 +8 89 :mrgreen: +8.5 80 :mrgreen: +9 87 :mrgreen:
PMPS 102 +2 132 +3.5 84 :mrgreen: +4.5 43 :mrgreen: +5 72 :mrgreen: +6 96 :mrgreen: +7 117

Just to confound me, Neko showed the two extremes of nadiring yesterday. When she comes down from a high, she has often done a late nadir - in this case +8.5 in the AM. When she has a low start, then I've seen it as early as +4.5, which is what I saw last night. I declare the experiment of raising the dose a spectacular failure, and I'm going to have to learn to be more patient. Where have I heard that before? :lol:

Today is recovery day, meaning the beans can do errands while the kitties sleep in the solarium. The morning cloud layer is breaking up and the sun is peaking through.
 
Re: 9/29 Neko AMPS 408 +3.5 393

Wow...I'm going to be really disappointed if anything happens to my crystal ball :lol: :lol: :lol: Sorry I didn't manage to stay up for the drama ;-)

And speaking of drama...someone is being a bit of a drama queen today...eh Miss Neko??

d641539c2c2f.jpg
 
Re: 9/29 Neko AMPS 408 +3.5 393 +5 286 +7.5 238

Wowzas Neko!!! looks like I missed out on watching the drama channel last night! Nice work Wendy! I'm glad you had a rest day as you just never know what the little princess might have up her sleeve.
 
Re: 9/29 Neko AMPS 408 +3.5 393 +5 286 +7.5 238

+5 286 +7.5 238
Neko is slowly getting rid of the bounce sugars. She is out for another yard patrol so hopefully burning off a bit more now.

@Jane - I'm going to try to add a few links to my condo later for acro reading. Libby has a great compilation and I think I've bookmarked a few more. There isn't a lot to read on IAA and as the saying goes "acro trumps IAA" for kitties that have both. It is supposed to be self limiting but can take 6-12 months to clear. You just have to be aggressive and keep on going up. Sandy with Black Kitty is a great example of a IAA only cat.

@Marje - at least we are down to yellows now. :oops: :lol: I've done enough with Neko and lows that I can go solo, but it is nice to have Jane's company late at night. With my late PS start, that 43 was at 1:00AM our time so wasn't expecting too many people on. The drama queen is cute - I used to have a silver tabby persian who looked a lot like that picture, minus the crown of course! I had been wondering the last few days about whether we were overdose, hence the experiment to increase. In hindsight, patience pants were a better idea. There just isn't a lot of info out there about what to look for in dosing acro kitties that have undergone SRT. I think Julie once posted that it's when you "feel they need less insulin". I have been loosely following the guidelines from Dr. Timian, which is to lower when the nadir gets below 70-80. But I've been doing .5U deductions instead of 1 U because Neko's total insulin amounts are now smaller.
 
Re: 9/29 Neko AMPS 408 +3.5 393 +5 286 +7.5 238

I hope Neko clears the bounce for you soon. Hopefully you got caught up on things while Neko was high today.
 
Re: 9/29 Neko AMPS 408 +3.5 393 +5 286 +7.5 238

Hi Wendy - ah the red zone.... Mannie was there just the other day. I have yet to figure out what they find so fascinating there. Neko has had a great recovery today - back to the yellows. YAY! Nice that today was a recovery day - you had some time to catch up on things, maybe have some fun too.

We too ended up with a sunny day here: lots of AM clouds, but a sunny afternoon.

Have a great evening!
 
Re: 9/29 Neko AMPS 408 +3.5 393 +5 286 +7.5 238

I missed all the drama too, on Neko. Glad Jane was up with you and Neko. Hope you got all your errands done. Have a good weekend.
 
Re: 9/29 Neko AMPS 408 +3.5 393 +5 286 +7.5 238

You had such a beautiful day yesterday..Gorgeous numbers for Neko..So Ok she bounced today which most cats would..Everything you did was actually a success--Looks like she liked 3.75, but the 43, well.....
Look it's mostly trial & error here, which you know..You both have been through a lot..so Start looking at the great progress Neko & you have made. I think you are so brave, so dedicated, & patient..Yes patient, it just
goes with the territory here..Or if necessary we can send you the Patience Pants, they're for everyone!! ;-)
So, Hugs & Love from us--It's all good!
 
Re: 9/29 Neko PMPS 316

PMPS 316
A much better start to this cycle. I am still so tired from last night. I am hoping for a quiet night cycle. Tomorrow DH is rowing a single in a regatta and I want to be able to go and see it after Neko's morning test/feed/shoot, so shot time was 15 minute early today and will do the same tomorrow.

@Tamara - I am so hoping this little princess will bounce for a while yet and let me sleep.

@Carla - I got a few things done here today, Neko even wanted to help me with the scones I was making. :lol: I only got a short nap though.

@Michelle - a bit of shopping and baking today. I do so like these bounce days for catching up. I don't understand the fascination for the red floor either, thank goodness we started lower this PM. I'm also hoping she'll party hard tonight with the kitties and let me sleep!

@Ann - why is it kitties choose the time when most reasonable people should be sleeping to have some fun?! It is nice to have another LL'er around to pass the time in between tests.

@Roni - I tried those yellow patience pants for a while, but returned them to Marje. They were a bit tight for me! :lol: You are so right that this is all one great experiment and I do appreciate how much we have come down in dose so far in such a short time.
 
Re: 9/29 Neko PMPS 316

@Rhiannon - thanks, paws crossed on the sleepus here. Still have to wait a while for the +3 test to see what way that goes.

For anyone interested in a little light reading on acro cats, here are a couple of my favourite bookmarks.
Acromegaly and other high dose conditions: What we know

acromegaly - the basics - hope you read n like Julie added a post with some links to some of the research papers.

acromegaly - interesting posts from the past unfortunately a lot of the links were to the old board which have been disabled but there are still some current in there.

Julie's reflections on one year after diagnosis This one has a great discussion on dosing protocols, common lore, and how to get to learn how your cat responds.
 
Re: 9/29 Neko PMPS 316 +3 162

Those links are fab, Wendy, thank you!! I shall start reading at once over my first cuppa :lol: The first one and the fourth one are new to me, but obviously I am sorely lacking regarding the middle two, as well, so read, read, read is the order of the morning!

Nice-looking (+3) there, Miss Neko!
Hugs and Happy Sunday,
Jane

P.S. Thanks so much for your post in KCC - that means a great deal to me :smile:
 
Re: 9/29 Neko PMPS 316 +3 162 +5.5 60

+5.5 60
Gooood morning Jane! We're back and so is :mrgreen: . Good ole shed is talking tonight. I need my ZZZZ's so Neko finished noshing on some HC and I'll be back in an hour to make sure she's up. The thing I found interesting about the 4th article is that there is how little scientific research there is yet on dosing acrocats. A lot of what is known is based on experience of acro owners. Given that before Neko there were less than 35 cats who had SRT at CSU (others had SRT elsewhere, but lower numbers), we aren't talking very many cats so data is scarce. Enjoy that ~O) ~O) .
 
Neko sure can be sensitive to that HC. Next time she dives in the green muck during the day I think an MC experiment is in order. I'm off the board until my AM now. Ni ni.
 
Wendy - thank you for the links. I started reading and have learned a lot. What a challenge - I had no idea that it was related to diabetes in this way. Neko is a lucky lucky PRETTY BEAUTIFUL girlcat!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top