9/29 Mr.Cat AMPS 84 +3 85 +6 93 PMPS 99

Status
Not open for further replies.

Jess and MrCat

Member Since 2013
For the past two mornings, Mr.Cat's AMPS has been 132 and 135 (quite a bit higher than normal). Folks on this site recommended that I feed him 3 hours before his AMPS to see if his BG comes down. But I did not feed Mr.Cat 3 hours before his AMPS today (same as the past two days) because I wanted to try an experiment. If I fed him at +9 today and his numbers changed, I wouldn't know if his BG changed on its own (i.e. I would be changing the experiment by introducing food instead of watching it play out). I figured... if his numbers went up, I would have three days of similar data to determine if he needed a dose increase. If his numbers went down, I would know that it wasn't the food at +9 causing his BG to go down. My experiment may not be protocol, but Mr.Cat is a good guinea pig and I thought one more day of experimenting would't hurt.
Much to my surprise, without food for 7.5 hours, Mr.Cat's AMPS was 84 today!

So, I thought, what changed over the past two days?

Well, I failed to mention on this forum two days ago that Mr.Cat seemed to have a tummy ache (AMPS 132). I noticed him walking funny all day and I just had a sense that he had an upset stomach. He was eating fine but something was a little off.
Yesterday, he drank a lot of water before his AMPS. He then went out to the patio to eat grass so he could throw up a hairball. He ate the grass, I tested his BG (AMPS 135), and he then threw up water and grass.... but no hairball. I tested him again at +4 (77), he ate a little, and I left home until later that evening. I got home and he still seemed "off" so I gave him some olive oil. He gulped it down and a few hours later, felt obviously much better. I think the oil pushed the hairball into his digestive tract (no more tummy ache).

Fast forward to this morning, his BG was 84 after 7.5 hours with no food. So.... here is my question for the day......
Could a stuck hairball raise BG until it passes?

Yesterday...
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=105355
 
Re: 9/29 Mr.Cat AMPS 84 +3 85 +6 93

Anything that causes a kitty stress can cause BG to rise. If hairballs cause him stress, it could have an effect on his BG numbers.
 
Re: 9/29 Mr.Cat AMPS 84 +3 85 +6 93

Thanks! I think he was definitely stressed about the hairball - especially when it didn't come up after he ate grass. Thanks for the input!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top