9/29 Doodle AMPS 87 +2/75 +4/60 +6/62 +11.5/63 PMPS 74

Status
Not open for further replies.

JenniferF

Member Since 2014
He's decreasing so I'm hesitant to shoot. Will probably stall until 1pm any later I will have to skip
 
Re: 9/29 Doodle AMBG 92 at 11am, 80at 11:45am SHOOT???

If you are going to be home to monitor, and have all the supplies you need, you can shoot since he's coming up. I am guessing you haven't fed yet, so the food he eats will probably raise his numbers a little too.
 
Re: 9/29 Doodle AMBG 92 at 11am, 80at 11:45am SHOOT???

No he has not eaten. I'm here with all the goodies and will get his +1, +2
 
Re: 9/29 Doodle AMPS 87 +2/75 +4/60 +6/62 +11.5/63

he hasn't really moved BG all day. Is it safe to shoot PM shot?
 
Yes another reduction. He was at 36 at +3.5. But have to take him to the vet. Right after I tested his +3.5 he threw up. A LOT all undigested food (tiki cat is strips of chicken so that's what it still looked like). I fed him some human chicken, about 3 bites, after trying A/D, FF and babyfood that were all refused. He threw up again at +4.5 and had diarrhea. It doesnt' seem like those are hypo symptoms but can they be? It's now +7 and he still won't eat. He did throw up the other day but we have a lot of stress going on here and he is a sensitive cat so I just thought it was that.
 
Sorry Doodle isn't feeling well. If a lot of stress, it could be pancreatitis. Stress brings it on for Max. He doesn't vomit much from it though, just loses his appy. Ask your vet for cerenia to have at home for nausea and vomiting. I also have ondansetron, a human drug that my vet gives me a script for, for nausea without vomiting. If pancreatitis is suspected I'd ask your vet to run the fPL blood test. I think I remember that you thought Doodle might have it but I may be thinking of someone else.

On a brighter note, what a beautiful cycle yesterday!!
 
I hate to bump up yesterday's post, but wanted to give you the list below of hypo symptoms. 36 isn't usually a number that gives symptoms, but i can't say for sure that's not the cause. It could be a coincidence.

I hope he's feeling better today and keeping food down. Err on the side of caution with his dose today if you think he's still got a stomach/digestive upset.

from the Low Numbers sticky:

DON'T PANIC! or HOW TO HANDLE LOW NUMBERS

First, try to not panic. Post to the Lantus Insulin Support Group or on the Health Board. Make sure your subject line indicates you are concerned about a possible hypo and/or add the 911 icon to the first post in your condo. People who are experienced in dealing with low numbers will be there to help. After posting, remember to refresh your browser periodically to see if people have replied.

It’s important to recognize that just because your cat may be experiencing low BG numbers doesn’t mean that your kitty is critically hypoglycemic. Many cats will have low numbers and never have symptoms. It’s important, though, to bring those numbers up into a safe range. ALWAYS make sure you have a stock of test strips, high carb (HC) canned food that contains gravy and is over 15% carb such as Fancy Feast grilled, marinated, or Gravy Lovers varieties (see Dr. Lisa's Cat Food Nutritional Composition List for a full list of options), and/or a simple sugar solution such as Karo/corn syrup, honey, maple syrup, etc.

If your cat is experiencing symptoms, especially if those symptoms are severe, you need to rub Karo syrup, honey, or maple syrup on the gums or, if symptoms are very severe, administer rectally and get your cat to the nearest 24-hour emergency facility. Take the bottle of syrup with you to administer on the way if necessary. (Note that it is rare that we see episodes of symptomatic hypoglycemia with Lantus and even rarer to see severe symptoms. But, you need to know what to do should they occur.)

The symptoms to be concerned about include but are not limited to:
staggering, uncoordinated movements, 'drunken' walk, wobbling, balance problems
ataxia - usually lack of muscular coordination, but maybe changes in head and neck movements
disorientation (yowling, walking in circles, etc.)
twitching
stupor
convulsions or seizures
coma
If your cat is testing in low numbers and you are not getting a quick response to your post, there are several things you need to do. (Low numbers are under 50mg/dL or 2.8 mmol/L.)


Depending on how carbohydrate sensitive your cat is, feed approximately a teaspoon or less of gravy from high carb food or high carb food only.
(If you have a cat with GI issues, using a couple of drops of syrup plus low carb food is an alternative.)
Test again in 15 – 20 min. Depending on the numbers, give more HC food.
Repeat the above steps every 15 – 20 min. until your cat tests in the 50 mg/dL (2.8 mmol/L) or above range for 2 consecutive tests. Continue to feed in small amounts to keep numbers in a safe range.
Test in 30 - 40 min. and repeat the test and feed process until there are 2 consecutive tests where numbers are stable or rising.
Test in an hour and follow the same steps.
DO NOT become complacent. If number have risen after one or two tests, it’s important to continue testing. Numbers may bobble up and down as the HC food and/or Karo wear off. DO NOT get one test where your cat has risen from low numbers into the 50s and go to sleep or leave the house. You are putting your cat in a risky situation. When in doubt, leave HC food out.

In the case of an accidental overdose or should there be symptoms of hypoglycemia, even if you have caught this in the early stages, you may need to monitor for literally 16 or more hours. Lantus and Levemir are long acting types of insulin. This means if your cat is over dose, you will need to stay alert for hours in order to closely monitor and to keep your cat safe.

Please post your numbers. Those people who are helping you will not abandon you. In fact, they are staying up with you. The experienced people will even work in shifts to make sure your cat is safe and you have the support you need. Remember to refresh your browser to see new posts and keep posting so we know all is well.

~ written by Sienne and Gabby
 
I do not think it was hypo. I had all my books out with stuff I have printed from here. I was testing him and he increased without eating. He had this same episode when I first got him from what we concluded was stress related. It started when we moved some stuff, he does not like loud noises and FREAKS out when strangers come over. The other day when he threw up I totally related it to stress, it has been very stressful here planning our move and one of my other cats gets these moments of being a real pain in the butt (however he and Doodle are best friends so I don't think that bothers him the way it bothers my other cats). Maybe pancreatitis.

Right now vet is blaming my "micro managing" of his insulin as the reason why. That was a huge discussion. He doesn't want me to give insulin under 150, said that's what his other patient's follow and they don't have the problems that I do. Wanted me to pay for a fructosomine test because he doesn't trust my numbers and also to do a curve. I told him I test enough that I don't need to pay him for it. I ended up just getting blood work done and will have results tomorrow. he didn't give me anything else, wanted results first. Said not a big deal that he hasn't eaten because his last meal was at 12:30am this morning.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top