9/29 Clare AMPS 388 PMBG 382; +2.5 370 Missed Shot-Options?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Georgette and Clare

Member Since 2014
Good Morning, Lantus Land Neighbors!

Yesterday's Slow Bounce Condo

We're sending healing thoughts and hugs out to all the kitties and beans who need them this morning.

Today's News:

AMPS: 388
+5.3: 103
+6: 128

PMBG: 380 (Shot missed)
+2.5: 370

DH just told me that he missed doing the PM shot. It's about +2.75 now. What options do we have? Thanks.


We were slow waking up this morning. It seems so odd to be waking up in the dark. Not to the kitties, though. They were more than ready for their breakfast! Clare has all 5 p's going for her this morning. She's here with me, checking out the computer screen.

Have a good day, Everyone!

Georgette and Clare
 
Re: 9/29 Clare AMPS 388 Kidney Insufficiency - What food?

Clare's most recent labs shows that she has kidney insufficiency, our vet said today. So we could use your help once again. What foods would you recommend?

Thanks to all,

Georgette and Clare
 
Re: 9/29 Clare AMPS 388 Kidney Insufficiency - What food?

I'm sorry about the kidney issues. Many of our LL kitties have them, including Trix. By any chance, can you get a copy of Clare's labs that you can then post on her SS? If you take a look at Trix's SS, you'll see I have a labs tab with her values (which reminds me, I have to update that with her latest round of BW :oops: !)

There are others here who are MUCH better versed in kidney issues than I am (Marje is a kidney genius!), but the short version is you want to try feeding a food that is low carb and low phosphorous. If you look at Ann's SS for Tess, she has a food tab that narrows down the search for you...it is very helpful! Not all kitties will eat the low phos food, though (Trix is one of those kitties), and if that's the case, you can use a phosphate binder to help reduce the phosphorous.

That's just the tip of the iceberg to get you started. Multiple health issues becomes a juggling act, but especially thanks to this amazing, knowledgeable group that we belong to, it's manageable.
 
Re: 9/29 Clare AMPS 388 Kidney Insufficiency - What food?

Hi. The first step like Amy said is to get the full lab report and post it here. You can add a tab to your ss so you can update as news labs are obtained. The most important numbers for kidney are the creatinine and to a lesser extent BUN as the latter is diet sensitive. A urinalysis is important and if one was done what was the urine specific gravity? That will tell is she is concentrating her urine or not. I wouldn't ever decide what to do based on one set of labs as USG can vary and so can all the other levels depending on whether the blood was drawn on a fast or not and how well hydrated she was at the time of blood draw. There is a really informative site, crf.org once you get all the info. Depending on those results will help you decide when to get a second set.
 
Re: 9/29 Clare AMPS 388 Kidney Insufficiency - What food?

Thanks, Amy and Elise!

We're getting a copy of the lab report and I'll work on adding a tab to Clare's ss tonight.

We didn't have urinalysis done last Thursday when we went in -- we hadn't had kidney issues with Clare before. So we'll have that done asap.

Thanks for being so helpful and hopeful, and focused. It seems like we are juggling quite a bit just now and being "teaspoon-fed" the basics to help with the most pressing issues over the next couple of days will keep me going.

Gratefully,

Georgette and Clare
 
Re: 9/29 Clare AMPS 388 Kidney Insufficiency - What food?

many diabetic cats have kidney issues - punkin did too. One thing that makes those labs easier is if you copy the first couple of columns on someone else's lab "tab" of their ss. You can copy punkin's if you want. All the tests are the same by the labs, although the reference range (or normal range) varies from lab to lab. You'll have to either enter in the reference ranges or copy the column and then double check and correct them on Clare's ss.

I printed out the first 3 pages of Dr. Lisa's catinfo.org phosphorus list, then went through and circled all the low carb ones. That portion of the list has everything under 200mg phosphorus, which is a good upper limit for the regular food when you're starting out.

Took that list to 4 local stores and checked their cat food section to see what i could get locally.

Then i brought home samples to give punkin and anya. From that, I ended up just going with the Friskies Special Diet (not senior diet) Turkey & Giblets. It was 5gr carbs and 189 mg phosphorus. I bought it at Kmart. They just got the same thing over and over again, but didn't seem to mind too much.

Don't let it overwhelm you - it's not as bad as that sounds. Punkin's lab values actually improved into normal range once I switched him away from Fancy Feast (extraordinarily high in phosphorus!) to the Friskies. Take it one step at a time. :YMHUG:
 
Re: 9/29 Clare AMPS 388 Kidney Insufficiency - What food?

Sorry to hear about Clare's kidney issues. You'll find lots of support and help here on dealing with it.
 
Re: 9/29 Clare AMPS 388 Kidney Insufficiency - What food?

Thanks for your visits and advice, Carla and Julie!

I downloaded the phosphorous list that you linked me to, Julie. That is really helpful -- thank you! I think we already have a couple of the LC/LP options and we'll look for more.

I'll start on the spreadsheet for the labs but it might take me awhile. Thanks for the boost from Punkin's sheet; that will give me a good start.

Do you think it's a good idea to start using Pepcid (or something like that) with Clare sooner rather than later, so that she doesn't develop a food aversion? She was vomiting this morning but then dug into her food later on, so I don't think she's avoiding it yet.

Thanks so much for the wisdom and encouragement,

Georgette and Clare
 
Re: 9/29 Clare AMPS 388 PMBG 382; +2.5 370 Missed Shot-Opti

DH just told me that he missed doing the PM shot. It's about +2.75 now. What options do we have? Thanks.

Georgette and Clare
 
Re: 9/29 Clare AMPS 388 PMBG 382; +2.5 370 Missed Shot-Opti

Option 1 - skip.
Option 2 - shoot now and work your way back to regular time by 15 minutes a shot or 1/2 once a day.
Option 3 - try the 18 hour schedule where you shoot at +18 tonight (I know that'll be a horrible hour), then +18 after that. That will bring you back on schedule.

What works for you?
 
Re: 9/29 Clare AMPS 388 PMBG 382; +2.5 370 Missed Shot-Opti

Hi Wendy,

Thanks for the options. I talked with DH and he said the best one for us would be to skip. What are the likely implications for Clare?

Georgette
 
Re: 9/29 Clare AMPS 388 PMBG 382; +2.5 370 Missed Shot-Opti

She'll be higher in the morning but should get back on track in a few cycles. You are going to be away for tomorrow morning's cycle too? you could still give her a bit of insulin tonight if you are going to skip tomorrow's cycle. It doesn't have to be at +18.
 
Re: 9/29 Clare AMPS 388 PMBG 382; +2.5 370 Missed Shot-Opti

Hi Wendy,

We'll be able to give her her shot at the regular time (6 AM) but won't be able to monitor her after that. DH will check on the cats in mid-morning but will need to be with me (I'm having surgery) in the middle of the day when Clare's nadir usually is. He'll be back home for the PM shot and cycle and AM on Wednesday, and I should be home by the Wednesday PM cycle and we'll be back to normal. We had decided to lower her dose tonight and tomorrow morning to 0.25, to keep her safe.

Would it be better to give her some insulin now and then the 0.25 at 6 AM, or just skip her shot completely?

Thanks,

Georgette
 
Re: 9/29 Clare AMPS 388 PMBG 382; +2.5 370 Missed Shot-Opti

what about giving her some insulin tonight before you go to bed, then skipping the morning shot? DH could give the next shot later Monday, whenever he's home after being with you, so he could monitor in the evening. Then skip the pm shot and get back on track on Wednesday morning.

so you'd give regular dose tonight. (looks like you gave 0.25u)
tomorrow afternoon post-surgery give regular shot.
give regular shot on Wednesday morning.

whatever you decide, i would try not to worry too much. As wendy said, she'll get back on track by the end of the week or so.

i'll be thinking of you tomorrow. Hope all goes well for you, georgette, and you're home before you know it. :YMHUG:
 
Re: 9/29 Clare AMPS 388 PMBG 382; +2.5 370 Missed Shot-Opti

I would skip tonight and give her some tomorrow morning. With the skip tonight she should be safe tomorrow while you are gone. I had thought you were missing tomorrow morning's shot which is why I suggested something later tonight. Now you can sleep well tonight.

Tons of good surgery vines going your way for tomorrow.
 
Re: 9/29 Clare AMPS 388 PMBG 382; +2.5 370 Missed Shot-Opti

Julie and Wendy, thanks so much for your caring guidance.

Since my DH is in charge tomorrow and he appreciates our catly routine, we decided to skip the shot and get back on the regular schedule right away tomorrow morning; but with the reduced dose.

He's been doing great (e.g. he read the low phosph chart and went out to get the new food for Clare right away today) but I think he may be feeling a bit daunted by taking all this on alone for awhile, so whatever we can do to get both him and the cat back on track ASAP will be good. :smile:

What would I do without you both? Thanks so much!!

Georgette and Clare
 
Re: 9/29 Clare AMPS 388 PMBG 382; +2.5 370 Missed Shot-Opti

Well I see we postef at the same time and gave you different ideas. That's ok, there is more than one way to do most everything.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top