9/28 Sarge AMPS 343

Status
Not open for further replies.

Alison & Sarge

Member Since 2014
It is a beautiful Sunday morning in my neck of the woods and I hope all of you can say the same. I love to hear the crickets chirping...even if they are just over yonder in the toad's tank.

AMPS 343
A typical start to the day for Sarge. Hopefully greener AM pastures ahead.

Happy Sunday!



What Sarge was up to yesterday viewtopic.php?f=9&t=126067&p=1304155#p1304155.
 
Did you get any tests in the pm cycle yesterday? I'm just wondering if he cleared the bounce last night from the pm cycle of 9/24. That would've been 3 days.

If you can get 3 consecutive days of a preshot and a mid-cycle and you don't see anything green, I'd increase his dose by 0.25u. You need that 3 consecutive days so that you can be sure there aren't any hidden low numbers in there and you aren't just looking at bounce cycles. Overall it looks to me like Sarge needs a little more insulin, but i can't say for sure until you've got a little more data.

Tight Regulation Protocol
Increasing the dose:
Hold the dose for 3 - 5 days (6 - 10 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are less than 200 before increasing the dose by 0.25 unit.
if your cat is new to numbers under 200, it is recommended to hold the dose for at least 8-10 cycles before increasing.
when your cat starts to see nadirs under 100, hold the dose for at least 10 cycles before increasing.
After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 200, but less than 300 increase the dose by 0.25 unit.
After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 300 increase the dose by 0.5 unit.

Here's a good post for new members about Should I increase the Dose? It's located in the New to the Group sticky, at the bottom in the list of single-topic links.

It's beautiful here, too, Alison! 60's and sunny - I'm planning on making cookies today. nom nom nom :-D

Have a great day!
 
Mmmm, cookies! It maybe that he has settled back into pink/yellow again and the bounce is clear. Unless, he is going low on nights when his PMPS is 300. I was sick last night and didn't get in my usual 1am test. I did get a +7.5 hour test in today (9/30) and he was 274. I'm pretty sure we haven't hit green for awhile unless it has been very late at night and I am missing it. I am still trying to figure out when his lowest point of the day is. If he is going to go low it usually happens by hour 5 but in a regular cycle I think the lowest test comes in at about 7 hours. So should I test at 6 hours, true mid-cycle or what seems to be his lowest time?
 
rather than always testing at a particular + time, it helps to vary the testing times. I wrote this for someone else recently:

I think of the spreadsheet like a jigsaw puzzle. If you have only the corners and edge pieces, it's pretty hard to see what the picture is. But if you have pieces spread here and there all over the puzzle, it becomes easier to decipher the picture. That's exactly what the spreadsheet is for us. It helps us to see what the Lantus is doing when we can see the past 3 or more days with a sprinkling of tests here and there. Right now you've done a super job of getting tests in - it's giving us edge pieces and a couple of stripes down the middle of the "puzzle." It would really help to see some variety in the test times. Does your schedule allow you to get some different times? Your plan for a +4 and +8 today is super.

I'd suggest one day getting a +2 or +3, then maybe a +5 (since you have a lot of +6's), or +8, and then in the evening cycle get some different times, maybe a +4 or right before you go to bed. Your total per day doesn't necessarily need to be more tests, just vary the times. Does that make sense?

As you get more data, the picture will become clearer. Hang in there, Alison! :-D
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top