9/28 Ollie AMPS 173 PMPS 112

Status
Not open for further replies.

Ollie(GA) & Patsy

Member Since 2011
http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=53062

After a one time shot reduction last night (3u instead of 4.5u) Ollie still hit green last night. I fell asleep on the couch and never found out what he did around nadir last night. :roll: A full night's sleep was so nice :-D

This morning he was 173 at PS and I gave him the 4.5u....at +2 he's 76. I am feeding him again to see if he'll surf today in the 70's.

These are wonderful numbers and best of all he looks and seems to feel wonderful. I guess if you have a shed the size of Lake Michigan :lol: this is how it goes. I expected a day or so of higher numbers but Ollie has his own ideas.

Hope everyone has a nice day....beautiful day here in Boston... low 70's and sunny with a sea breeze. Off to tbp soon.
 
Re: 9/28 Ollie AMPS 173, +2 76

A 100 point drop by +2 is Ollie yelling at you to pay attention. I'd get a +2.5 and see where he is.

Just an FYI - what you saw last night was Ollie's shed carrying over into the PM cycle despite the reduction. Sometimes, you don't see the effect of the reduction in that cycle.
 
Re: 9/28 Ollie AMPS 173, +2 76, +3 57

Ollie doesn't want to stay out of the 50's. I'm not complaining, it's just too low for me to be able to leave him. I have brought out the MC food. Today there is no way I can miss work....next stop unemployment.

Need some advice...if I left him to his own and not fed the low he would go under 50 today. I don't think I want to stay at the 4.5u dose if I have to feed him MC everyday to keep him from going too low. I also don't want to do something stupid because I don't have the experience. Maybe this is still shed action and my panic (yes I am a bit) is unfounded.
 
Re: 9/28 Ollie AMPS 173, +2 76, +3 57

Hi guys .. yep, that was a pretty good drop in just two hours .. I hope the MC brings him back up and he surfs beautifully for you for the rest of the day! Have a great day guys!
 
Re: 9/28 Ollie AMPS 173, +2 76, +3 57

Patsy:

larger doses can affect up to three subsequent cycles......just some info to keep in mind. That's why one would not want to do reductions on two b2b cycles....it's likely carryover from the higher dose.

It's nice to see him in such great numbers. You are doing super!!

Thank you so much for all your support and compassionate words for us in the last several days. LL peeps are the absolute best and we love you all.
 
Re: 9/28 Ollie AMPS 173, +2 76, +3 57

Marje & Gracie said:
larger doses can affect up to three subsequent cycles.....
I'm hoping Marje didn't communicate this well. If you are consistently giving a dose, regardless of the amount, it can have an effect on the next cycle. Taking what Marje is saying literally, I'm not sure I'm following. The dose is the dose -- whether it's large or small, it's what the cat needs. Lantus does have a cumulative effect but to say that a large dose can effect up to the next 3 cycles strikes me as an over generalization. In the grand scheme of things Oliie isn't on a "large" dose and his shed isn't the size of Lake Michigan. (With some of our acro kitties, this may be more the case.)

That said...
If you are finding that you have to fight (i.e., use HC consistently) to keep Ollie's numbers up, then it's time to reduce the dose. With many cats, once they reach a break through dose, they can come down the dose ladder quickly -- and it's tougher on the bean than feeling frustrated with high numbers. How you manage Ollie's numbers is going to have to be a combination of what we know from the Tight Regulation Protocol, staying ahead of his shed, and you're knowledge of Ollie. If you find that a dose reduction isn't holding, bring the dose back up ASAP. You do not want to lose this momentum.
 
Re: 9/28 Ollie AMPS 173, +2 76, +3 57

I think I have a better understanding from the above posts. Thank you for posting Devon, Marje and Sienne.

Alot of what I have determined I'm feeling is fear. I fear leaving Ollie during the day with the low numbers...I also fear losing my job staying home making sure the numbers don't go too low. Many years ago I lost my Dad to diabetes...he went too low. Feeding Ollie HC just seems wrong to me but I do understand. and am glad to have it as a tool. The 35 reading yesterday humbled me...this whole disease upsets me...but I need to learn to deal with it.

Sienne...it's good to know you don't think he's on a large dose....he did seem to be heading that way but has made a sharp uturn in the last week. The idea we may have hit a breakthru gives me hope and I better put on my big girl pants and not mess Ollie's chances up. The weekend is coming so I will be able to monitor him better. Maybe by then he will settle into a dose that will ease my mind. I bet there are a lot of people that wouldn't mind having this situation...he's doing well and I don't want to complain. I just have to get a handle on my fears.

Thank you for helping :oops:
 
Re: 9/28 Ollie AMPS 173, +2 76, +3 57

Patsy, You need to get an auto feeder for the times you are out! They really like eating out of it, like it's a treat or something--You could put some LC & MC in it, so that while you are gone, you do not have to live in fear--OR you can leave out extra food before you leave--WHY????
Because a cat Will eat, if it feels itself dropping bgs...If food is out, Moonie will eat, when I am out all day,
every bit of food is gone--WHY?? Because Moonie has been free fed all along & knows that she needs to eat.
A Very wise FDMB person told me, push comes to shove, a cat will eat....Just a suggestion!
I do believe Ollie will eat while you are gone. Try it out--go out for a few hrs & just leave extra food out..see if it's gone when you return...Great numbers BTW! Hugs from us!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top