9/28 Gracie PMPS 145

Status
Not open for further replies.

Marje and Gracie

Member Since 2010
Moderator
Gracie's Yesterday

9/27 Recap:
AMPS: 258
+2.5: 285
+5: 290
+9: 291
PMPS: 289
+2.5: 285
+5: 293


Happy Friday!!! Thank you all for your wonderful, caring words of support yesterday as we honored the memory of our sweet GA Teddi Bear crossing the Rainbow Bridge a year ago. You all are so incredible and amazing for so many reasons.

I think I'd like to use our condo today as a lesson....especially for new members. It's about Patience. And everyone who has been in LL from when we were new, remembers that Patience has never been my strong suit and it's possible, if I remember correctly, that I coined the term "patience pants" and found some sexy yellow ones to pass around. Anyway, I sort of digressed.

Gracie was doing fairly well on sk+.75u and earned a reduction by going into the 30s. I reduced her to f.5u and she quickly earned another reduction to .5u. She was getting a little bouncy, so after 7 cycles, I gave her a tiny increase to a c.5u. I think about this time, the antibiotic had had enough time to kick in and the infection started to clear and she dove down which caused her bounce up. I dropped the dose to a sk.5u to level her out suspecting that her insulin needs had decreased due to the A/B...not because I had overdosed her. Then I waited 7 cycles for the bounce to clear. Then I took her up. I should have been patient and waited one more cycle just to be sure if the bounce had cleared or not. In hindsight, it hadn't...it took 9 cycles for it to clear but I had already increased her dose. It only took a few cycles for her to earn a reduction and I took her back to .5u and she was doing fairly well again....a little bouncy but improving every cycle. And then the pen went ppfftttt and her numbers went up. BUT, instead of changing pens right away, I took her dose up. I actually believe that these high, flat numbers are because she is overdose now and I have been waiting for the breakthrough. I hope that is what I am seeing today.

So....the lesson that even after two years I have a difficult time with....as do we all.... is changing courses with lantus/levemir takes time. I could have saved her all these high numbers all these cycles if I had just been a little more patient back when I first reduced her to .5u. Just one more day....but seeing her in pink when she hadn't been since last Feb just worried me....what the high numbers were doing to her little body. I hope that she will, in fact, break through now and start back down the dosing scale and get back to her normal numbers. And I hope that is a helpful lesson....Patience.

Sorry to be so late today....with her in high numbers, I've been trying to get alot of things done while I can. I hope to be on tonight and visit more condos than I did last night. Thinking of you all.
 
Re: 9/28 Gracie AMPS 257 +5.5 272 +9.5 159

Holding our breath that this is it! Come on Gracie, tonight is the night to get back to the Lagoon!
 
Re: 9/28 Gracie AMPS 257 +5.5 272 +9.5 159

A very interesting lesson Marje. I too would have thought 7 cycles would have been enough to show what a dose can do. There are so many factors in play with deductions earned, medications, and pen dying. Those yellow patience pants were rather slim and tight. It looks like little Miss Gracie is now starting to work the juice and telling you your time to do catch up and errands is over!
 
Re: 9/28 Gracie AMPS 257 +5.5 272 +9.5 159

HI Marje - I hope Gracie settles down.

Thanks for the lesson - you know I'm a newbie and I don't quite understand everything you were explaining. I'm having trouble with Leo doing long multicycle bouncing and I'm looking at another green cruise tonight. I know there are other big stress factors in his life, but I also get stressed seeing long strings of pinks and reds so I read your lesson with great interest.

I hope when you have time if you could give another lesson on this topic ... knowing when higher numbers are due to too high a dose. I clearly haven't shopped for enough Patience Pants. Thank you very much for all you do to help us understand.

Our best,
Lisa & Leo
 
Re: 9/28 Gracie AMPS 257 +5.5 272 +9.5 159

Hey Marje,
Thanks for the lesson. I'll be waiting to see what happens next with Gracie! I'm having patience problems with Rusty's dose, too. But all the factors are hard to sort out. I think my main problem is that I never got the conversion dose right when we went from Monojects to Terumos. But then he didn't have great numbers even before we switched. And the summer was full of disruptions. I think his needs have simply changed, probably owing to the mild pancreatitis he had in May, but maybe to the fact that he is getting older (we have no idea how old he is). So thanks for getting me to try to sort out these things in my mind!! We are going up a drop tomorrow.

Hugs to you all, and especially to my "other best boy", Tobey. I hope his eye is better.

Ella & Rusty

p.s. thanks for your kind words about Stu. I'm sure that he and Teddi have become good friends at the Bridge.
 
Please baby please...you can break through tonight!! Keep on keeping on!!! Auntie Ann said you had to!!

Lisa: I've got to give Gus his fluids but then I'll be happy to pop over to your condo and try to answer some questions.

Wendy: have you ever looked at Tucker's SS? Eight bounce cycles, a couple of high cycles probably due to no insulin, and then down he came. You can see PM cycle of 7/29....probably the high before the break. It's hard to say whether the next two cycles were bouncy because of the blue number or if the bounce had cleared and he was just high w/out juice.

Ella: I'm sorry you've been having a time with Rusty's numbers, too. I've looked at his numbers every day. I think if you look at Trixie's SS, you can see the same thing...her insulin needs have increased for whatever reason we don't know.
 
Come on, think green Gracie! You can do it! It's really really hard to have patience, Marje, when our babies are in dangerous, harmful numbers. We just want to fix them right now!
 
It's great to see Gracie back in the blues today!! She knows what to do next... :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: !

This is a great lesson on patience! And also on knowing thy feline ;-) As you are trying on your patience pants, just remember that Gracie is still bringing you the same Gracie attitude, loving, and antics! Actions speak louder than numbers ;-)
 
Looks like Gracie is working her way back down to Gracie numbers.

By any chance, do you think I've been impatient with Trix, have taken her up too quickly, and am now over dose? It seems we get one nice green cycle, she bounces, and never comes back down...but is that because I'm rushing the increases these days?? I'm curious to know your thoughts...today is a bounce day after yesterday's nice greens....
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top