Gracie's Yesterday
9/27 Recap:
AMPS: 258
+2.5: 285
+5: 290
+9: 291
PMPS: 289
+2.5: 285
+5: 293
Happy Friday!!! Thank you all for your wonderful, caring words of support yesterday as we honored the memory of our sweet GA Teddi Bear crossing the Rainbow Bridge a year ago. You all are so incredible and amazing for so many reasons.
I think I'd like to use our condo today as a lesson....especially for new members. It's about Patience. And everyone who has been in LL from when we were new, remembers that Patience has never been my strong suit and it's possible, if I remember correctly, that I coined the term "patience pants" and found some sexy yellow ones to pass around. Anyway, I sort of digressed.
Gracie was doing fairly well on sk+.75u and earned a reduction by going into the 30s. I reduced her to f.5u and she quickly earned another reduction to .5u. She was getting a little bouncy, so after 7 cycles, I gave her a tiny increase to a c.5u. I think about this time, the antibiotic had had enough time to kick in and the infection started to clear and she dove down which caused her bounce up. I dropped the dose to a sk.5u to level her out suspecting that her insulin needs had decreased due to the A/B...not because I had overdosed her. Then I waited 7 cycles for the bounce to clear. Then I took her up. I should have been patient and waited one more cycle just to be sure if the bounce had cleared or not. In hindsight, it hadn't...it took 9 cycles for it to clear but I had already increased her dose. It only took a few cycles for her to earn a reduction and I took her back to .5u and she was doing fairly well again....a little bouncy but improving every cycle. And then the pen went ppfftttt and her numbers went up. BUT, instead of changing pens right away, I took her dose up. I actually believe that these high, flat numbers are because she is overdose now and I have been waiting for the breakthrough. I hope that is what I am seeing today.
So....the lesson that even after two years I have a difficult time with....as do we all.... is changing courses with lantus/levemir takes time. I could have saved her all these high numbers all these cycles if I had just been a little more patient back when I first reduced her to .5u. Just one more day....but seeing her in pink when she hadn't been since last Feb just worried me....what the high numbers were doing to her little body. I hope that she will, in fact, break through now and start back down the dosing scale and get back to her normal numbers. And I hope that is a helpful lesson....Patience.
Sorry to be so late today....with her in high numbers, I've been trying to get alot of things done while I can. I hope to be on tonight and visit more condos than I did last night. Thinking of you all.
9/27 Recap:
AMPS: 258
+2.5: 285
+5: 290
+9: 291
PMPS: 289
+2.5: 285
+5: 293
Happy Friday!!! Thank you all for your wonderful, caring words of support yesterday as we honored the memory of our sweet GA Teddi Bear crossing the Rainbow Bridge a year ago. You all are so incredible and amazing for so many reasons.
I think I'd like to use our condo today as a lesson....especially for new members. It's about Patience. And everyone who has been in LL from when we were new, remembers that Patience has never been my strong suit and it's possible, if I remember correctly, that I coined the term "patience pants" and found some sexy yellow ones to pass around. Anyway, I sort of digressed.
Gracie was doing fairly well on sk+.75u and earned a reduction by going into the 30s. I reduced her to f.5u and she quickly earned another reduction to .5u. She was getting a little bouncy, so after 7 cycles, I gave her a tiny increase to a c.5u. I think about this time, the antibiotic had had enough time to kick in and the infection started to clear and she dove down which caused her bounce up. I dropped the dose to a sk.5u to level her out suspecting that her insulin needs had decreased due to the A/B...not because I had overdosed her. Then I waited 7 cycles for the bounce to clear. Then I took her up. I should have been patient and waited one more cycle just to be sure if the bounce had cleared or not. In hindsight, it hadn't...it took 9 cycles for it to clear but I had already increased her dose. It only took a few cycles for her to earn a reduction and I took her back to .5u and she was doing fairly well again....a little bouncy but improving every cycle. And then the pen went ppfftttt and her numbers went up. BUT, instead of changing pens right away, I took her dose up. I actually believe that these high, flat numbers are because she is overdose now and I have been waiting for the breakthrough. I hope that is what I am seeing today.
So....the lesson that even after two years I have a difficult time with....as do we all.... is changing courses with lantus/levemir takes time. I could have saved her all these high numbers all these cycles if I had just been a little more patient back when I first reduced her to .5u. Just one more day....but seeing her in pink when she hadn't been since last Feb just worried me....what the high numbers were doing to her little body. I hope that she will, in fact, break through now and start back down the dosing scale and get back to her normal numbers. And I hope that is a helpful lesson....Patience.
Sorry to be so late today....with her in high numbers, I've been trying to get alot of things done while I can. I hope to be on tonight and visit more condos than I did last night. Thinking of you all.