9/28 Fur Ball PMPS 155; +2/38; +11/74

Status
Not open for further replies.

GregFurBall

Member Since 2012
Previous Condo

Big thanks out to Jane, Marje, Carl and Dyana for walking through a long Fursday with me.

Recap:
AMPS was 113 Gave .25U
+2 = 50 I started work late so was able to get a +2 and was surprised by the 50 reading
+2.25 - Fur Ball ate 1tsp LC w/ Karo
+2.5 = 54
+2.75 - FB ate .5 tsp LC w/ Karo
+3 = 75
+3.25 - 1 tsp LC
+3.5 = 83 I had to go to work so Greg tag teamed and got the next reading
+4 = 141 He had to go back to work so wasn't able to get any more readings until
+5.5 = 95 He had conference calls and meetings all afternoon so didn't get a reading until PMPS

PMPS = 133 Greg gave .25U but I didn’t get home until late so FB wasn’t tested again until +2
+2 = 59
+2.5 = 65
+3 = 58
+3.5 = 60 FB ate 1 tsp LC to help him surf
+4 = 67
+4.5 = 63
+5 = 68
+5.5 = 72
+6.5 = 67 gave FB 1 tsp LC
+8 – 58
+9 = 83
+11 = 82

Now here we are back at AMPS 105.
Greg has decided “no more shots or frequent testing.” I’m not sure why he is so testy this morning as I was the one up all night. This is so frustrating as he does not understand the Lantis protocal and thinks we are doing more harm than good. I talked with him and he begrundingly allowed the shot.

Ooooo I have a feeling it is going to be a long day. He at least agreed to come home at +5. I will be home through +1.5 and will set out frozen LC for him (do I need to mix a bit of karo with it)?
Thanks and hope everyone else has a surfing good day.
karen
 
Re: 9/28 Fur Ball AMPS 105 +1/104

GregFurBall said:
Greg has decided “no more shots or frequent testing.” I’m not sure why he is so testy this morning as I was the one up all night. This is so frustrating as he does not understand the Lantis protocal and thinks we are doing more harm than good. I talked with him and he begrundingly allowed the shot. Ooooo I have a feeling it is going to be a long day. He at least agreed to come home at +5. I will be home through +1.5 and will set out frozen LC for him (do I need to mix a bit of karo with it)? Thanks and hope everyone else has a surfing good day. karen

Umm...that's bollocks, Greg, sorry. No more shots will jeopardise Furball's progress and of course his overall health. Just as no more testing, while still giving insulin, would put him at risk of dying of hypoglycemia and various other things. Sorry to sound harsh, but this is a really really bad attitude... Would you shoot YOURSELF with insulin, not knowing you BG? Would you risk endangering a child's life by not monitoring BG if they were diabetic? Come ON! Your cat has a really good shot at remission!! But not if you throw spanners in the works by not shooting and/or testing.

Karen, you did great! If you can get some MC and HC this weekend to freeze and leave out on those days where you need FB to have access to food over a few unsupervised hours, that would be very useful. How funny that the AMPS was 105, like I used as an example at the end of yesterday's thread :lol:

You are being such a WONDERFUL bean for Furball! Please don't let ANYONE discourage you, ok? Please trust this protocol. Remember: 84% remission rate in cats who start on the TR protocol within 6 months of DX!!

Since you do not yet have any HC/MC in the house, it might be good to add a drop or two of karo/honey to whatever food you leave out.

We're all here with you. We support you! You rock!
Hugs
Jane
 
Re: 9/28 Fur Ball AMPS 105 +1/104

I would suggest having Greg take a look at Gabby's SS on the evening of 9/19. PMPS was 217. Her +3 was 31. Good thing I test!!

If this were a child, would this be Greg's reaction? I always find that putting diabetes in the context of an infant sheds a different light on the subject. Of course, you can always suggest that the next time your DH is sick, you'll treat him they way he treats Fur Ball.
 
Re: 9/28 Fur Ball AMPS 105 +1/104

Karen,
Please try to make Greg understand.... Nights like last night, they will happen, but you most definitely are NOT doing more harm than good. This is just a part of the process for many kitties and beans. It's not fun, it's hard on you and stressful, but at the same time, very encouraging. There's a really bright light at the end of this tunnel, and you could be pretty close to it. Remission is the goal of everyone who discovers that the possibility even exists - I didn't know it could happen when I first heard "Bob has diabetes" - and FB has a really good chance at it happening for him. Some people never get there, but they don't stop trying.
Tomorrow, Dale will be hosting an OTJ party for her no-longer-extra-sweet-boy Max. Pull up Max's spreadsheet and show it to Greg. See how many nights she had like your night last night. I'm sure it wasn't much fun for her and Randy, and add baby Emma into the picture and I am sure the stress level in their home was just a little bit this side of insane for a few weeks. But then ask Dale if she'd trade one minute of it for the way she's going to feel tomorrow when she gets to post those three big letters in her subject line.
You and Greg could be in the same boat in the not so distant future if you can deal with "this" on the way to "that".

You're doing a wonderful job:-)
Carl
 
Re: 9/28 Fur Ball AMPS 105 +1/104

Thanks everyone.
As I've had time to step back and think about this myself, Greg cares so much about Fur Ball. He rescued FB from the shelter in 2006, saving him from being euthanized. Last year we lost my 2 boys to kidney failure within 2 months of each other. I think he's just scared about losing FB and the lows are hard on him. We talked on the way to work and while I wish we could be there to supervise him this morning, I'm hoping that he will surf the 60's w/ a couple 50's like he did last night. I know I fed him LC at +3.5 so am hoping that the food I left for him will fill in that gap until Greg tests him at +5.

Fortunately my 2 afternoon clients have canceled so I decided to take PTO and hope to be home by +6 to cover the afternoon. I really think the numbers we get during these cycles can be so beneficial down the road.

Thanks for the encouragement. I had already actually been looking at the SS's you recommended which I think is giving me more support to keep doing what we are doing.

You all are wonderful for all the support, advice and encouragement you give. THANK YOU!!!!
My next client is here, but so wanted to get a quick post up.
Karen
 
Re: 9/28 Fur Ball AMPS 105 +1/104

Thank you so much for that update, Karen, you're a sweetheart!

I hope you know our strong reactions to Greg's attitude came out of a positive place, one of worry and concern for your darling cat. We really do understand how scary this is. Please let Greg know that we are ready any time to answer ANY questions he may have, and all we want to do is support you and hopefully get you to remission so your belovewd Fur Ball will be totally happy and safe!

I'm sure Greg loves Fur Ball very very much. I'm sure NONE of us doubt that. But since he does love him, I do think it's incredibly crucial to find a way to help Greg be able to understand why this TR protocol is his and your and his beloved cat's BEST chance at being well again, and becoming a diet-controlled diabetic who will only need a test here and there. We want to HELP you and Greg and Fur Ball. Please do tell your Greg this, and that we are willing to try and explain things and send more info to help understand this if requested, ok?

You are doing a wonderful job. I think I was too late in posting this morning andf you'd already left - but yes, you could have added a bit of karo to the food you left out. Please do try to buy MC and HC (you have the food lists, yes?), so that you can mix that into frozen cubes left out as needed - even canned HC is better than karo, because canned HC usually lasts longer, keeping your kitty more safe if you are out.

Please also come back with ANY other concerns you have. If there's anything we can do to help you and Greg feel more comfortable with this, we all want tot ry to do that, ok?

Many hugs to you!
Jane
 
Re: 9/28 Fur Ball AMPS 105 +1/104

It's really easy to get irritated when you're devoting so much time to Fur Ball and it sounds like you're not getting support. It's good to hear that your DH is really a big softy and he's likely frightened by all of this. We've all been there. How can we help?

For any of us that are sole caregivers, leaving the house can be a challenge. Think about a timed feeder or making "catsickles." (To make catsickles, you mix LC canned food with enough water so it's soupy and then freeze it in an ice cube tray. You can pop out a few cubes when you leave. They gradually defrost leaving fresh food for your cat. Unless your cat is very food motivated and will lick the cube until it's gone -- that's Gabby!!)
 
Re: 9/28 Fur Ball AMPS 105 +1/104

Hi there-
You guys are just amazing and so supportive. Yes, Fur Ball has pretty much been consuming this week; between testing and reading research. I talked with Greg again and he is really stressed out about work, lots of pressures and then worrying about needing to come home and test FB, which triggered his strong reaction. That, and the fact that he knew I was up all night not getting any sleep (I am not a 'cat napper so basically just got down time, not sleep time) and he is concerned about FB. I reassured him that we are really doing quite well and the more numbers we get, the better we will know what is happening w/ his cycles.

That said, he got the +5 reading at 54. Gave him 2 tsp of LC and +5.5 is at 72. Should we check at +6 (which is now) or can it wait until +7? It looks like he ate the 1 tsp of LC I left for him but did not snack on the frozen stuff (which is what he ate at +5).
Karen

Oh yeah. I also did not use Karo as I thought it might be harder on his system and was hoping he would coast till Greg got home. He has been playful, preening himself and wanted to go out on he balcony to sun bathe!
 
Re: 9/28 Fur Ball AMPS 105 +1/104; +5/54; +5.5/72

I think you can wait till +7

Carl
 
Re: 9/28 Fur Ball AMPS 105 +1/104; +5/54; +5.5/72

Thanks Carl-
Home from work.
Fur Ball's +7 is 83. I think we are both going to take a nap. So very tired after our 'adventures' yest.

Karen
 
Re: 9/28 Fur Ball AMPS 105 +1/104; +5/54; +5.5/72; +7/83

Hi Karen, Great job handling all the excitement with Fur Ball yesterday! It takes a while to work out routines that work for all involved, balancing cat, other family, work, home and myriad other needs. ECID and EBID too, give yourselves a time to figure it out. At first it seems overwhelming, the cat is not fully appreciative, and beans get tired and cranky and worried about things. The folks here are great with advice, encouragement, support and handlholding when needed. Sometimes a quick "shoot or not" sanity check really helps when tired, or uncertain all the new knowledge has seeped in properly @-) . Before too long, the fd lifestyle becomes familiar and even routine if not normal. Hope you enjoy a nice nap!
Leslie
 
Re: 9/28 Fur Ball AMPS 105 +1/104; +5/54; +5.5/72; +7/83

Karen, I just wanted to stop by and say you and Greg are going a great job with Fur Ball. Sometimes it is hard to find the balance between work and personal time and taking care of our kitties, but it is all worth it. Hang in there. We all get stressed from time to time and if you need to you can post on the board to vent. We all support each other here. Hope you were able to get some rest.
 
Re: 9/28 Fur Ball PMPS 155; +2/38

Thanks everyone-
Did not get much of a rest this afternoon. Was hoping for a calmer evening but as you can see his +2 is at 38. Guess that means he earned himself a dose reduction.
He is eating 1 tsp LC w/ Karo (I know I know...HC was on the grocery list for shopping tomorrow).

I'm guessing we test again in 15 min.
Anything else we need to be doing?

Bummer. I was hoping to get some sleep tonight. We had planned on doing a curve tomorrow and I wanted some rest. Oh well.

Karen
 
Re: 9/28 Fur Ball PMPS 155; +2/38; +2.25/54

If you are really talented , you can sleep in 10 minute increments. :roll:
I think it's called power napping!! ;-)

We're with you.
 
Re: 9/28 Fur Ball PMPS 155; +2/38; +2.25/54

Karen

Everything ok? Good job getting him above that 38. How can I help? I'm going to read back through your condo and you can take off the 911 :-D
 
Re: 9/28 Fur Ball PMPS 155; +2/38; +2.25/54

Rhiannon- I wish I was that good. Guess this is my time to practice it huh?
Marje- At this point do I just test every 15 min? And how often do I feed him?
Took off the 911. Almost didn't put it on but just wanted to alert it for a quick review to make sure we're doing what we need to do.

Thanks, karen
 
Re: 9/28 Fur Ball PMPS 155; +2/38; +2.25/54

Karen

It's ok...a 38 is ok to throw the 911 up :-D we usually circulate looking for low numbers but it doesn't hurt to get someone's attention :-D

I would not test every 15 mins....too much at this point. I'd like you to give him 30 mins between tests.

If you get a number in the 50s, give him a tsp of LC (no karo), then retest in 30. Post the number for me and we will go from there.

Doing ok? You've had a rough couple of days but you are doing great.
 
Re: 9/28 Fur Ball PMPS 155; +2/38; +2.25/54

Yes, 15 minutes, for now. Possibly another small serving for the LC (not sure if it should also include karo.... Marje?

Carl
 
Re: 9/28 Fur Ball PMPS 155; +2/38; +2.25/54

Or 30. :lol:

Hi Marje!
Carl
 
Re: 9/28 Fur Ball PMPS 155; +2/38; +2.25/54; +2.5/46

Hi Marje/Bob-
Just saw your post. We tested at the 15 min mark and got 46. He's getting a tsp of LC right now and we will wait 30 min.
Poor guy, getting that ear shot did not come easy...took about 5 times.
Karen
 
Re: 9/28 Fur Ball PMPS 155; +2/38; +2.25/54; +2.5/46

Hey Carl :lol: :lol: :lol:

It takes about 30 minutes for food to show up in the BG. How about a couple tsp of LC and retest in 30?
 
Re: 9/28 Fur Ball PMPS 155; +2/38; +2.25/54; +2.5/46

You're welcome! Ill be here with you so just post.

Just to let you know...I've found if you test too soon, the food might not have had a chance to kick in and so you feed more. It can add up and you can end up overcarbing the kitty.
 
Re: 9/28 Fur Ball PMPS 155; +2/38; +2.25/54; +2.5/46; +3/67

Looks like the food is kicking in. He's at 67 at +3. We are not feeding him now.
He had dinner at PMPS so we want to be careful to not over carb him either.
He's just had the 2 tsp in 2 increments. Since we are at the beginning of his cycle we want to be careful. I'm guessing we need to be testing every 30 min at least until +6??? Would that be accurrate? And then kind of do what I did last night depending on the numbers.

thanks, Karen
 
Re: 9/28 Fur Ball PMPS 155; +2/38; +2.25/54; +2.5/46; +3/67

Lets see how he does....I agree about holding off on food right now...retest in 30. If he can surf, we might not test every 30; but let's figure it out a test at a time.

So tomorrow morning, you want to take him to .1u ok? Carl is going to post the pic of what that is because I'm on my iPad.
You might want to practice in between tests :-D

This is all great! I'm so excited for you all :-D :-D
 
Re: 9/28 Fur Ball PMPS 155; +2/38; +2.25/54; +2.5/46; +3/67

Karen,

This is a picture from the "New to the Group" sticky that shows what .1u looks like in a syringe. I don't know how your vision is, but I wear bifocals, and I'd probably need some sort of magnifying lens to see this!

Like Marje, said, practice a few times to see how it goes.

Carl
 

Attachments

  • 01unit-1.jpg
    01unit-1.jpg
    12.1 KB · Views: 1,245
Re: 9/28 Fur Ball PMPS 155; +2/38; +2.25/54; +2.5/46; +3/67

Thanks for the pic Carl. I printed it off earlier this week to show Greg...Still have no idea how accurate that can be. :smile:
thanks Sienne. Yes, this is really exciting for Fur Ball. He has already changed so much since we started this process and we know he is feeling better. The diet change has been producing amazing results.

His +3.5 is 59. Do we try some food or wait until +4?
 
Re: 9/28 Fur Ball PMPS 155; +2/38; +3/67; +3.5/59

While he's at a good number, I'd probably give him a little LC. Mostly because the karo is wearing off, he's still not at nadir, and he may come down a little more yet. See you in 30.

Doing good!!
 
Re: 9/28 Fur Ball PMPS 155; +2/38; +3/67; +3.5/59; +4/62

He ate 1 tsp LC at 3.5 and BG at +4 is 62. Hopefully the food will take him through to the next 30 min.

Wow. Another long night. Gotta figure out the cat napping thing. Or, read a book. :smile:
 
Re: 9/28 Fur Ball PMPS 155; +2/38; +3/67; +3.5/59; +4/62

It took me a while to fall into the catnapping but now I have no problem with it. I'm now used to getting up 2 or more times a night. It's easier when Mike is gone because Gracie is in bed with me and I keep all the testing supplies right there. Takes me less than a minute to test her and go back to sleep. When he's home, he does the nights. :-D

How about another test in 30 and let's see how he does? If he is hungry, you could give him a little LC to just reinforce that small rise. Sometimes, it's a good idea.
 
Re: 9/28 Fur Ball PMPS 155; +2/38;+3/67;+3.5/59;+4/62; +4.5/

so glad you can cat nap easily. I looked at your SS and you test alot so you would have to be good at that.

He's just kind of bouncing up and down. Gave him 1 tsp LC at +4 (of course he'll eat. He isn't affectionately called Fur Fat for nothing :lol: )
+4.5 is back to 58. Any suggestions or just test again at +5
 
Re: 9/28 Fur Ball PMPS 155; +2/38;+3/67;+3.5/59;+4/62; +4.5/

Normally I test a lot but she's been at such high numbers lately that I've been getting some sleep.

He's surfing....58 or 62...same number. Do you think if you fed him a couple of tsp of LC that you could give him an hour? He's getting closer to nadir and he's doing ok. Think about it for a minute and let me look at his SS again. Brb.
 
Re: 9/28 Fur Ball PMPS 155; +2/38;+3/67;+3.5/59;+4/62; +4.5/

He was just a tiny bit higher last night, you didn't feed and he surfed until +8. So I think you could either feed a bit and wait an hour or we could just try to wait an hour...but he might be lower. We just don't have quite enuff info to know.
 
Re: 9/28 Fur Ball PMPS 155; +2/38;+3/67;+3.5/59;+4/62; +4.5/

I hear ya. Its hard when he's really only been on a consistent dose of Lantus since Sun of this week.

Since its close to the +5 time, I will test him then and see where his number is. I think I'd be fine giving him some more food and then testing him at +6. I'll let you know in 10 min.
 
Re: 9/28 Fur Ball PMPS 155; +2/38;+3/67;+3.5/59;+4/62; +4.5/

Ok. I was thinking if you could feed him and get him up a bit, you could get some sleep. He's earned a reduction already. Normally, we might have you give some MC so you could go to bed but I don't think karo is a good idea at the numbers he's at....I'd like him solidly up...not wobbly up, KWIM?
 
Re: 9/28 Fur Ball PMPS 155; +2/38;+3/67;+4/62; +5/59

His +5 is 59. I gave him 2 tsp LC (which he's already finished!). Could I wait an hour or is it still too risky?
 
Re: 9/28 Fur Ball PMPS 155; +2/38;+3/67;+4/62; +5/59



Congratulations, Karen! (See, now you can tell Greg that the 0.1u is the very very last dose before You-Know-What!!)

You ladies had all the fun without me :lol: Lovely work all round!

Just came on, Marje - let me know when you need to go sleepus!
Hugs
Janie Jane
 
Re: 9/28 Fur Ball PMPS 155; +2/38;+3/67;+4/62; +5/59

I'd give him an hour, Karen. Try to get a nap, ok?

Since Jane is on now, I may be hitting the sack about the time you get up to test. But you are in good hands with Jane and Carl.

Janie Jane....good morning! I have to be up a bit longer to feed all three cats and then I will probably go to bed....not sure if Gracie is going to come back down or not.

Have a great night!
 
Re: 9/28 Fur Ball PMPS 155; +2/38;+3/67;+4/62; +5/59

Thanks all-
Get some sleep yourself Marje.
I'll be back at +5 (in 45 min). I just saw Fur Ball was in our bed so he will be on top of me as I try to get some sleep. :smile:
 
Re: 9/28 Fur Ball PMPS 155; +2/38;+3/67;+4/62; +5/59

Thanks, Karen! I'm really hoping Gracie comes back down when she onsets but I'll definitely be up with her at least once and Gus twice. He is older and has CKD and eats about every three hours. Like having a newborn :lol:

Have a good night...hopefully FB continues on this mission and you may have a few long nights but then he will be done and your life can get back to normal. Paws crossed!
 
Re: 9/28 Fur Ball PMPS 155; +2/38;+3/67;+4/62; +5/59

I'm back. Ugh. Did not want to get up.
+6 is 60. Do I need to give him any food? or just test again in 1 hr.
 
Re: 9/28 Fur Ball PMPS 155; +2/38;+3/67;+4/62;+5/59;+6/60

Hi Karen. You must be exhausted, I'm so sorry!! But you're doing a marvellous job!

I would feed a tsp of LC just to encourage him to surf, and then I think you could probably wait even an hour and a half until you re-test. He *should* be past the nadir, and with a touch of LC, I think he should be fine even for an hour and half, it that's a better increment of rest-time for you.

How does that sound?

Hugs
Jane
 
Re: 9/28 Fur Ball PMPS 155; +2/38;+3/67;+4/62;+5/59;+6/60

I think you could feed and give it two hours, Karen. He's at or around nadir and holding at this level.
Let's see what Jane thinks
Carl
 
Re: 9/28 Fur Ball PMPS 155; +2/38;+3/67;+4/62;+5/59;+6/60

Carl & Bob said:
I think you could feed and give it two hours, Karen. He's at or around nadir and holding at this level.
Let's see what Jane thinks
Carl

Actually, Carl, you're right - 2h should also be fine, with a touch of LC which will hopefully keep him surfing along.

Karen, sound good? 2 whole hours of rest for you? You're getting spoiled :lol:

Jane
 
Re: 9/28 Fur Ball PMPS 155; +2/38;+3/67;+4/62;+5/59;+6/60

thanks Jane and Carl-
I am tired. But at least we are getting numbers to see how his body responds.
I am feeding him 1 tsp LC now. I think I'm going to wait until the +7.5 or +8 depending upon when I wake up. I didn't get a +7 last night but I'm not sure I want to get up that early again.
Thanks you guys.
Karen
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top