Re: 9/28 Doodle AMPS 107
hi jenn!
I'd strongly encourage you to get a test no later than +2 with Doodle at the phase he's in right now. Personally, I'd get a +1 in every cycle as well.
On 9/23 the first test you got after amps was +4 and that was below 50.
On 9/25 the first test you got after amps was +7 and that was also below 50.
His pancreas is obviously healing and putting out some insulin in addition to what you are shooting. When cats are going down the dosing scale it can be slow and methodical or it can be fast and furious. He looks to be more towards the fast and furious pattern.
For his safety, you don't want to miss tests that tell you he needs a dose reduction. Putting in some intensive testing in the first part of each cycle now, until you see he is past the nadir, will likely result in him both being kept safe and in getting off of insulin faster because dose decreases won't be missed.
At the rate he's going right now, if you hadn't skipped the shot at amps 9/26, he'd be earning a dose reduction every other day. Won't take long to go from 2u to OTJ at that speed. I can't promise OTJ, of course, but everything points towards it.
Hang in there - a little bit of intensive work right now is likely to have a huge pay-off before long!