9/28, Corduroy, AMPS=202, +2=243, +4=299, +9=330, +11=284

Status
Not open for further replies.

blove7

Member Since 2013
Hi all!

Sorry I didn't post until now; I worked all day today. My husband, Brandon, was watching Cords though. Well, I bought yet another glucose meter because I was starting not to trust the two that I had. Now, they ALL read differently! Go figure. I decided to go with the brand new Bayer Contour I bought today, however, because my old one always seemed to work fine until recently. Plus, I like that it doesn't need that much blood to read. I just hope it's right :?

On another note, I received the Zobaline in the mail today! It came a lot quicker than I thought it would.

I hope everyone has a great Saturday night. We're cooking vegan Indian food and chocolate brownies!

Stay safely in the green little kitties! :mrgreen:
 
Re: 9/28, Corduroy, AMPS=202, +2=243, +4=299, +9=330, +11=28

Best wishes for the Zobaline. I'm interested to see how Cords does with this, as I'm thinking of getting some.
I use a Bayer Contour EZ, and am pretty happy with it.

Vegan Indian + chocolate.
Perfect for a Saturday night!

 
Re: 9/28, Corduroy, AMPS=202, +2=243, +4=299, +9=330, +11=28

I'm also interested to see how Cord does with the Zobaline as I'll be getting some next weekend.

I found that each meter will read differently. I have tested the meter that I currently use, which is a Relion Prime, against one of the old ones, Infinity, and have found the Prime is much lower (not to mention much, much newer) than the Infinity. So, I went with the Prime, and have been using it ever since. The strips are cheap too! Only $9.00 for a box of 50. :-D

Enjoy your meal! It sounds delicious. :-D
 
Re: 9/28, Corduroy, AMPS=202, +2=243, +4=299, +9=330, +11=28

Jill & Alex said:
the protocol does suggest going back to the last good dose when a reduction fails. however, 0.1u wasn't such a good dose when it has the ability to drop him like that. i know micro-dosing is difficult at best when counting drops of insulin. reducing to a "drop" didn't appear to be enough insulin, but 0.1u proved to be too much. the thing is, you don't want to recreate the same type of cycle that dropped him so low.

i know you've spent some time counting drops. is it at all possible for you to measure a dose between "a drop" and 0.1 unit?

-Hi Jill! Thanks for taking the time to think of these options. We are on the exact same track! After stalling somewhat this morning on his morning dose, we decided to give him .05 units (between a drop and .10). I played around with it a lot first to see what it would yield in comparison with the .10 we've been giving him. His AMPS was 121, but given how sensitive he can sometimes be with insulin, I was afraid to give him .10 again for fear of another episode like Monday!

In regards to the feeding times and amounts, I've been playing with that too because I thought that the bigger amounts less times per day could be spiking his BG levels (and probably are), but I've noticed that when we try feeding him smaller amounts throughout the day (1.5 oz. 8X/day), he doesn't seem to want to eat all of his food. On the other hand, when I space his feeding times out, and give him larger amounts (3 oz. 4X/day), he eats the whole amount. The thing is, I'm trying to get him a little bigger (he's on the small side for a Maine Coon, being only 10 lbs. on average), so I need him to eat that food! ;-) Also, I started giving him Zobaline yesterday for his little back legs, so I want him to get the full effect.
 
Re: 9/28, Corduroy, AMPS=202, +2=243, +4=299, +9=330, +11=28

wonderful!
i'm glad you reduced the dose and waited for a rise.
keep an eye on things today (i know you will, but had to say it). :mrgreen:

good luck!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top