9/28 Chester PMPS 372,+4=186,+6.5=90

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 9/28 Chester +11=337, AMPS 334

It can take about 72 hours for bounces to clear, but I'm not sure if that applies to kibble-induced highs. He did well yesterday so hopefully he'll come back down today, too.
 
Re: 9/28 Chester +11=337, AMPS 334

Ummm. I'm total newbie so I won't give any advice on dosing. Maybe put a "?" in your heading and someone will come along and give some advice. Trying to figure a dose for our kitties is frustrating sometimes. I hear ya on that. Hang in there....
 
Re: 9/28 Chester +11=337, AMPS 334

Thanks for the input, folks.

I wish I knew what he did yesterday while I was at work. Last night wasn't great...I doubt is he got much below 300.

I'm SO afraid of bypassing the optimal dose again, but if I go by protocol, he's due for an increase.
 
Re: 9/28 Chester +11=337, AMPS 334

I have had my bounces with Do Lou go on for at least 72 hours so try not to get too discouraged I understand how you feel if you were to look at Do Lou's SS we would get a bit of nice and then bounce and over and over it would go its only very recently this has started to get better and we have been on lantus for quite a while
 
Re: 9/28 Chester PMPS 372

Thanks for your reply! I need to be patient...I need to be patient.....

Talked to the vet tonight and she suggests, after looking at my spreadsheet, that she would like me to leave the 1.5 dose alone for awhile longer because Chester seems to take awhile to adjust to things. Last time, just as we were ready to increase his dose, he dropped on us. I'm good with that (the waiting, not the dropping!) She also suggested that I remove the food in the autofeeder when he is up in numbers. I'm kind of kicking myself because putting the food in the autofeeder was becoming sort of automatic...(no pun intended). I should have tried stopping that earlier. We'll see if it has any effect, since I have no clue when he finally decides to actually eat that food.
 
Re: 9/28 Chester PMPS 372

Hi Jaye
Please beleive me when I say how hard it is to have patience.
You are in a great place to help Chester and being higher up on the dosing ladder,
than going back down and having to move nack up is very tough on the bean.

Did you ask the vet why you should take the food away from Chester when his numbers are up?
An unregulated kitty needs food because what they are eating is not getting
into their body properly.
I had food available for Max on demand (when he demanded, I fed him) except for
the 2 hours before shot time.
 
Re: 9/28 Chester PMPS 372

I think part of the problem is that there's no way to tell when he's eating the food. He definitely eats a good breakfast. I should know because...yes, I'll admit it...I feed him with a spoon to make sure that he does. :oops: Same with dinner...out comes the spoon. Okay...I'll bet I'm not the only one!

But as for the food in the autofeeder, although I can time when it opens, I can't time when he eats it. He very well could be eating it within the two hours before feeding time, as I'm not home at that time to tell. I did come home one time last week to see him happily smacking his lips over the feeder and that was no more than 20 minutes before it was time to test/feed/shoot. When I am home during the day I notice that he's a "tiny nibbler" at various times so I doubt he comes and gobbles it up during one sitting.

He doesn't get any food during the night anyway. Because of our multiple cat house, different critters are "assigned" different digs during the night. Chester is in the room with the...hate to say it..."Fat Boys."

I'll try it as she suggested until the weekend (unless he gets low...then definitely I'll feed him during the day) as see how it goes.
 
Re: 9/28 Chester PMPS 372

Jaye
What autofeeder are you using? I know it is a challenge when you have a multi
cat household (I have 3 , 4 now with a new kitten)

We used the petsafe 5 meal autofeeder and made sure that it turned to an
empty slot 2 hours before shot time.
If he is eating within that 2 hor window it is harder to tell if his preshot number
is a result of food being on board.

I fed Max overnight as I was afraid of not leaving food for him (he had fatty liver twice)
It is also good for them to have their meals spread throughout the day. This has a good
effect of trying and keeping the BG levels steady.
 
Re: 9/28 Chester PMPS 372,+4=186

I use the Cat Mate. It has a place for an ice pack and two slots. I'll just say I have a "few" more cats and conflicting dietary issues. The trouble isn't so much when the slots open, it's when the cats decide to visit it, which is uncontrollable unless I confine them to different rooms. I do that for some of them but others have already been confined to a room all night and need to roam the house during the day. Chester also hates being alone...very social guy.

I see what you mean with the 5-slot feeder, though. It actually covers the other slots as it moves, right? Does it have a place for an ice pack and do you find the slots big enough for the cats to be comfortable eating out of them? It's a possibility...of course, I just bought this one, so we'll have to play it by ear.

Chester just surprised me with our first blue in several days! I'm starting to believe that if you threaten them with a dose increase they get busy on lowering those numbers. :razz: He's been purring like a kitten all night so I should have suspected something. Now if I could just get my diabetic dog's bg down all would be well.

I guess I won't be sleeping the whole night through tonight.
 
Re: 9/28 Chester PMPS 372,+4=186

What a great PMPS for Chester.
Yes it is a challenge with many cats and you can only do your best right?? :-D
I did have the luxury of someone being in the house all day so the kitties
were fed, i do not know your situation, I apologize.

For the feeder, there is no icepack. I bought those little glass bowls from a dollar
store and they fit right into the slots.
I would keep them in the freezer so they would be cold and for the later
slots I would actually freeze some food in the bowls so later on they would
defrost and still have been cold.
5 meal feeder

I hope I am able to help in some way.
Happy testing tonight.
 
Just when you think it's safe to sleep around here....

Chester got wind of a potential dose increase and has decided to retaliate with a reaction to the 1.5 dose (finally).

Of course, that makes for a nervous day tomorrow when I'm at work.

I gave him a tbsp of LC to try to get him high enough for me to go back to bed. REALLY tired tonight. Will check again in a bit.
 
You seem to have a great relationship with your vet so I hesitate to contradict her, but I think having some snacks spread out between shots helps keep BGs level and can stimulate the pancreas.

Congrats on having the dose kick in, the bounce clear, whatever, he got green!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top