9/28 Autumn pmps~107,+2~196, +4~167

Status
Not open for further replies.

MommaOfMuse

Member Since 2010
Well not as pretty as yesterday morning but much better than we started out last night so going with .25u this morning to see if that smooths her out today. I should have remembered to reduce her dose when switching her over yesterday.

Mel, Maxwell, Autumn & The Fur Gang
 
Re: 9/28 Autumn amps~139

not bad though ;-)
and don't forget it takes a bit for them to settle on a specific dose.....keep it steady (and Sheila, kindly correct me if I'm advising wrong)
 
Re: 9/28 Autumn amps~139

Sheri,

Thanks for the reminder but yes I know all too well they need to settle on a dose and that some take a little longer than others..Mz Autumn here is sugarcat number 4. :-D

I just forgot that when going from Lantus to Levemir I should reduce the dose, partly because I'm enjoying a huge case of sleep depravation...lol. DH has been working out of town for the last month and only home on the weekends right now, and after 6 years of sleeping with someone else every night I hate going to bed by myself so I've been crawling into bed around 1am every night..which works well for catching pm nadirs, doesn't work so well when you have 15 cats and a large dog demanding that mom be up and moving by 5:45am and most days a catnap during the day is out of the question as well due to having a house to clean, plus critters to pet, take out to potty, walk etc by myself. Especially the cats get very needy when daddy isn't home at night...lol

Mel, Maxwell, Autumn & The Fur Gang
 
Re: 9/28 Autumn amps~139

I actually think that is a much better number than yesterday's amPS. That was too low for her (based on her general numbers) so it set up that wild swing last night.

I hear you on not being able to sleep when your sleeping partner is gone. For me its when I am away from my cats. It was really hard after Jeddie was gone because he slept up by my shoulder every night, often with his feet against me. Sigh. Not trying to make everyone depressed...

So, this means you will have Jon back tonight? And maybe get some sleep?
 
Re: 9/28 Autumn amps~139

Yep I get Jon back tonight about 5pm and he will be home Saturday and Sunday then gone again Monday morning at 6:30 am...So hopefully I will get some sleep over the weekend, or have a much better reason than just avoiding it to why I'm not sleeping...lol.

I know what you mean about Jeddie, Musette use to be my shoulder/neck kitty at night. It still doesn't feel right at night not to have that warm fluff against my cheek. Lady Jane tries hard to take Musette's place but their fur just doesn't feel the same...Lady J's is long and silky where Musette's was like fluffy cotton, more like a long haired rabbit than a cat.

As of Autumn's +3 we are headed in the wrong direction again...267 (sigh) for now I'm just going to hold her where she is at on .25 and see if she settles out and this is just new dose wonkiness. Its just hard to see her back up in those high yellows and pinks after getting long runs of blues and greens. I'm also wondering if some of her ups and downs are related to weather, I haven't had a chance to get her to the vet's for them to do x-rays but there is something wrong with her back, she always walks with it rounded up so I suspect she has arthritis in it, so perhaps the cooler weather is making it hurt more. Well then again we also still have the teeth and infection issue too so there is another whole set of complications to her numbers.

This would all be so much easier to figure out if they could just talk to us and say things like Hey mom my back really hurts today or my teeth are bothering me more than usual.

Mel, Maxwell, Autumn & The Fur Gang
 
Re: 9/28 Autumn amps~139, +3~267, +6~121

That's more like it but I don't like these wild swings every 3 hours that has to feel like hell to jump up 128 pts and then dive 146 pts....really hope she flattens out some here as she settles down on the dose.

Mel, Maxwell, Autumn & The Fur Gang
 
Re: 9/28 Autumn amps~139, +3~267, +6~121

It's looking more like the .25u is the way to go - and give it settle time. She is still getting a lot of response to the lev. I don't think the 150 point rise/fall over 3 hours is that bad. Sure it would be better over twice that time (or 4X that time). I just remember much bigger swings on the "old" insulins like vetsulin. We used to say that anything over 100 pts/hr was too fast, lol.

Are you going to get a +9? Hopefully she will slow down now and make that a surf number or only a slight rise. Paws crossed....

Fur differences - yeah. I can always tell each of mine by touch in the dark without the aid of their voice or any other clue. I have never had two cats alike - I mean over all the cats I have had, no two are exactly alike, similar in some cases, but not an exact match. Like Beau has plush fur and I finally realized two months ago it is very similar to a cat I had that died in 1992. They have similar personalities too... anyway, her fur was silky and plush while Beau's is coarse and plush.
 
Re: 9/28 Autumn amps~139, +3~267, +6~121

Let's see what little Autumn does with her .25u- hopefully nice blues and greens are on order :-D
 
Re: 9/28 Autumn amps~139, +3~267, +6~121

Going to try to get a +9 on her today but that maybe iffy depending on what time Jon gets back in town...since we only have one vehicle I'm the taxi service when it comes to taking him and picking him up from the shop. At least he leaves it with me when he's working my ex use to take the only vehicle to work with him and I was at the mercy of when he decided to come home which could be anywhere from 4pm to 9pm to the next day...and he still wonders why he is an ex....lol

Yeah I'm hoping she decides to settle down and surf a little bit today...Fridays are always the most chaotic days to have to watch her like a hawk..especially right now while Jon is gone all week long, this is really the only day I can't schedule around her tests, because I just never know when he is going to get back in town and after being gone all week he wants HOME NOW when he finally gets here. Plus this is the day of restocking the pet food, litter, human food, putting fuel in the truck etc. Although because it is so hectic on Fridays I at least usually get out of cooking dinner. :-D

Yep, with 15 of them I can tell everyone of them in the dark just by touch including Duvessa and Myrrdin who are littermates and have been raised exactly the same, Duvessa's fur is soft & silky but not slick silky like her brother Myrrdin. Myrrdin is like a seal he is so slick. Bert who could be your Beau's twin brother from another mother sounds like he has the same coat as Beau as well. He is plush but coarse. The only two that I have a tiny bit of trouble telling apart in the dark is Tre'Vona and Arabella but that has more to do with body shape and because I just really haven't had much time to pet Arabella to instintively know who is who yet by touch and well Tre'Vona is kind of a touch-me-not cat. She is a semi-feral that while she has her lovey moments they are short lived and on her terms only. One moment you can be petting her and she will be half-asleep and purring the next moment she is biting and rabbit kicking you. :roll: She is a little gender confused too...she keeps trying to hump the boys. Oh well we love her quirks and all.

Mel, Maxwell, Autumn & The Fur Gang
 
Re: 9/28 Autumn amps~139, +3~267, +6~121, +9~146

That's better surf those blues baby girl! She does eat at +6 so part of that rise could still be food as well. Basically she eat at amps, +6, pmps and again at +4 in the evening.

Mel, Maxwell, Autumn & The Fur Gang
 
Re: 9/28 Autumn amps~139, +3~267, +6~121, +9~146

That's a nice surf! Keeping paws crossed for a nice PS tonight.

I call Beau a recovering feral because he can suddenly decide to lunge and bite -even after 13 years with me. He doesn't bite hard, but he hangs on then with a lot or pressure. When I tell him know I get the ears back and the swishing tail. But he can sometimes be purring through that whole episode too. He is not a cat that the inexperienced could handle, I don't think.
 
Re: 9/28 Autumn amps~139, +3~267, +6~121, +9~146

Well, here's to hoping she like being in Levvie Land now drinking24

(and I apologize, didn't know you'd had other sugar kitties)
 
Re: 9/28 Autumn amps~139, +3~267, +6~121, +9~146, pmps~107

Unfortunately on that 107 I can't stall her shot tonight as we have dinner plans for 7:30 but will be back home by her +2 to check up on her. Really wish she would pull this stuff on any day but Fridays. :roll: But the upside is my body is now use to staying up half the night if I have to keep testing her...She definitely likes the lev better than Lantus...much less grumpy, she had started pulling the same thing Musette did on the Lantus the growling and slapping the syringe away. On the Lev she doesn't even look up from her food.

Mel, Maxwell, Autumn & The Fur Gang
 
Re: 9/28 Autumn amps~139, +3~267, +6~121, +9~146, pmps~107

Sheri its okay I've been around for awhile but kind of disappeared for awhile this Spring and Summer after losing my 3rd sugarcat Musette to undiagnoised anemia. Her death hit me really hard because not only was she named for my first sugarcat Muse (both were himmies & both diabetic) I lost her on the same day and almost the exact same hour as I did Muse..then I got bit by a brown recluse spider on my right thumb (I'm right handed) and was down about a month. But yes I have had a few sugarcats...my first Muse who was my soul kitty but in some ways she really doesn't count other than it was her being dxed as a diabetic that made me find this board, since by the time we figured out what was wrong with her it was merely the tip of the iceberg.

But after losing Muse my husband Jon and I have adopted 3 other sugarcats from DCIN...Maxwell who was a Lantus boy for the whole 2 weeks that he was on insulin while in foster care waiting for transport...once he got to my house I gave him 2 shots total before starting his OTJ trial...Maxwell looks like a pastel version of Sheila's Jeddie. Then Musette who no matter what we tried we never really got her regulated and then she stopped eating, went in and out of DKA and finally passed away. I suspect she had lots of underlying health issues that didn't surface until right before the end, which is pretty much what she confirmed through an animal communicator. And now I have Autumn who was formally LuLu when she was on DCIN's adoptable list...her previous owner didn't want to put her down but couldn't treat her either do to her own medical problems so poor Autumn went at least that we know of over 10 months after diagnoises without insulin and still on very cheap dry food. Her last owner claimed she was a complete dry food addict, well I got her set a bowl of Friskies Pate with water added in front of her and she wolfed it down and has never looked back. In late April when I adopted her, her BGs were well into the 500s but luckily and she had moderate ketones...never went DKA (anti-jinx)! She also didn't even weight 6lbs...today, which is one of the reasons I get so tickled to see her in the blues and greens on since a tiny dose of Lev, She is a slim 14lb (her vet would still like to see at least another 2lbs on her...she's a long and tall girl) and both the vet and I think she will go into remission once we get the infection in her mouth to clear up and get her bad teeth out. She has several that are rotten and a couple others that are broken off at the gum line.

So the sum total of my FD experience sums up to Muse-NPH, Maxwell-Lantus, Musette Lantus/Levemir and now Autumn Lantus/Levemir of the two Ls I think both work great but for the difficult case like those adopted from DCIN that have either not been treated for awhile or poorly treated I like Lev the best. I can't say for sure but I think Lantus works better for cats that are started on insulin as soon as they are dxed...Maxwell was start almost immediately on Lantus because he was pulled from the vet where he was dxed almost the same day as his dx.

Mel, Maxwell, Autumn & The Fur Gang
 
Re: 9/28 Autumn amps~139,+3~267,+6~121,+9~146,pmps~107,+2~19

Still surfing the blues, but rising, however that is only 2 hours after she ate so part of that again could be food. I'm going to get a 'lights out' test on her at +4 when I feed everyone for the last time tonight.

Mel, Maxwell, Autumn & The Fur Gang
 
Re: 9/28 Autumn amps~139,+3~267,+6~121,+9~146,pmps~107,+2~19

Interesting synopsis on your sweet crew. Some of it I didn't know.

You are the second person today that has mentioned a complete indifference to receiving the lev shot over the lantus one. I just wonder if the injection site "burns" for a while as well as having the shot sting? And I would definitely agree that lev works on long term FDs. I don't have a comparison, of course, just a good success story to tell :mrgreen:

Oh - nice PS tonight. I had to do a double take because the +2 is only showing "19". Guess there isn't enough space for more...but it freaked me out for a split second.
 
There does that make you feel a little better Sheila...lol. Loving this blue surf she has going. Yeah I don't know what it is but both Autumn & Musette got to the point where they would growl, threaten to bite or try to slap the syringe away on Lantus even at very small doses. On Lev no reaction at all.

Mel, Maxwell, Autumn & The Fur Gang
 
I have a friend on Lantus- he says it stings big-time. His doc won't change him over, though. But he gets 80u a day and that is a huge amount (unless you are an acro cat :lol: )
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top