9/27 Squamee AMPS 268 .5U, +2 BG 256, +4 258, +6 220

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 9/27 Squamee AMPS 268 .5U

Very hard to increase the test reward. Have not found any treats she consistently likes (and I am wondering if her sense of smell has been effected). The ones she sometimes likes are Halo Freeze dried beef or chicken---but mostly she seems to prefer regular food to treats. (I have tried all kinds of fish treats,even human canned tuna, fresh cooked chicken, etc). What she seems to like best is the gravy (or juice) in the cans, so I often open a new can after a test and let her have that.
 
Re: 9/27 Squamee AMPS 268 .5U, +2 BG 256

Harley never got treats so when I tried to give him some he just looked at it and batted them around.

Instead he gets extra chin scratching and head rubbing time, it's been a very bonding time for us.
 
I was hoping for better for her too.

The testing is never for nothing. We learn something from it every time.

Her liver may be a little panicky from the 89 last night. I'd wait it out.
 
I actually don't give treats after testing either, but I usually am giving food. I try to spread his food out evenly through the day. every 3-5 hrs he gets a test and more food.

But I agree, extra attention, brushing, chin scritches, whatever she likes to make it a pleasant association as much as possible.
 
One time I did a fur shot, the needle poked out the other side of the tent. Now I lift the skin and aim deeper, more straight down so it doesn't poke out. That one time, I felt the needle poke "through" twice- I should have known I went in and then out again.

Now I also wiggle the inserted needle side to side a bit so I know its "in". Didn't you say she has lonnngg fur, which I'm sure makes it much harder. I actually have a cheap floor lamp spotlight aimed right at Cody"s testing stool which helps me a lot.
 
Re: 9/27 Squamee AMPS268 .5U, +2 BG 256, +4 258, +6 220,+13 296

AMPS 268 .5U
+2 256
+4 258
+6 220
+13 PMPS 296 .5U

Is it possible I did actually shoot her this AM? I just shot her now, and it really did not seem different from what I did this morning. (or have done all along). But the numbers seem to indicate no insulin.
THe worst of this is not the insulin problem---her mouth symptom seemed significantly worse today--like before the steroids. Damn.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top