9/27 Smudge: AMPS169, +2 72, +3 70, +4 75, +5.5 88, +12 90/101, PMPS115, +1 97, +2 64, +3 70, +4 70

Speaking of regulation. Check out these parameters. Smudge is close to qualifying as Regulated! Keep it up Smudge! Ali you're kicking so much butt, I mean it hasn't even been a month since dx!!

  • Not treated - blood glucose typically above 300 mg/dl (16.7 mmol/L), poor clinical signs
  • Treated, but not regulated - often above 300 (16.7) and rarely near 100 (5.6), poor clinical signs
  • Regulated - generally below 300 (16.7) with glucose nadir near 100 (5.6), good clinical signs, no hypoglycemia
  • Well regulated - generally below 200-250 (11.1-13.9) and often near 100 (5.6), no hypoglycemia
  • Tightly regulated - generally below 150 (8.3) and usually in the 60-120 (3.3-6.7) range, no hypoglycemia, still receiving insulin
  • Normalized - 60-120 (3.3-6.7) except perhaps directly after meals -- usually not receiving insulin
 
Speaking of regulation. Check out these parameters. Smudge is close to qualifying as Regulated! Keep it up Smudge! Ali you're kicking so much butt, I mean it hasn't even been a month since dx!!
  • Not treated - blood glucose typically above 300 mg/dl (16.7 mmol/L), poor clinical signs
  • Treated, but not regulated - often above 300 (16.7) and rarely near 100 (5.6), poor clinical signs
  • Regulated - generally below 300 (16.7) with glucose nadir near 100 (5.6), good clinical signs, no hypoglycemia
  • Well regulated - generally below 200-250 (11.1-13.9) and often near 100 (5.6), no hypoglycemia
  • Tightly regulated - generally below 150 (8.3) and usually in the 60-120 (3.3-6.7) range, no hypoglycemia, still receiving insulin
  • Normalized - 60-120 (3.3-6.7) except perhaps directly after meals -- usually not receiving insulin
OMG, you're right, he's almost regulated!!! If he can keep this up, he is. This is so exciting!!!!

72 @ +2.
Gonna be an hourly testing day! Just fed a little LC. :D
 
Crossing paws he is on the path to remission.
Given his medical and life history, and how quickly he’s responding to treatment, and how diligently you’ve embraced testing/shooting/TR (including those painful late night tests), I think he’s a very good candidate for remission. Just remember that a healthy, happy cat is always the ultimate goal, and remission is a bonus. I recall being cautioned not to make remission the “goal” so as to not feel like a failure if one doesn’t get there, as some cats never will, and that’s ok too. Just a perspective thing, I suppose, which is somewhat hard to have when one is eyeball deep in the early days of FD-induced sleep deprivation and stress. :blackeye:

Sounds like Smudge has the happy part down already! :) Kudos to you both. You’re doing great!
 
I feel like he may be on the verge of one of these cycles that is a green streak. Looks very familiar.

Given his medical and life history, and how quickly he’s responding to treatment, and how diligently you’ve embraced testing/shooting/TR (including those painful late night tests), I think he’s a very good candidate for remission. Just remember that a healthy, happy cat is always the ultimate goal, and remission is a bonus. I recall being cautioned not to make remission the “goal” so as to not feel like a failure if one doesn’t get there, as some cats never will, and that’s ok too. Just a perspective thing, I suppose, which is somewhat hard to have when one is eyeball deep in the early days of FD-induced sleep deprivation and stress. :blackeye:

Sounds like Smudge has the happy part down already! :) Kudos to you both. You’re doing great!

I think @Hendrick Cuddleclaw called it. 90 @ PMPS. I don't know what to do!!!

I'm so proud he's doing so well. He doesn't feel sick when he's green anymore and that makes me the most happy.
 
Smudge had one heck of a flat green cycle today. You must be elated.
Ok so tonight, with TR you can shoot any number over 50 as long as you can monitor and have the supplies. There's a chance that Smudge may bounce from this long stretch of greens but there's also the chance that he decided to read the Lantus Regulation Rule Book (wish my Cleo would :rolleyes:). Now knowing your personal situation, do you feel you could monitor tonight in the chance that he doesn't bounce?
 
Smudge had one heck of a flat green cycle today. You must be elated.
Ok so tonight, with TR you can shoot any number over 50 as long as you can monitor and have the supplies. There's a chance that Smudge may bounce from this long stretch of greens but there's also the chance that he decided to read the Lantus Regulation Rule Book (wish my Cleo would :rolleyes:). Now knowing your personal situation, do you feel you could monitor tonight in the chance that he doesn't bounce?
I'm as elated as I am scared to make a decision. He is not eating a ton for dinner (he eats less when low, likes to spread it out over the first couple of hours). I have HC food and Karo. Will I need to monitor hourly all night? If so, there's no way. I have to get some sleep (for work). Ugh.
 
That's a good thing!

At least until +3 maybe later if dropping. How carb sensitive do you think he is?
You hold the syringe so the choice is ultimately yours. Someone will stay with you as long as you need :bighug:
I'm going to delay to test him again at the top of the hour (30 mins past shot time) and decide. I can definitely test through +3. Ugh this is so scary.
 
3 units is working wonders! Smudge appears to be on a bit of a mission here!

Great job shooting the essentially green PMPS -- I know you stalled and waited for it to rise to 115 but close enough. Well done!!

I have a feeling Smudge will level out here and surf safely in the greens for a while. Great healing greens!
 
3 units is working wonders! Smudge appears to be on a bit of a mission here!

Great job shooting the essentially green PMPS -- I know you stalled and waited for it to rise to 115 but close enough. Well done!!

I have a feeling Smudge will level out here and surf safely in the greens for a while. Great healing greens!
Leveled out, but with some HC an hour ago... Does that count? Man, I want him to get a reduction outta this.
 
what a cycle Smudge!!

that cycle actually falls into the well-regulated parameters!! If that becomes the norm, I guess he is skipping Regulated and going right to Well Regulated LOL!


Leveled out, but with some HC an hour ago... Does that count? Man, I want him to get a reduction outta this.

I did the same thing the first time Hendrick had a cycle like that and some of the senior members said "well, if you really wanted him to earn a reduction, don't give HC or MC. Let him earn the reduction on LC"

that was very tough for me to do as seeing a number like 64 for the first time was so scary! So I do not blame you at all, esp since he didn't want any LC.

Maybe next time for Smudge! He may well have earned a reduction if not propped up a little by the small amounts of HC, it is hard to say. I hope he doesn't bounce from this but my gut feeling is he won't. Things seems to have stabilized a bit.
 
btw I can't recall if you know the drill for getting back to your regular shot time or not.

you don't want to shoot at your normal time as you shot the PM dose 30 minutes late. Let me find the post...

this will also apply in November with the time change to DST on 11/5


[edit] darn it, I can't find it. IIRC you can adjust 15 minutes per cycle. So for this morning shoot 15 minutes late then tonight you can shoot your regular shot time.

Pretty sure I have that right. Still looking.

[edit 2] Found it and I was correct, 15 min a cycle/30 minutes a day
 
Last edited:
what a cycle Smudge!!

that cycle actually falls into the well-regulated parameters!! If that becomes the norm, I guess he is skipping Regulated and going right to Well Regulated LOL!




I did the same thing the first time Hendrick had a cycle like that and some of the senior members said "well, if you really wanted him to earn a reduction, don't give HC or MC. Let him earn the reduction on LC"

that was very tough for me to do as seeing a number like 64 for the first time was so scary! So I do not blame you at all, esp since he didn't want any LC.

Maybe next time for Smudge! He may well have earned a reduction if not propped up a little by the small amounts of HC, it is hard to say. I hope he doesn't bounce from this but my gut feeling is he won't. Things seems to have stabilized a bit.
Thank your for all of your support through this!!! It really means the world that you and @Angela & Cleo were here. I still sometimes can't believe there's a community as wonderful as this. :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Back
Top