9/27 Sissy AMPS 113 @+.25 127, +1 144, +2 142, 133, +5 104, +6 71, +8 94, PMPS 131

Mandy S

Member Since 2020
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/9-26-sissy-amps-244-5-5-306-pmps-252.235959/

Sissy's AMPS is 113. I've never shot this low before but am wondering if I should try. I upped her dose last night. Wasn't sure if I should...had a question about her numbers the last two days asking about to tweak or not.
I was thinking I'd like to do some kind of modified method... where I don't shoot under 100 or reduce till 70 and not hold for so long between adjustments....but days like today if I shoot she will go under 70 most likely and there will be a reduction. That's ok if needed. I probably shouldn't have upped it anyway.
So do I shoot a half dose no dose or what?
I'm stalling now will retest again now to see where she is. She's been under 100 for quite awhile overnight.
 
With normal TR you can shoot any number above 50 if you can monitor. Of course, the comfort with shooting low numbers comes with experience. You have shot a 112 at PMPS on 9/16.

Since her AMPS is higher than her +9, I think it is safe to assume she is headed higher. You can stall and get another test without feeding in 20 minutes for your comfort.
 
At AMPS +.25 she is 127. I fed her but she wasn't going to eat. I crushed her treat up over it and she ate that but barely any food.
While stalling I looked in auto feeder. She didn't eat at the last 5 hours or so except for a very a tiny bit around 5:30. I know it rotated normally because I heard it. She didn't really want to eat her pmps last night nut she did eat some.
This is the first time
 
Last edited:
With normal TR you can shoot any number above 50 if you can monitor. Of course, the comfort with shooting low numbers comes with experience. You have shot a 112 at PMPS on 9/16.

Since her AMPS is higher than her +9, I think it is safe to assume she is headed higher. You can stall and get another test without feeding in 20 minutes for your comfort.

Thank you. I cross posted with you so added info. Should I shoot the .75 I bumped her to last night or was that not a good move and shoot the .5?
 
At AMPS +.5 she is 127. I fed her but she wasn't going to eat. I crushed her treat up over it and she ate that but barely any food.
While stalling I looked in auto feeder. She didn't eat at the last 5 hours or so except for a very a tiny bit around 5:30. I know it rotated normally because I heard it. She didn't really want to eat her pmps last night nut she did eat some.
This is the first time

She is indeed heading up. I think it is safe to shoot her full dose. Will you be able monitor her today?
 
No reason to take a reduction - not even by your modified reduction level of 70. Shoot the 0.75.

Okay. Just shot the .75
Will monitor her.
Still not sure why she's not acting normal about food. She usually is all about her food.
 
Last edited:
Do you think based on her spreadsheet it was okay to increase her dose?

Oh definitely! You want to take her dose where she sees safe greens which is where the pancreas heal. You held the 0.5u dose 10 cycles. Long enough to ensure it had a chance to work.

ETA: A cat's insulin needs change frequently. She may need only 0.25 a couple of weeks back to see green, but it's clear she needs more now. If she needs a reduction, her numbers will tell you that.
 
We generally do not suggest modifying TR unless you are very experienced with the protocol. The rationale is that for a newly diagnosed cat, TR is meant to be aggressive in order to give your kitty the best chance for remission. It can be a bit wearing on the nerves but once you're used to the protocol and how your cat responds, it gets easier.

That said, you probably shouldn't have taken a dose reduction on 9/15. With a Relion meter, you reduce when numbers are below 50. You also held the 0.50 dose longer than necessary. With TR, you increase every 6 cycles/3 days. (So yes, you would want to increase the dose.)

The other reason it's fine to increase the dose is that you have test data from late in yesterday's PM cycle. You're seeing the numbers trend upward. I would, however, get some early tests (e.g., a +1 and +2) so you have a sense of where numbers are going with this dose.
 
Is she still not eating? Has she eaten anything at all except the treat your crumbled on the food?

Actually after I posted that she did eat some more...so she's had about half now...and she usually will eat that first sitting then come back over the next 20 min or so and eat the rest. So hopefully she will continue.
I have freeze dried rabbit that I can rehydrate and put over her food if she doesn't eat on schedule. That is usually the magic needed if she was hesitant in the past.

I think she may be having some constipation. She only poops every few days lately and when she does go it's a long one. Can I give her pumpkin or is there a better option?
 
Last edited:
I think she may be having some constipation. She only poops every few days lately amd when she does go it's a long one. Can I give her pumpkin or is there a better option?

I'm going to take @Sue and Luci and @tiffmaxee to answer your constipation question. I know people here use pumpkin, metamucil and miralax for constipation. My civvie used to get constipated till I began to add some psyllium husk to her food.
 
We generally do not suggest modifying TR unless you are very experienced with the protocol. The rationale is that for a newly diagnosed cat, TR is meant to be aggressive in order to give your kitty the best chance for remission. It can be a bit wearing on the nerves but once you're used to the protocol and how your cat responds, it gets easier.

That said, you probably shouldn't have taken a dose reduction on 9/15. With a Relion meter, you reduce when numbers are below 50. You also held the 0.50 dose longer than necessary. With TR, you increase every 6 cycles/3 days. (So yes, you would want to increase the dose.)

The other reason it's fine to increase the dose is that you have test data from late in yesterday's PM cycle. You're seeing the numbers trend upward. I would, however, get some early tests (e.g., a +1 and +2) so you have a sense of where numbers are going with this dose.

That reduction was back when we were on our camping trip with very iffy phone service. @tiffmaxee was helping me get thru that week and planning to try a sort of modified SLGS ( I think it was slgs) when we got back and could for sure connect for help. I should have put our trip in the notes.

Editing to add I had mistakenly put modified TR in my not section. I've fixed it now.
 
Last edited:
Yes!! Putting an explanation is the comments when there's an "exception" is very helpful. Thanks for the information.

Pumpkin can work for either constipation or loose stools. Depending on what food you're using, it may not be unusual for a cat to not poop on a daily basis. My cats get a combination of raw and ZiwiPeak. They do not poop every day since these are foods with no fillers so they metabolize pretty close to everything. If you're not adding water to Sissy's food, you may want to try doing that first. Sometimes a small amount of oil or butter will also help if you don't want to try Miralax or some of the other suggestions that Bhooma (Bandit's mom) made.
 
Yes!! Putting an explanation is the comments when there's an "exception" is very helpful. Thanks for the information.

Pumpkin can work for either constipation or loose stools. Depending on what food you're using, it may not be unusual for a cat to not poop on a daily basis. My cats get a combination of raw and ZiwiPeak. They do not poop every day since these are foods with no fillers so they metabolize pretty close to everything. If you're not adding water to Sissy's food, you may want to try doing that first. Sometimes a small amount of oil or butter will also help if you don't want to try Miralax or some of the other suggestions that Bhooma (Bandit's mom) made.

Ah...yeah. she went from hills z/d to weruva when we got her diagnosis.
. So maybe her pooping is from that change and is normal. It's sometimes 3 days I think before she will go and when she does the whole house knows it! Have to scoop asap! I'll try adding water for sure.
 
I’ve used pumpkin for several cats. Max neededMiralax as well. I also add water to tge food as most of mine cats did not drink water until either starting to have kidney issues or with Max diabetes. I’m guessing the freeze dried rabbit is raw and contains some bone. That means she would be apt to not poop as often. I’ve noticed my two that are fed only raw di t poop every day. If I add pumpkin it’s a little less dry.
 
I’ve used pumpkin for several cats. Max neededMiralax as well. I also add water to tge food as most of mine cats did not drink water until either starting to have kidney issues or with Max diabetes. I’m guessing the freeze dried rabbit is raw and contains some bone. That means she would be apt to not poop as often. I’ve noticed my two that are fed only raw di t poop every day. If I add pumpkin it’s a little less dry.

Yeah, the rabbit is the Stella & Chewy's freeze dried. I cut each piece into halves or 3rds and she gets a bite for a treat at shot time. She hasn't had them for weeks. We used up the last of the freeze dried chicken so I opened the new bag of rabbit tonight. I made the mistake of putting the piece on my leg while I sealed up the bag and she went after it, bit through my shorts and got her tooth stuck in the material. lol She poked me good. lol
Sissy has always drank a lot of water...I had brought it up with the vet before but her blood work always came back fine. I will add water to her food and see if it makes a difference. I've never seen cat poop that long as what she's been making lately. lol And oh my..it's stinky. lol Sissy likes pumpkin so I know if I put a little in her food she'd eat it. How much do you use at a time. A tablespoon or so?
 
Back
Top