9/27 Scully AMPS=361 +4=209 +5.5=169 +7.5=221 PMPS=413

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tara and Scully

Member Since 2014
Previous Condo (9/21/14):
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=125709

We haven't seen green since Monday night. I don't know what's going on. Scully's numbers have been so high and I am beyond frustrated. I increased her dose last weekend from 1 U up to 1.25 U to try to bring her numbers down. It worked, but she took a nosedive, so I reduced her dose back down to 1 U. She couldn't hold the reduction. Yesterday morning I increased her dose slightly to a fat 1 U with the thought that increasing to 1.25 may be too much and send her diving down again, but I haven't seen any changes in her numbers so far. Tonight I increased her back up to a full 1.25 U. My fear is that she's going to drop low later this week when I'm at work. There's no one here to monitor her Monday - Thursday other than me occasionally being able to run home on my lunch break to get a quick test or two. Oh how I envy those of you who are able to work from home!

I also started a new vial of Lantus. One of my DH's coworkers recently lost her diabetic cat, so she generously gave us her vial of Lantus that she just opened at the beginning of August. My vial was about 4 and a half months old, so maybe Scully's higher numbers this week indicate that the insulin was expiring.

I hope everyone is having a nice weekend. The leaves here are starting to change, but the temps today were near 80. It looked like fall, but felt like summer! DH and I took advantage of this gorgeous weather to ride our bikes and stroll around a local farmers market. Not too many of these days left, so gotta enjoy them while we can! Hugs and healing vines to the sugar kitties and their beans who need them.

Tara & Scully
 
I can understand your frustration and wanted to wish you good luck with the new vial of insulin! I was able to compare prove to myself that after almost 5+ months, Tiger's vial of Lantus was still effective, and I had left it out the first night I brought it home, plus it had been dropped a couple of times. :oops: Recently, i broke open the new pens, and her numbers went up, now she has needed dose increase after dose increase. Anyway, I hope Scully's numbers get back to normal with the dosecrease, and not on Monday when you go back to work! Have a great evening!
 
Hi Tara!!

I hope the new vial works for you...that was so kind of your coworker.

The more consistent you can be with dose, the better. I probably would have held the f1u a bit longer and given her depot a chance to fill especially because she was seeing some blue. I think you are seeing big bounces because it's possible she's dropping faster on you than you realize and a big drop can csuse a big bounce.

If it were me, I'd do a +2 test every single cycle that is not a work day for you. If it's lower than the PS, you might see an active cycle. Because she was coming down last night, I probably would have grabbed a +10 test.

The bike ride and farmers market sounds lovely. I hope you had a great time.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top