9/27 Rusty PMPS 237 raised dose, +4.5 198 | Feline Diabetes Message Board - FDMB

9/27 Rusty PMPS 237 raised dose, +4.5 198

Status
Not open for further replies.

Ella & Rusty & Stu(GA)

Member since 2010
yesterday: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=52991

Good Morning, Everyone,

I just lost my post, so I'll try again. Rusty has a much better number this morning and I hope it will be the beginning of a trend! I think the shot got in this morning!! We had a good test, good breakfast, good brushing, I took Edward to yoga class, and am getting ready to do a morning bike ride with a friend. We have good weather and must take advantage of it because rain is predicted for the rest of the week.

Here are a couple of pictures from yesterday's paddle. I particularly like the one of the paddlers paddling through the grass.

Back later,

Continuing to send healing thoughts and vines to kitties in need of them,

Ella & Rusty
 

Attachments

  • CedarRiverFlow.jpg
    CedarRiverFlow.jpg
    260 KB · Views: 853
  • CedarRiver.jpg
    CedarRiver.jpg
    314.9 KB · Views: 848
Re: 9/27 Rusty AMPS 142

Nice numbers for Rusty this morning! yay!

The pictures are beautiful. It must be so peaceful out there. What a great way to spend a day!

Hope you have a great ride today and a wonderful evening!!
 
Re: 9/27 Rusty AMPS 142

The photos are absolutely breath-taking. What a gorgeous area. No wonder why you enjoy it so much!

Have a great day today: nice weather, a bike ride: perfect!

It is so nice to see Rusty with a nice low blue number. Go Rusty!!!
 
Re: 9/27 Rusty AMPS 142

Well! You know why you're having successful shots, don't you? Because I took that problem away from you and now I can't shoot Jesse right to save my life!! :lol:
 
Re: 9/27 Rusty AMPS 142, +5.5 218

Hi again,
Well, I guess the shot this morning didn't get in. Although I didn't smell Lev., I did see a tiny drop at the insertion site when I pulled out the needle (I thought it was just a drip from the end of the needle). So onward we go! Edward took Rusty outside this morning and Rusty almost caught a squirrel! That was 20 minutes before I tested him at +5.5. I suppose that excitement could have raised his bg?

He just ate his lunch, so I'll wait a while to test him again. If bg goes down, I'll say it was the squirrel. If it is still going up, I'll say it was the bean's faulty shot (not aided by the cat, who squirmed and protested mightily, even before the syringe got near him).

Bike ride was good (20 hilly miles). Now I have to go out to do some chores. Back later.

Ella
 
Re: 9/27 Rusty AMPS 142, +5.5 218

Gorgeous pictures Ella! Paddling is so peaceful isn't it? 20 miles this morning? Wow you are putting everyone to shame with all that exercise!

Rusty!! Dude what are you doing going up? Supposed to come down!!
 
Re: 9/27 Rusty AMPS 142, +5.5 218

Phooey on the +5.5, I hope it was the squirrel chase! Your photos are absolutely gorgeous! It reminded me of the BWCA and paddling through the wild rice.
 
Re: 9/27 Rusty AMPS 142, +5.5 218

Hey! Gorgeous Pix today --Looks so peaceful there!!
Sure Rusty could have raised his bg form the squirrel, but whole shot may not have gone in either--
Guess you will know by pmps--I have been shooting Moonie by her shoulders right in between--
It has been working(antijinx) --I will call you later to explain.
Hope you had a good day today!--Hugs & Love from us! :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:
 
Re: 9/27 Rusty AMPS 142, +5.5 218, +7 221, +9 211

Looks like some insulin must have gotten in this morning after all! Lovely pics!!! Between you and Michelle, I seriously KNOW I don't want to live here anymore. Who knew there were colors like that out there?!!!
 
Re: 9/27 Rusty PMPS 237 raised dose

Hi again, everyone,

Rusty went up at PMPS and we decided to raise his dose by .25 to 1.50. Sienne suggested a dose increase yesterday and I agree that we need to get Rusty back into his better numbers. Fur shots aside, I don't really understand why we should be going up in dose, rather than staying stable or going down, but I guess it has to do with the fact that he is a long-term diabetic. Does anyone know why a dose would have to be increased as the years go by (other than medical reasons, which in Rusty's case seem to have been ruled out)? He was on a nice, low dose (.25) when he lived with Phoebe and Charlie, and we started out with that when he came to live with us. Now, 10 months later, he is at 1.50 units (up from 1.25). He had his best numbers with us last spring.

Anyway, the shot went in tonight, even though it may have been an "ouchie" (I shot midway between the shoulder blades, where it was easier to see skin). Then he enthusiastically finished his dinner and had a great play session with Edward. We all had a nice late afternoon in the garden, sitting in the sun and waiting for the squirrel (a no-show).

Thanks for visiting today,

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 9/27 Rusty PMPS 237 raised dose

I don't know that there's any particular explanation. It could be that Rusty's metabolism is changing or it's one of those situations where you need to take the dose up in order for it to come down.
 
Re: 9/27 Rusty PMPS 237 raised dose

Good luck with the dosecrease. Hopefully Rusty will return to his nice numbers and earn a reduction.
 
Re: 9/27 Rusty PMPS 237 raised dose

well, I've stopped feeding canned Wellness and FF Turkey & giblets because both seemed to cause higher BG's as if the formula changed. So it is possible that Rusty just needs a bit more insulin to process these foods.

We've switched to Merrick's BG with just a taste of FF chicken feast or chopped grill.
 
Re: 9/27 Rusty PMPS 237 raised dose

what a perfect sounding day! the pictures from yesterday are just beautiful - so inviting. i hope someday to do a fall trip to the NE.

thanks for the tip about resizing the photos. i'll try that next time!

here's hoping that dose increase is just what rusty needs to see some lower numbers. ya listening rusty? cat_pet_icon
 
those photos are stunning, Ella.

and rusty...an increase? ah, well...whatever is needed to maintain health & happiness, right?
and glad i got here late enough to see you in the blues...
 
Good luck with the dosecrease Ella - I wish I had an explanation for you... I just don't know. Maybe things have changed, like SIenne suggested. I hope the new dose will bring things down for Rusty.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top