9/27 Ollie PMPS 139, +2.5 84

Status
Not open for further replies.

Ollie(GA) & Patsy

Member Since 2011
Very excited to see Ollie with a 70 as AMPS :smile: One minor problem is I do smell a slight smell of insulin on his fur :shock: I have been so careful with fur shots...it isn't wet, just a slight smell...I guess I'll know soon enough :oops: :oops: Leave it to the bean!!! Need to get the coffee pot timer going so I get a ~O) in me before I attempt to shoot!

Have a good morning everyone!!! ~O) ~O) ~O)
 
Re: 9/27 Ollie AMPS 70

Thanks Dyana :-D I'm not a computer person at all. :oops: My friends are amazed I am even able to handle posting just regular messages here!

Before I started posting it took a week for my neighbor to help me get the spreadsheet together....I could see she never thought I was going to be able to handle a message board (this is my first and only). I am learning under fire so to speak!
 
Re: 9/27 Ollie AMPS 70

This is my first, and only message board, too.

Be sure to get a +1, k?

BTW, I also had a slight smell of insulin on my hand after I shot today, but it wasn't strong and my hand wasn't wet with it (nor was his fur), so I think it was just the insulin left on the outside of the syringe when I pushed the bubbles out that got on his fur. I think it is probably the same for you.

Have a Good Day! I'm off to get ready for work.. oh wait, I still have to post my condo (quickly).
 
Re: 9/27 Ollie AMPS 70, +2 35

Guess I didn't do a fur shot afterall!!!!

Just got a +2 and he's 35, I doubled checked and got 36 the 2nd time. I am feeding him HC food ,about a tablespoon and 1/2 now and will recheck him in about 20 minutes. He looks fine but very happy I checked him early (thanks Dyanna!)
 
Re: 9/27 Ollie AMPS 70, +2 35

Let me congratulate you once again on the dose decrease before I fall off my chair :o :o :o

Patsy....here we go again! You are sooo in control of this one - I can just read it in your typing ;-) ;-)

Ollie seems to hold his +2/+3 until about +6....are you around that long this morning?
 
Re: 9/27 Ollie AMPS 70, +2 35

Good morning and WOW! What a way to start your day huh? Way to go Ollie!!

Hope you are able to stick with him for a few hours. He is looking so great. Come on Ollie. You made your point. Now come back up into the safe greens.

Have a great day!
 
Re: 9/27 Ollie AMPS 70, +2 35

I've missed so much time at work...what's another day nailbite_smile

He does hold his numbers but is very carb senstive and I have brought out the big guns.

Going to test ...brb
 
Re: 9/27 Ollie AMPS 70, +2 35, +2.25 58

Excellent. I would bump him up just a bit more (maybe half LC half HC) and see if you can get him to a comfortable surfing number. Don't get me wrong....58 "ain't too shabby", but it's probably all carb as you mentioned!

Yeahh for you on that crummy boss of yours ;-) ;-)
 
Re: 9/27 Ollie AMPS 70, +2 35, +2.25 58

The 58 has got to be all carbs. Not sure how much he will continue to eat. He had a full breakfast before the HC. Of course since HC is involved he could be all over it!

He's hanging out with me and I plan to get another test in about 5 minutes.
 
Re: 9/27 Ollie AMPS 70, +2 35, +2.25 58

He's good at knowing when to eat and as you mentioned....the HC is such a treat - You could try just the gravy with a little karo if necessary..more bang for your buck.

The next few test should tell - Glad you two are taking a break in the interim ;-) ;-)
 
Re: 9/27 Ollie AMPS 70, +2 35, +2.25 58

When you're steering the numbers with HC, think in terms of teaspoons not tablespoons. You don't want your cat to get too full. If you have a point where you need to be giving HC over several hours, you want Ollie to eat and not throw up. Small amounts and frequent testing (i.e., lather, rinse, repeat).

Re. the insulin smell -- sometimes there's a drop or two on the syringe from when you're adjusting the dose. The syringe may transfer the insulin to the kittie's fur.
 
Re: 9/27 Ollie AMPS 70, +2 35, +2.25 58

WTG on the dosecrease!!!! Nice catch!!! This is exciting!!!! :-D :mrgreen:

Don't forget to post those #s on your SS as soon as you can. I just looked and they're not there.. yet. I know you've got your hands full right now, too. :lol:
 
Re: 9/27 Ollie AMPS 70, +2 35, +2.25 58

We are at 57. He wanted something to eat after test so I did give him a teaspoon of LC with some HC gravy on top.

I know it's early in the cycle so I'll keep a good eye on him.

Dose reduction tonight?
 
Re: 9/27 Ollie AMPS 70, +2 35, +2.25 58

With a 35 at +2, he's screaming for a reduction - Go Ollie go!
3347786959_76c21cdf89.jpg
 
Re: 9/27 Ollie AMPS 70, +2 35, +2.25 58

I "THINK" you have a dose reduction tonight, however, please wait for someone with more experience than I have to make that call for you, ok?

You're doing great!!!! You both are!!! :-D :mrgreen:
 
Re: 9/27 Ollie AMPS 70, +2 35, +3 57

He's carb steady at 57 @+3. I have not offered him any more food and he is snoozing on the couch.

Still have my eyes on him and not sure if 30 minute check or wait for +4. (?) Maybe I'll let him tell me since I don't want to fill him up or let him drop...guess that's why you call it a dance.
 
Re: 9/27 Ollie AMPS 70, +2 35, +3 57

This could be some good data collection for you....to see how long the carbs stay in his system. The last time you fed was at +2.5 correct? So we know at least 30 mins so far. I think the very max you could expect would be 2 hrs, so any tests in between that would be data for you!
 
Re: 9/27 Ollie AMPS 70, +2 35, +3 57, +4 41

We are 41 @+4. :shock:

So the food lasted a little over an hour before a drop to 41. That's still low so will continue the lather, rinse, repeat and test @ +4.5.

I did give him a teaspoon of MC food with some HC gravy mixed in @+4 which he finished and is in major grooming mode.
 
Re: 9/27 Ollie AMPS 70, +2 35, +3 57, +4 41

:lol: :lol: :lol: I don't know what it says but it must say it about me too! :lol: :lol: :lol:

Ollie is back to 57 @ +4.5...feeding him small amount again.

I haven't canceled a meeting I have at +6.5....I might try to make it if I am able to keep Ollie in a carb zone until +6 ish. He should be fine after that I suspect. :roll:
 
Re: 9/27 Ollie AMPS 70, +2 35, +3 57, +4 41

Maybe feed him a bit more qty and carb than you would normally before you leave just to ensure all is well in Ollie world while you're away.

Also...don't know if you have one, but if you don't....pick up an auto-feeder on the way home - you will love, love, love it, and it will take away any worries when you have this same situation from Ole' Drama King Ollie TOMORROW (I'm sure);-) ;-) ;-) .....

Patsy.....he is on fire this week!!! Love it!
 
Re: 9/27 Ollie AMPS 70, +2 35, +3 57, +4 41, +5 59

A 59 @ +5 with HC on board. Gave him another small HC spiked meal...served it to him on the couch :lol:

We have an auto feeder and he won't touch it. He is one strange cat about the auto feeder...almost afraid of it.

My neighbor is like an auto feeder :-D she will check in on him about an 1 1/2 hours after I leave. I will leave if I can keep him at least where he is now...59.
 
Re: 9/27 Ollie AMPS 70, +2 35, +3 57, +4 41, +5 59

hahaha - love the pictures this morning!

you're like an old pro, patsy! good job steering ollie - and look at him go! hope you get to make it to your meeting. these kitties take a lot of attention, don't they.
 
Re: 9/27 Ollie AMPS 70, +2 35, +3 57, +4 41, +5 59

Thanks Julie....Jessica has provided some comic relief. :lol: :lol: :lol: I made it to my meeting. Somehow I have to get back on a dose that I can leave him safely when I go off to work....he's on a fast track but I have to earn the $$$. This is the part I hate...

Ollie was 82 when I left at +6. Neighbor due to make sure he's upright and eatting the food I left him....which was MC.

I will need a dose reduction tonight and I guess it's 0.25 which would put us to 4.5u. Maybe some experienced eyes will look things over and let me know if that is correct.
 
Re: 9/27 Ollie AMPS 70, +2 35, +3 57, +4 41, +5 59

Wow Patsy, Ollie really meant business today!! Good catch on the +2 and getting him to surf on some nicer green #'s! You and Ollie are doing great!!
 
Re: 9/27 Ollie AMPS 70, +2 35, +3 57, +4 41, +5 59

Thanks Roberta...it wasn't easy and I hated giving him carbs but he needed some!

Dyana reminded me to get an early test (thank you Dyana!) or I might have waited until +3
 
Re: 9/27 Ollie AMPS 70, +2 35, +3 57, +4 41, +5 59

Thanks Roberta...it wasn't easy and I hated giving him carbs but he needed some!

Dyana reminded me to get an early test (thank you Dyana!) or I might have waited until +3
 
Re: 9/27 Ollie AMPS 70, +2 35, +3 57, +4 41, +5 59

Thanks Roberta...it wasn't easy and I hated giving him carbs but he needed some!

Dyana reminded me to get an early test (thank you Dyana!) or I might have waited until +3
 
Re: 9/27 Ollie AMPS 70, +2 35, +3 57, +4 41, +5 59

Patsy, what time do you shoot tonight? Can you get a +11?

Depending on where he goes the rest of this cycle, it might not be a bad idea to either skip or BCS the dose tonight to try to get ahead of Ollie's shed a little bit. Momentum is a good thing, but there is such a thing as too much momentum. Let's see where he goes the rest of the day.
 
Re: 9/27 Ollie AMPS 70, +2 35, +3 57, +4 41, +5 59

I shoot at 6pm EST and as long as I don't get stuck in traffic I should be home for a +11 @5pm.

I'll post the reading and see what your thoughts are then.

Libby...this is what he did back in July (7/7, I think) He came flying down. I was taking direction from his vet at that time.
 
Re: 9/27 Ollie AMPS 70, +11 160

I did a +11 for Ollie and it was 160. He had entire 5oz can of HC today....my neighbor said he asked for more food....she put the rest out and he ate it all. Hard to tell how much of the 160 is carb fueled.

Any thoughts for a dose?
 
Re: 9/27 Ollie AMPS 70, +11 160 ADVICE?

mmmm, i don't know, but hopefully libby or someone else who knows more can give you some input. at least this will bump you up.
 
Re: 9/27 Ollie AMPS 70, +11 160 ADVICE?

it looks like maybe he's bouncing a little (or it could be food, I guess we'll see at +12). He has definitely earned a reduction to 4.5 units BID.

What I was thinking was that since Ollie has been in the 50s (or lower) every cycle, even after several reductions, maybe his shed is a little over full. If he had been green for PMPS, I probably would have suggested either skipping or shooting a one-time reduced dose to see if we could empty the shed just a little bit. Even though that is counterintuitive, occasionally with a cat on a higher dose it can be a good idea to slow things down a little. That is especially true when they get into a cycle where they are earning repeated reductions every couple of cycles. Ollie probably *would* have done that, except you are good at managing his curves so you were able to hold onto this dose for 6 cycles.

Since he looks like he is heading for high blue or yellow, it is probably not necessary to drain the shed this time. Of course you can if you want to, it's totally up to you. Definitely keep that idea in your back pocket, though, in case his reductions start to really come fast.
 
Re: 9/27 Ollie AMPS 70, +11 160 ADVICE?

Thanks Libby...I just did his PMPS and it's 139. Not real sure where that puts things but he's coming down...or so it seems.

Does this test give you some better info.

Also....Neighbor came at 2pm...he had finished the MC I put down and she fed him the remaining HC...which was finished by the time I got in at 5pm.
 
Re: 9/27 Ollie AMPS 70, +11 160 ADVICE?

well, with the bounce maybe over already ;-) even if you shoot the new dose of 4.5 tonight, he will probably still surf low thanks to the shed. How are you doing? You've had some late nights. You also had to struggle a bit to bring him up today.

You can absolutely shoot full dose if you want to and if you can monitor (that's what the protocol would have you do), but giving a smaller dose tonight (maybe 3 units?) is also a valid option. I have done that before, especially when I felt like I was losing control of the numbers.
 
Re: 9/27 Ollie AMPS 70, +11 160 ADVICE?

Honestly....I'm walking dead tired. Really need a good nights sleep and need to be at work tomorrow. Even if I am the "board wimp" it sounds good to shoot the 3u and see what happens tonight....
 
Re: 9/27 Ollie PMPS 139

I want to read your whole condo, but have to run to a meeting.
What an exciting day you had. :-D
Good luck with the one time dose reduction. I hope you can get a good night's sleep. I would still, even though you are planning on getting some much needed sleep, set up some alarms to test during the night. :YMHUG:
 
Ollie is down to 84 @ +2.5.....I am so glad I wimped on tonight's dose!! I can't believe he's this low after all the HC and MC he had today. Looks like I better keep an eye on him a while longer tonight.

Thank you all for the support today...and always! This board is an amazing place :-D
 
he still has some shed action from this morning's dose, but hopefully it will be easier for you to control the cycle with less insulin. Feed a little now to see if you can get him to surf...
 
Ok...I just gave him a good teaspoon of BFF Tuna & Chicken...served on the couch...Ollie is thrilled! My chubby guy has been offered food all day :lol:

Let's see if Ollie remembers how to surf :razz:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top