? 9/27 MABLE PMPS +1-77 NEED DOSING ADVICE +2 59, +3 69

Courtney & Mable

Member Since 2021
yesterdays post
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/thr...6-5-100-10-125-pmps-122-2-120-amps-86.253500/


So we're considering TR only because I can't not shoot again today. I didn't shoot this morning either. Today would be a drop dose reduction on SLGS. What else would I reduce to? Im not sure shes ready for OTJ just yet.

Can I still do the drop dose on SLGS at 77? I'm glad she's green but also what the heck. It is shot time now. Because we skipped a shot earlier I tried to test an hour earlier in case we had to stall. I think she would be OK but can someone else help confirm?
 
I agree -- Mable isn't ready for a dose reduction or OTJ. You do test enough to use TR -- but, you're going to have to commit to getting a before bed test every single night. With TR, you're going to have to get comfortable with shooting lower numbers. Do you think you can do that?

As for tonight, if you switch to TR, do you have a supply of strips and high carb food if you need it and can you stay up to monitor Mable's numbers?
 
Hello, this is Rob, Courtney's boyfriend. She requested that I post for her while she gets our stuff together for Mable. I tried to do a drop dose, not sure if it was successfully injected due to needle still having a miniscule amount of insulin post injection. We did another test an hour later and is was down by 3 points at 74. Thank you all for supporting us and our little Bean.
 
Oh that's good! How do you feel about testing once more before bed, either +4 or +5 just to be sure she's not up to any shenanigans? Usually when the +2 is lower then preshot, that can indicate a more active cycle, with more monitoring needed, but it seems the MC helped prop her up. Out of curiosity what % carb are you using as MC? It often helps to add the info in the remarks, so you can see what worked and what didn't in the future, and of course for those of us who pop in to give you a little guidance :)
 
FF Grilled around 12%. Should we get a higher carb wet food too?

Its 11pm so it's not ideal to do every night but i get why it's necessary and I am very tired but rob is also up and checking on things. It makes me pretty nervous to shoot so low but i dont know what the alternative is, we can't give her one shot a day (I know some people do but i dont think lantus works best that way)
 
No that's good, as I said, it's all about what works for your cat, although in a pinch, I'd stock up a little higher carb like the FF Gravy lovers, just in case the 12% doesn't get the results you need next time. Since there haven't been a lot of mid cycles at night, I'm just erring on the side of caution with my suggestion for one more test before bed.
 
I'd like to correct that we actually do need to be in bed now. Rob has difficult sleeping so he'll be checking on Mable when he wakes up every other hour like he usually does.
 
A +4 will tell you if she's flat or on the rise. That will work just fine. If still flat or trending up, she likely doesn't need additional monitoring, maybe just a little LC snack then you can get some sleep.
 
Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers Gourmet Beef Feast in Gravy 20% High Carbs



Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers Gourmet Chicken Feast in Gravy. 15% Med Carbs




Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers Turkey Feast in Gravy. 15% Med Carbs


Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers Chicken and Beef Feast in Gravy 15% Med Carbs



Good idea to mark the cans with magic marker how many carbs
 
AMPS today are 77. Shot is so late we've been trying to test for an hour and a half, it has to get moved back to the correct time.
I stayed home today so I'm around to test if I need to.​
 
Good morning, This is Rob, just did a +2 test on Mable with numbers of 47,53,49. Just gave her some medium carb food and a few treats. Mable appears to be getting back into her old self again and is being more interactive with us.
 
Back
Top