9/27 Kismet AMPS 141, +13 65, +14 66

Status
Not open for further replies.

Courtney and Kismet

Member Since 2012
Good morning everyone! Kismet was BEBT this morning stomping around on my chest an hour early asking for breakfast. I gave him a break last night and didn't test at all between PMPS+2 and AMPS this morning. I was going to get his +3 last night, but we both fell asleep with his head on my chest. He is the most cuddly cat ever, see the photo of him laying on me in his profile... that's pretty standard! My little love bug.

Yesterday's condo

Yesterday
AMPS-136 --- 1/2 can DM. Shot .25u, I think... hard time getting measurement.
+1------176
+2------166
+6------172
+7------163
+8------161
PMPS-137
+2------164
PMPS--65

Today
AMPS--141
+1-------156
+2-------143

Hope everyone has a great day and vines to all who need them.
 
Re: 9/27 Kismet AMPS 141

You all probably needed the sleep. :)
Hope he surfs blue all day and avoids the extremes.
 
Re: 9/27 Kismet AMPS 141

Your link isn't working. You don't have the first command in brackets -- it's in { }.

Kismet's numbers look great!! I saw the note on your SS about strips. FWIW, Arkray strips work in the Relion meters. (Arkray manufactures the Walmart meter.) You can order strips at ADW.
 
Re: 9/27 Kismet AMPS 141

Thanks, Karen! I hope so too. We are out of the house all day. I have a short break between this afternoon between 4-6 when I normally get something to eat and catch up on a bit of work before my evening class but I may pop home to check on him. I may not be able to come home though. :/ I hope you have a great day with Furball! More greens and blues for you, paws crossed!
 
Re: 9/27 Kismet AMPS 141

Whoops! Thanks for catching that, Sienne! And thanks for the tip on the strips! I may need to grab some because we are getting low and it will be a few days before I get them in the mail.
 
Re: 9/27 Kismet AMPS 141

Thanks, Jane! I'm hoping by this weekend we will be ready for another reduction (since it's the only time I really have to do curves!) *paws crossed Hope you are having a great day :D
 
Re: 9/27 Kismet AMPS 141, +1 156,+2 143

Oooo that'd be awesome! Fingers crossed for a reduction - be patient though, k? Just in case it doesn't come through when you hope it will ;-)

Thanks so much for flagging Karen/Furball's post! Great stuff!

Hugs
Jane
 
Re: 9/27 Kismet AMPS 141, +1 156,+2 143

Courtney-
That would be so cool if you did a reduction. But how you get .1U is beyond me!!! I don't even know how we are doing .25U with any sort of accurancy.

I don't want to be at work. Hopefully Fur Ball's numbers are on the rise. Greg wasn't able to stay home either and I couldn't cancel all the clients I have today. Ugh. Guess we'll never know where his numbers went but hopefully we were at or about at nadir from our last check and he stabilized.

Thanks for all your support. I really appreciate it. Hope you had a wonderful day and will look forward to seeing where Kismet lands. :smile:
 
Re: 9/27 Kismet AMPS 141, PMPS 65?!?!

Thanks, Jane! I am very patient, the most important thing is that he is well and if he needs the juice, he will get the juice!

Hi Karen! Great job today! It's exciting to see how Fur Ball and Kismet are progressing. They were diagnosed in the same week so it's like they're blood brothers :) :) Although we didn't receive the Dx until the 12th, the blood test/visit to the vet was on the 7th, just two days after FB's Dx. I hope they are both OTJ soon!

Tonight is my late night, so K was very demanding and hungry when I got home. I got held up a bit at work so I didn't test/feed until 10pm, an hour later than usual. His PMPS is 65! I double checked and got a 64. Woah! I'm holding his shot tonight. I will test again in an hour to see where he is... crazy! He's acting perfectly normal though and was very vocal about wanting his dinner. This seems odd to me. Why would he drop so low so late in the cycle?
 
Re: 9/27 Kismet AMPS 141, PMPS 65?!?!

Stalling... He attacked his food as soon as I put it down but only ate a few mouthfuls which is very unusual for him, he normally inhales his dinner. It is a new food, FF Turkey and Giblets, one he has not had before. I'm not sure if he's just not interested or not hungry. I am going to give him some FF chicken feast and see if he'll eat that then I will wait 15-20 minutes and retest.
 
Re: 9/27 Kismet AMPS 141, PMPS 65?!?!

Courtney......no food when stalling!!! None unless they are in the 40s! Now you will be shooting a food spike....not a good place to be.

How long can you stall? You will have to make the time up in 15 min increments each cycle or 30 min/once a day. Even if he comes right up, I won't be comfortable with you shooting until at least an hour after he eats. Can you stall that long?
 
Re: 9/27 Kismet AMPS 141, PMPS 65?!?!

No worries because he's not eating anyway. I've taken up his food, though. Should I just skip the dose tonight? Or can I shoot .1? I cannot stay up late tonight to test, I have a very important meeting tomorrow morning and then a very important function tomorrow night that I need to be BEBT for. I don't know what to make of this low PMPS. What's going on with him?
 
Re: 9/27 Kismet AMPS 141, PMPS 65?!?!

He might be clearing a little bounce.

I'm not a fan of skipping shots unless it is unsafe to shoot. Some of the things to consider are:

--how fast is he dropping? We don't know. That's why it is always a good idea to get an in the door test.
--exactly how much food did he eat?

If we stall, we don't typically shoot a BCS (reduced dose) as stalling is the same as a dose reduction if you've stalled more than 30 minutes. The problem with skipping or shooting a reduced dose is his depot is in play here; so regardless of whether you skip or shoot a BCS, his cycle is likely to still be an active one and you won't see the effects of the skip or the BCS until late in this cycle or tomorrow. However, he can't hypo without a shot of insulin on board although you will need to test him until you get a couple of rising, non food influenced numbers.

Your call.
 
Re: 9/27 Kismet AMPS 141, PMPS 65?!?!

What's going on with him?

Courtney,
What's going on with him is that he's showing rapid improvement and he's trying his best to kick his "insulin habit". :-D He's on a very low dose, and he's giving you beautiful numbers. Sometimes, you just have to sit back, watch, and smile a lot.

Carl
 
Re: 9/27 Kismet AMPS 141, PMPS 65?!?!

I was an hour late getting home (I got held up by some students after class) so he was already stalled an hour, and we're creeping up on two hours since the end of the last cycle. He ate a tbsp. I can get maybe 2 more tests in tonight. Ugh, I screwed up tonight :sad: He was so demanding for food I didn't think anything of it, I just put the food down. I guess since we've stalled so long it's the same thing as skipping a dose anyway?
 
Re: 9/27 Kismet AMPS 141, PMPS 65?!?!

As far as dose goes.... Marje is right. A lot of what you are seeing is from the depot, which is still adjusting downwards from the cycles he was getting .5u. He hasn't been on the .25u dose for long (4 cycles). And skipping or reducing often doesn't show instant results like you would expect to see.

I'd definitely defer to any dose advice from the very experienced folks here, like Marje and Sienne.

Carl
 
Re: 9/27 Kismet AMPS 141, PMPS 65?!?!

No...stalling two hours is fairly normal and is not the same as skipping. When you skip, the kitty will see the effects of that skipped shot in subsequent cycles....so you may see higher numbers tomorrow. With stalling you are still getting insulin in him.

IMHO, I'd check him and see where he is. The big thing is going to be whether you are going to be able to shoot him two hours late - 15 mins tomorrow morning. If you can't or your DH can't, I'd skip.
 
Re: 9/27 Kismet AMPS 141, PMPS 65?!?!

How far off schedule can you afford to be? If you were to shoot 2 hours late tonight, the earliest you could shoot tomorrow AM is at +11.5.
 
Re: 9/27 Kismet AMPS 141, PMPS 65?!?!

DH can shoot tomorrow. I am going to check him in 10 minutes which will be PMBG +1 and will come back here with that number. Looking at his dish I would actually say that a tbsp is a liberal guesstimation.
 
Re: 9/27 Kismet AMPS 141, PMPS 65?!?!

10 minutes is good. It'll make it a nice round number time going forward.
Carl
 
Re: 9/27 Kismet AMPS 141, PMPS 65?!?!

The 66....that's an hour after eating a tbsp or less of food, right?

Carl
 
Re: 9/27 Kismet AMPS 141, PMPS 65, +1 66

I'd wait for confirmation, but I think "yes"?

Carl
 
Re: 9/27 Kismet AMPS 141, PMPS 65?!?!

It's actually called +13 if you are one hour past when you would normally shoot but I thought you were two hours past?

Courtney and Kismet said:
we're creeping up on two hours

Just remember it's going to take you a few days to get back on schedule.

If it were me, I'd shoot and feed. BUT.....you aren't me....you have to work tomorrow and I can't tell you what his cycle will look like whether you shoot or skip. Can DH test him tonight? Can you get a +1 and +2 and then set an alarm to test him later?
 
Re: 9/27 Kismet AMPS 141, PMPS 65, +1 66

Courtney:

When we don't shoot at all, then it's PMBG 65 or PM blood glucose. That shows you didn't shoot.

If you are stalling, then you continue to count the hours since the last shot. So if you are one hour past when you normally shoot in the pm, it's +13. If you are two hours past, it's +14.
 
Re: 9/27 Kismet AMPS 141, PMPS 65, +1 66

Sorry, still don't know all the vocabulary/technicalities yet. Yes, we are 2 hours past normal shot time. So +14?

I can stay up and test, DH won't do it. If I skip, can I shoot him at his normal time tomorrow? If not, I'm going to shoot, feed, and just drink a lot of coffee tomorrow morning. I won't be here to get PMPS number, but I should be able to get +9 and maybe +10. DH won't test. We tried earlier and his hand shook so bad that he just refuses to do it.
 
Re: 9/27 Kismet AMPS 141, PMPS 65, +1 66

Courtney,
If you skip, you can shoot at whatever time you want to shoot in the morning. Normal time, early if you want to change your schedule going forward.

If you do shoot, me, Marje, and others can be up with you, so it's all your call.

Carl
 
Re: 9/27 Kismet AMPS 141, PMPS 65, +1 66

If you skip, you shoot at your normal time tomorrow or if you want to adjust the time, you can.

Carl and I are both available to stay up with you if you shoot. If you do shoot, please feed and get a +1. I have to go give my Gussie fluids now and I will check back...it will only take 15 minutes.
 
Re: 9/27 Kismet AMPS 141, PMPS 65, +1 66

Oh Courtney.
Just doing a quick read on your post. Looks like our kiddos are dancing a similar dance tonight. Ughhh. And I don't even drink coffee!!!

can't offer much advice but can be on line for support. :smile:

Hang in there.
karen
 
Re: 9/27 Kismet AMPS 141, PMPS 65, +1 66

I want to do what is best for Kismet. That's all that really matters. It would be easier for me to skip so I can get him on his normal schedule tomorrow and get the AMPS since DH won't test. If I do shoot tonight, it's going to create a whole bunch of uncertainties tomorrow. It's really a matter of what is going to be best for him... I can shoot tonight, but I won't be here to monitor tomorrow. Or I can skip tonight and be able to at least get his AMPS in the morning and feed him on his normal schedule. At this point, I think it might be wiser to skip, but I'm not sure. What's better for him? Shooting tonight but not getting AMPS in the morning, or not shooting tonight and getting his AMPS?
 
Re: 9/27 Kismet AMPS 141, PMPS 65, +1 66

This is just my opinion, but I think that being able to get the AMPS before shooting in the morning is the better option. If you aren't going to be around to monitor tomorrow, you wouldn't want to be shooting blind in the morning.

Carl
 
Ok, since I've stalled so long I am going to skip. It makes more sense. I am going to monitor him tonight as much as I can and will get him back on his normal schedule tomorrow. I am so overwhelmed/feeling so stupid that I feel like crying. This has been a very intense week for me and tomorrow is such an important day for me, career wise, I really need to be at my best. I am going to feed K, get a few more readings, and be back in the morning. Thanks for your help!
 
Hang in there Courtney. You are doing good and learning along the way. Just take a couple deep breaths. You've got a great support team.

Karen
 
You're very welcome, Courtney.
And please, don't feel "stupid" and like crying. This isn't easy stuff for anyone - a few months from now you might look back (like I did) and say "wow, that really wasn't as bad as I thought back then". But in the moment? Yeah, it's not easy to live it. It's about the "bean" as much as it is about the kitty. Kismet needs you to be in tip-top shape, so you need to take care of you too.

Skipping tonight isn't going to cause long-term big problems. It's just a bump in the road. Put it in your rearview and get a good night's sleep. Tomorrow's a new day!

Carl
 
(((Courtney)))

There's not a single time in this dance that every one of us does not feel like crying. It is frustrating and it can be hard. All you can do is your best and you have to factor in your life. AND, I would never ever suggest someone
skip a PS test. It's more dangerous to skip a PS test than to skip. It's a blip...he'll get back on track. He might even surprise you if his depot is large enough to carry him through until he gets juice in him tomorrow.

One word of caution....IF he is high tomorrow (and I'd be surprised if he'd be more than 200 at the worst), do not be tempted to give him more insulin. Shoot .25u.

Sleep well. Don't worry!!!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top