9-27 Kazi AMPS: 142

Status
Not open for further replies.

Amanda

Member Since 2010
I haven't made a condo in so long...just don't have the time in the morning these days & by the time I do the day is nearly done. Might have to start writing it down and just doing it at work! ;-)

Kazi and I have had a very...frustrating morning and past few days. Ever since we had to switch from the Special Kitty getting her to eat has been a chore most days. I KNOW she liked the chicken classic as she ate it 3 times with enthusiasm...now she turns her nose up at it. Same with the beef. She snubbed the Merrick BG line...and the Instinct food flat out. This morning she ate MAYBE an oz of the FF despite numerous sprinklings of Fortiflora and Chicken dust. I grabbed my last can of SK and with two generous sprinklings of Fortiflora she ate 1.5 oz or so...roughly 2/3 of the half of the 5.5oz can I gave her.

Her numbers had been running a bit high - and I increased her dose a smidge. Then we had to switch to the FF which is roughly twice the carb content of her previous food. I *hope* that the combination of the two caused her numbers to go up even further. Friday morning she was 303 that is UNHEARD of for her. I very nearly went to the vet that morning...but decided to increase her dose instead and see what played out. I am seeing some normal/higher numbers in the morning...and still the low 200s at PMPS.

I am frustrated. I yelled at her this morning which didn't help anything. :sad: I saw that the Special Kitty is back with a "new formula" so I suppose I will go get a couple cans of that and see if she'll eat it. She has never been a big eater but the last few days have been ridiculous. It is taking me 30-45 minutes to get her to eat her breakfast/dinner. Snacks we usually have better luck with...yesterday she ate all of both of her snacks of the Tuna flavor of FF. I just don't know if something is wrong or if she has decided she has had enough of the food she "doesn't like".

I have an event tonight and my Mom was supposed to feed and shoot for me. Now I don't even know if she'll be able to do that with the way things have been going. I could honestly just cry right now.
 
Jill has mentioned that even with the same carb content, Alex's numbers will temporarily go up with a food change. It takes a couple of days for everything to go back to normal. Kazi may be one of those cats who doesn't take to change especially well.

If tuna seems to be a hit, you could always use a bit of tuna water (low sodium and no soy) in her food.

The other consideration is if Kazi will more reliably eat a food that's a bit higher in carbs, why not feed that and adjust the insulin if necessary?
 
:YMHUG: sounds very frustrating amanda! i hope kazi will get a little easier to feed - amazing how picky cats can be, isn't it.

do you suppose back in the day they said "i'm tired of mouse and bird. what else is on the menu?" ;-)
 
Re: 9-27 Kazi AMPS: 142 +3:88

Sienne - thanks for the tip. I will pick up some Tuna water - lately she has been licking the chicken dust/fortiflora off the food instead of eating. Maybe that will help some.

I went to Walmart this morning and got some of the SK Mixed Grill and some FF Mixed Grill. Fed her half a 3oz can of FF Mixed grill...and she ate it all with a sprinkle of freeze dried salmon on top. Both the FF and SK are meat by-products as the #1 ingredient which I am not wild about...but I suppose as long as she is eating that is what matters most!
 
So good to see an Amanda & Kami-Kazi condo..
but sorry to hear you're having feeding issues.

We worry so when they go off routine, especially food problems.
I'm seeing it with Binks for the first time lately...
and have a new understanding of what it's like for folks with picky eaters.

Sending good appetite vibes to kazi...and a big hug to you!
 
Hi Amanda its always a worry if they change their routine hope she likes the food you bought I have had issues lately with getting Do Lou to eat he is so picky (((((hugs)))) to you
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top