9/27 Jack amps 102 +2 142 +8 133

Status
Not open for further replies.

saltycat

Member Since 2016
last condo

Jack sure did things his way yesterday, we went from amps of 474 to pmps of 86.. Almost a 400pt drop, with a vet visit in the middle. Knowing he gets some momentum from those drops, he got some late night tests and fuds. With him dropping under 70 and probably would have been under 50 without food, he earned another reduction:cat:. He got a bit of a depot drainer this morning and we'll start the new dose tonight.

He has me a little concerned with his recent weight loss and changes in hangout spots and behavior... Hopefully I'm just being a helicopter-bean.

Found a nice local compounding pharmacy that got the Gabapentin compound done today. Gave him his first dose an hour or so ago and am hoping it helps him feel a bit better. Now to order some pro-biotics... taking care of the panther is feeling like a full-time job lately:rolleyes:.

Labs should be in tomorrow and paws crossed that it comes back good and we can get some answers on the recent weight loss.

Vines for all those that could use a few.
 
High red AMPS to green PMPS is a big drop but seems holding at 9u worked fine. He came close to earning another reducie after your depot drain today. What probiotics are you getting?
 
It looked like a bounce was clearing and he sure did it with gusto. My newish reduction number is 70 since his dose nosedived as he broke the IAA finally. I think he would have gone under 50 last night without some steering. I'm going to see how he does on 8u and can always go back up if needed.

Wendy gave me a good link to some probiotic info on the feline IBD webpage. I am not sure which probiotic would be good for him, any recommendations? I see in your sig you were/are using renewlife, which version of it are you using and would you recommend it?

Looks like Bronx finally got over being back in the 20's... Let's see him work that 14u and keep heading toward single digit land. It feels really strange *only* dosing 9u.
 
Better safe then sorry and Jack has been holding those reducies (anti-jinx). I hope the BW comes back with some direction as to why he's losing weight :( I believe Wendy gave you the link to IBD Kitties page which is the L&LL for IBD kitties IMO. I've used the Renew Life Ultimate Flora 15 or 30 Billion. They are safe and effective. Also recommend vitamin B. I gave Doodles 1/2 capsule twice a day for IBD and neuropathy. It just gives them more support and what ever their body doesn't use is urinated out.
 
II see in your sig you were/are using renewlife, which version of it are you using and would you recommend it?

RenewLife Extra Care Ultimate Flora 50Billion. I give him 1/2 capsule every morning and then digestive enzymes at night. Many recommended it, so that's why I started it (and already had it in my fridge since I take it). Can't say if if is working any better or worse than the cat-specific probiotics I was giving before that. I also use a little FortiFlora, but that is mainly to get him to eat some of his supplements that he doesn't like. FortiFlora is like kitty crack, but I know the Captain has no problem eating him meals.
 
Better safe then sorry and Jack has been holding those reducies (anti-jinx). I hope the BW comes back with some direction as to why he's losing weight
I would have laughed if someone told me I'd be down to 8u at the start of the year when we were in the 30's. Crazy how things can change.
That makes 2 of us on the B/W. It is concerning to me as well, ever since he was a kitten I have fought to keep his weight down, not up. I'll be more nervous tomorrow about his results then I would about my own.
He gets methylcobalamine which is a B vitamin for the neuropathy at dinner every night. I thought for IBD there was an injection of B vitamins that were different, still a bit new to dealing with potential GI issues. Maybe it was just the b12 / folate on the test that could point to potential GI issues.

Thanks Paul, from what I have read so far the pet specific ones seem to be very weak and/or contain only a few strains compared to ones like the RenewLife that are more potent and contain a better diversity of bacteria. I'll get some of the RenewLife ordered and might steal a few from Jack for myself:D. Wendy mentioned the fortiflora is not much of a probiotic(only 1 strain and not very much of it), but is good for finicky eaters.
 
I see Jack is still keeping you on your toes. I used Florastor when I had to give Furball an AB to help keep her from having diarrhea. I hope you get some answers from the test results.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top