9/27 Elmo AMPS 96 +2. 330, +5 495,+10 432,PMPS 572, +2 HI

If he's not eating, I would not give insulin. If you can be off schedule, you can keep trying to get him to eat and then shoot as long as you can monitor today.
I could syringe feed a few teaspoons ....I didn’t test last night after PMPS because he was HI and so tired of being poked ...and I was just flat tired of poking .....never would have expected this ....
 
If you don't think he will eat well during the day today, you may want to skip. I didn't expect this after the HI last night either. If you schedule allows it, you may want to start regularly getting a +10 or +11 in the PM cycle so you'll know if Elmo is going up or down at AMPS.
 
Usually shoot now .....I have a half hour from now before he gets off schedule , correct ? I’ve never done this before , being off schedule ...how does that work ?
 
With AMPS that low and Elmo not interested in food, I don't think I'd chance giving any insulin this AM. You don't want to end up with low numbers, having to syringe food continually hoping his tummy isn't going to get upset. Elmo is definitely on a mission and keeping you guessing as to what his next trick will be.

If you shoot off schedule then you have to work your way back either in 15 minute per cycle increments or 30 minutes per day. The other thing you can do it two 18 hour cycles for instance. Just depends on how long you delay.
 
When you shoot late, your PM shot is 12 hours from the actual time you give the shot this morning. Then tomorrow you'll start working the shot back to your regular shot time. You can safely move the shot in one 30 min. increment per day or two 15 min. increments.
 
Is eating now .....shoot ?. He is a grazer. At least he’s at his dishes to eat ....nope, not eating ....removed food.... will test again in 15 minutes which will be 30 minutes late shot time
 
Oh Elmo, why the food rejection buddy?! I hope he starts eating for you. It's so scary when you have a diabetic refusing to eat. Especially considering his steep drop from last night. Sending appy vines!! :bighug:
 
Wow Elmo! NS means you get to relax a bit more.

I hope he eats for you. Ming is like that in the morning. He'll whine for food and then I'll put the dish down and he'll walk away.....
 
Skipping shot this AM.....as of now , comes to food then turns up nose and walks away.....he usually eats over night but ate nothing last night... had early morning small vile vomit ...giving SEB.....I’m going to try to nap today , just in case we he has PM party plans :woot:
 
He must have overdone it at Bubba's party last night. OK, fine, Elmo-- you can sleep it off today, but you are back on the clock tonight, mister!
 
After I go to bed and he’s HI and then wake up to a 96, causes one to wonder what the heck happened overnight while I slept....if going to bed when he’s HI isn’t safe then what the heck is ????? :woot:
 
After I go to bed and he’s HI and then wake up to a 96, causes one to wonder what the heck happened overnight while I slept....if going to bed when he’s HI isn’t safe then what the heck is ????? :woot:

Alternate way of looking at things: he's been spending a lot more time in dark greens and blues lately-- good, healthy numbers. Maybe he's been getting used to them again, and has decided to get back down there in a hurry after a bounce so he can spend more time there?
 
Oh Elmo, you could have come over to our house last night for fun and games. I had the meter fired up and food spread on the counter- bet there would have been something you liked:cool:.
 
Oh Elmo, you could have come over to our house last night for fun and games. I had the meter fired up and food spread on the counter- bet there would have been something you liked:cool:.
Oh, Suzanne, was just reading your thread from last night. I’m so sorry Elmo’s rascally ways have rubbed off on LT.:( We both need to rest today as we don’t know what the Dynamic Duo of LT and E may pull next :cat::cat: I don’t even want to think about it :rolleyes:
 
Alternate way of looking at things: he's been spending a lot more time in dark greens and blues lately-- good, healthy numbers. Maybe he's been getting used to them again, and has decided to get back down there in a hurry after a bounce so he can spend more time there?
Thot that too, Nan . I’m just ready for whatever after the HI to 96 he pulled last night .....this cat !!!!
 
It looks like Elmo will let you take a nap today if you need one. I hope he gets over whatever is making him not want to eat soon. Sending prayers.
 
Sorry about all the shenanigans...sorry you have to miss his shot this morning too :( It's a difficult journey to be sure...but there's always another opportunity just 12 hours away :)
 
At some point, you are going to half to shoot lower numbers. All this yo-yo’ing from Hi to green can’t feel good and hinders progress. Maybe next time you see he is rising, like at that 136, you do a half dose, just to prevent the numbers shooting into space. If you need to syringe feed to get him to eat, so be it. Regardless of shooting, he needs his calories. When Neko was off her feed at shot time, I syringed in a little higher LC, like Royal Canin Recovery. Often getting food in the tummy makes them feel good and gets them eating. Insulin does more than combat the carbs in food, it is how the fuel gets into the bodies cells.
 
+2 330....giving thyroids plus syringing LC snack ....at +3 still not eating...syringed ab a teaspoon with thyroids
 
Last edited:
At some point, you are going to half to shoot lower numbers. All this yo-yo’ing from Hi to green can’t feel good and hinders progress. Maybe next time you see he is rising, like at that 136, you do a half dose, just to prevent the numbers shooting into space. If you need to syringe feed to get him to eat, so be it. Regardless of shooting, he needs his calories. When Neko was off her feed at shot time, I syringed in a little higher LC, like Royal Canin Recovery. Often getting food in the tummy makes them feel good and gets them eating. Insulin does more than combat the carbs in food, it is how the fuel gets into the bodies cells.
Thanks ,Wendy, for weighing in ....don’t know what I’d do without all of the experience on this Board...those of you who have gone before in this journey :)
 
@Wendy&Neko Wendy , how high is phosphorus in the RC Recovery ??? I have Science Diet a/d but it is 12 carbs and 209 pho’s.....is 12 carbs considered high LC ??? Or low MC ?.
 
You do a great job testing, and can be around to monitor most days. A half dose let’s you gather data, and eventually build up to the full dose on a lower preshot. When following TR, shooting greens is what leads to regulation, and if all goes well, that other word starting with R. The only times I gave Neko a lower dose, even if not eating, was when she was threatening a reduction or I wasn’t around to monitor and she was low. One thing that helped me, is that when kitties have to undergo anesthesia and cannot eat, vets still suggest half a dose. A half dose should be safe.
 
You do a great job testing, and can be around to monitor most days. A half dose let’s you gather data, and eventually build up to the full dose on a lower preshot. When following TR, shooting greens is what leads to regulation, and if all goes well, that other word starting with R. The only times I gave Neko a lower dose, even if not eating, was when she was threatening a reduction or I wasn’t around to monitor and she was low. One thing that helped me, is that when kitties have to undergo anesthesia and cannot eat, vets still suggest half a dose. A half dose should be safe.
What is considered high LC ? A 10 carb ??? I have 12 carb science diet a/d
 
LC maxes out at 10%. I used around 8%, which worked for Neko. It was double her usual LC. But ECID on carb sensitivity.
 
LC maxes out at 10%. I used around 8%, which worked for Neko. It was double her usual LC. But ECID on carb sensitivity.
What food was that ? I have Whole Earth Chicken that is 10 and lower pho’s...I could keep that handy for next time ... I’d still be looking at syringing....he will not always eat when food put in front of him ..... syringing when it’s needed is common...never has been a big,consistent eater
 
I used the Weruva Lamb Burgini, 8% and lowish P. Been a while :(, trying to remember if there was another one too.
 
I have different selection available in Canada. We get about 3/4 of the ones you have, plus have some of our own. You can always do half and half with MC and LC to get a higher LC.
 
I have different selection available in Canada. We get about 3/4 of the ones you have, plus have some of our own. You can always do half and half with MC and LC to get a higher LC.
Wendy , Thank you for these methods :) With Elmo, as im sure you’ve seen, he dives not slides down. And it takes lots of steering and lots of MC HC to keep him in safe numbers. Not real happy ab the giving of HC to keep him safe ( he was hospitalized 3 days 3 years ago for DKA) and it would be awesome to keep him from going high by possibly preempting with this .Willing to do what it takes to stop or at least cut into these extremes of black one day and green the next . There has to be a way to find the happy medium.
 
Last edited:
Back
Top