9/27 Autumn amps 63, +6~146, pmps~340, +3~349, +6~235

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 9/27 Autumn amps 63

Same here. ;-)

The last few days I've been stalling until he reaches 70, which works great for everything but the shooting schedule.

I'm just about to the point of shooting a rising 60.
 
Re: 9/27 Autumn amps 63

Mel, I see you are slowly reducing her. Keeping paws crossed here.....

Dale, please add a comment to your signature line that you are doing Tight Regulation or something. When I see someone shooting a 60, it scares me. I would never do it myself and it is not safe for the average person. I don't want new people to feel that is something they should be doing, or even could be doing without a lot of experience and data and so on. Thanks.
 
Re: 9/27 Autumn amps 63

Wow look at Chip go!!!! Now if Autumn can just take a page from Chip's play book. :-D Of course Autumn would give me a nice green preshot this morning since I was planning on going back to bed after everyone was fed, pottied, tested and shot. ohmygod_smile Guess I will be setting the alarm for every couple of hours so I can keep an eye on her and steer her if needed with food.

Mel, Maxwell, Autumn & The Fur Gang
 
Re: 9/27 Autumn amps 63

Ahhh...a "Green Eggs and Ham" kinda morning? *LOL*

Autumn and Chip are doing awesome!

Mel, I just noticed you're starting Autumn on Levemir, too? I hope she does much better on the Lev! And...have you posted any current photos of the little girl? Is she still in lust with Maxwell?

Suze
 
Re: 9/27 Autumn amps 63

Oh, she has a crush on Maxwell? Can't blame her! They would make a handsome/beautiful couple.

(I might be transferring some of my yearning for a long-haired orange and white boy here.... :roll: ) Seriously, I am insanely jealous of Mel and Jon's beautiful kitties. Might be a bit of "grass is greener..." though, I have to admit. :lol:
 
Re: 9/27 Autumn amps 63, +6~146

Looks like we are going to surf the blues today after a green start but then again she had a fairly late nadir on Lantus (around +8) so I suspect she still will nadir late if not slightly later on the Lev...but it definitely already look like it agrees with her.

Yep Suze we made the switch last night...her vetty bean wanted her off Lantus and on Levemir as he likes and understands Lev better it is what his wife's cat went into remission on. Who knew this little half a horse town had a foreward thinking vetty bean (after I trained him with Maxwell..lol).

Mel, Maxwell, Autumn & The Fur Gang
 
Re: 9/27 Autumn amps 63, +6~146

Sheila anytime you want to head out to Nebraska you are more than welcome to stay at Chez Dickerson and get the full experience...lol Remember that there are 6 long-hairs, 4 meezers, 2 Abby/Mau flying cats, 1 furry doormat normal fat cat and the terrible tuxie twins...lol. There are also 15 litter boxes to clean and we aren't even going to discuss the amount of cat hair that I sweep up several times a day....Here cat hair in your food isn't a problem it is a condiment. :lol: :lol:

I always get a chuckle when someone finds out that I don't have a paying job and say "Oh so you don't work?" Oh I work alright I just don't get a paycheck...I run an asylum, a animal sanctuary and a day care all at once most days. My house is strewn with cat and dog toys, I vaccum more carpet on cat trees and perches than I do on the floor, ripped all that out long ago as it is easier to clean vomit/hairballs & fur off hardwood and vinyl. Then there is the one medicine cabinet for people meds and the other one for animal meds. :roll:

The other one I get a kick out of is when someone asks if we are cat people when we are picking up the 5 cases of canned catfood we go through a week..lol I swear to God that one of these days I'm going to look them straight in the face and say "Nope, but if you mix it with Tuna Helper you never know the difference and you know in today's ecomony any little bit of savings helps" :lol: :lol:

Mel, Maxwell, Autumn & The Fur Gang
 
Re: 9/27 Autumn amps 63, +6~146

MommaOfMuse said:
...one of these days I'm going to look them straight in the face and say "Nope, but if you mix it with Tuna Helper you never know the difference and you know in today's ecomony any little bit of savings helps" :lol: :lol:
I dare you! Just make sure the camera's are rolling when you do!

I hear you about the carpets. Wish I could rip up mine. They are disgusting. But all I have under them is subflooring. I did one bedroom and put down vinyl tiles. It was the "easy" room to empty to do the work -all except the sleeper sofa and huge armoire, which I moved from one side to the other to work. One of these days I will do the other bedroom and LR/DR area. One of these days. I have tons of time on my hands, just no money. Would love to put down laminate.

So, if I come out, that would be a working vacation, right? Wish I'd known you when I drove through Nebraska three years ago. But then again, I had my mom and her two cats with me. That would have been interesting to say the least.
 
Re: 9/27 Autumn amps 63, +6~146

Sheila & Beau & Jeddie (GA) said:
So, if I come out, that would be a working vacation, right?

Exactly Nope! I consider anyone that provides an extra lap and two extra petting hands working...lol. Okay maybe I would make you help fix and serve meals to the Overlords but other than that I have such a routine down for cleaning the house and taking care of the critters it drives me crazy when even Jon tries to help out. Of course being CDO (I would have OCD but the letters aren't in alphabetical order) probably also has a lot to do with that... :lol:

In fact a while back Jon asked what the hell I did all day to be so tired when he got home from work so for a week I carried a notebook with me and recorded what I did and when...at the end of the week I threw the notebook at him and said "THIS!" I think he read through it to about Wednesday and then quit because he got tired just reading about my day and funny he has never asked again what I do all day. lol Then when I got bit by the brown recluse and couldn't do anything around here he started trying to help out and about 2 weeks in of doing just the most basics of my days after he got off work ...He was like Babe I don't know how you do it and still be upright when I get home let alone stay up until 1am to catch pm nadirs with Autumn half the time.

I think he truly thought that I sat a home all day on the computer and that the house magically got clean and meals just appeared on the table at the appointed hour...lol

Mel, Maxwell, Autumn & The Fur Gang
 
Re: 9/27 Autumn amps 63, +6~146, pmps~340

340 for a pm preshot after that lovely start to the day...ouch!

Oh well she is just starting out on Lev and it will probably take her a few days to build a Lev shed as opposed to a Lantus shed.

Mel, Maxwell, Autumn & The Fur Gang
 
Re: 9/27 Autumn amps 63, +6~146, pmps~340

So last night was the first shot of lev? Did you reduce the dose at all from the lantus? If not, I wonder if you should. Tonight, obviously, she needs a full dose, but if she is low tomorrow maybe a little reduction?

Next time Jon asks, if he ever does, what yo do all day, tell him to just imagine if each of the cats were a toddler or a teenager that was home all day....

Just counting them up makes me exhausted.
 
Re: 9/27 Autumn amps 63, +6~146, pmps~340

Yep last night was her first shot of Lev and nope I forgot to reduce it.

Now for a silly question...Okay if I understand the depot style insulins at all, That first shot of Lev wouldn't be usable to her because it all went to building the shed and her last dose of Lantus would be waning by this morning....right? So in effect she would be like she didn't have any insulin or very little because she would still be working off what was in her shed from the Lantus. Does that make any sense?...because we are definitely going the wrong way tonight. I'm going to try to stay up with her a little longer and catch her +6 tonight to see if she is starting to drop at all. But if not does it sound like a plan to cut her in half on her dose tomorrow and only go with .25u or even .2 and let that settle and then slow raise if necessary?

Mel, Maxwell, Autumn & The Fur Gang
 
Well her +3 tonight was only 9pts higher so basically the same as her preshot..that's to be expected but her +6 was a nice 100+ drop just hope she keeps going down tonight and I wake up to a nice low number again.

Mel, Maxwell, Autumn & The Fur Gang
 
Re: 9/27 Autumn amps 63, +6~146, pmps~340

If her lantus dose was .5u I would suggest .25u or .3u. I should have rechecked her SS before starting this reply, but if that 63 was a new(ish) low for her that could have done it, but could she have been lower before then?

I don't actually *believe* in a shed. Yes, these are depot insulins that "hang out" in either the subQ space as a precipitate or circulate in the blood bound to albumin (both states are unusable) creating a time release action, but there isn't a place that stores insulin that fills up. Each shot is autonomous with its own onset, duration and fade out. Both of these insulins take 14-24 hours to complete that process (in humans). Since we are shooting sooner than that, overlap is created. We are looking for the dose that gives enough insulin to keep that particular cat's BG under renal threshold during that time, but not too much that it drops them too low. And where the onset of one dose fits hand in glove with the fade out of the last one. That creates a nearly stable BG (in the best of all possible cases). That is the balance you are looking for.

I don't know why the early doses of lev (1st to 3rd shots) seem to have more potency in some cats. Maybe it is just not yet recognized as a substance to either "resist" or fight against (rebound). Or maybe it is just a more usable insulin for many cats so it works more efficiently.
 
MommaOfMuse said:
Well her +3 tonight was only 9pts higher so basically the same as her preshot..that's to be expected but her +6 was a nice 100+ drop just hope she keeps going down tonight and I wake up to a nice low number again.

Mel, Maxwell, Autumn & The Fur Gang
Clearly, she is getting action from the lev. The 340 looks like rebound. I think the trick will be reducing the dose tomorrow am especially if she is "low".
 
I just cracked up reading Mel's post about cat fur "condiments". I need to go vacuum up a huge supply of both cat and dog fur "condiments" today.

And, Mel, my mom has a sign by her outside door in the kitchen, "Cat fur, don't leave home without it!". I follow the directions on that sign, and leave her house with about 5 lbs. of cat fur on me every day after giving one of her cats his meds. *LOL*

I'm so thankful I have ceramic tiles for my kitchen floor, as the cats and Beck all get food all over the place, and I can use a razor blade to scrape it all up before I vacuum.

It IS like having a bunch of toddlers, isn't it? *LOL*

Suze
 
Re: 9/27 Autumn amps 63, +6~146

MommaOfMuse said:
The other one I get a kick out of is when someone asks if we are cat people when we are picking up the 5 cases of canned catfood we go through a week..lol I swear to God that one of these days I'm going to look them straight in the face and say "Nope, but if you mix it with Tuna Helper you never know the difference and you know in today's ecomony any little bit of savings helps" :lol: :lol:

I used to report I'd go into Food Lion (grocery store) and buy 4 boxes of FF and a bag of bagels. Carl always said to tell the checkout person that it's SO yummy on bagels, and only half the fat of cream cheese! :lol: Never quite had the guts to say that though!

I too, have about 15 litter boxes (+/-1 or 2 at any given time). Normally, when I go out of town, I replennish or scrub out/completely replace litter, and the house is "straight". This is a major ordeal, that really makes me question the value of going away. But my pet-sitters/friends/neighbors are amazing. When I wrenched my back, I was blown away when two of them came over yesterday. House not "straight" by ANY means. They knew I couldn't bend, so they scooped, replennished, washed dishes, rinsed out FF cans, took out recycling, fed/watered everyone, swept... TWO of them for well over an hour. My kitty chores, just on a day-to-day basis without the scraping things off the floor/massive scrubbing take at least that long. And before inviting anyone to a meal, there's a massive cleaning, cuz for some reason, pet hair always makes it to the light fixtures & walls - even when they're 13.5' tall! So I Swiffer the walls, wipe down the top of the kitchen cabinets, vac the blinds/windows, wipe down the glass jar cannisters... and am reminded again why it's easier to jsut say, "Why don't we GO OUT & grab something to eat???!!!" So I was MORTIFIED when they came in, and that they had to work so hard. And that they didn't sweep half the dustbowls, but it sure made me feel better about anyone else coming in!

I've used one of those "grab-it" trash tools from our litter clean-up to pick up the stuff on the floor. I never realized how much I bend on an average day! And there's a broom and a mop by both the bed and the toilet, to help me get up/down. Unbelieveable!!!

If I only took care of the pets, I would hope my house would be cleaner... but someones got to bring home the kibble! :lol: And I've already had to concede that many of the home projects, I've been planning on doing, just went out the window with my back. Ugh! Not accepting that very well!
 
Lu, hope your back is all better, soon! And how amazing to have friends nearby who helped you out in your time of need!

Suze
 
Does anyone remember Unique brand cat food...I know it was sold in the late 80's back in Chicago. This stuff was great...it was big chunks of fish in an aspic. They stamped on the can "not for human consumption" because it literally looked like you could put it on a cracker and eat it.

Anyway, my brother had taken my mom to the store and all she bought was like a dozen cans of the Unique cat food and a loaf of bread. And my brother told the clerk, "times are tough when you get older", or something like that...again, referring to mom resorting to eat cat food. *LOL* Glad to hear our family isn't the only warped one!

Suze
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top